We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“busy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinatown - Bangkok

Chinatown - Bangkok
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.95*
and up
Bangkok Chinatown Small-Group Night Food Tour
Ranked #44 of 524 things to do in Bangkok
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the oldest district in Bangkok since Chinese merchants moved to this area in the early 1780s when the city was founded.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
lancashire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

visited China town on our first night in Bangkok took a taxi from Amari atrium for 100bt .it was vegetarian feastival with lots going on, it was very hot and busy so much to see food being cooked everywhere my husband ate wong ton soup it cost 50 bt he tells me it was very nice i bought lots of fresh pomegranate juice for 40 bt it was beautifu fresh and refreshingl.We visited a few shops bought some gifts and tea to bring home .it was worth the visit but far too busy and hot for me.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank manickmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,534
    1,849
    956
    250
    93
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Would Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

when i thinking of anything to do or creating something , here is the one would plce that i can get of Million things

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratchatiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food market!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I visited the market and the food was good! lots of small shops with affordable food to try! It is also a nice area to walk around!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mariano g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Thai Chinese Shop & Food Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Chinatown in Bangkok or local call it "Yaowarat" is where you can mingle around with Thai Chinese and have a look on how and what they traded within this long street, somewhere in Bangkok, the Chinatown can be reach by several means namely Tuk Tuk, Taxi or by Chao Phraya River boat. I personally took the boat and have a 20 minute walk from the boat station (Ratchawong Pier) along the way, you get to see some local Thai selling all sort of foods and some shop along the way as well. Since is quite a distance there, it is best to ask locals on which way to walk but anyhow it is just a straight walk to reach your destination.

Upon reaching Chinatown Bangkok, from the usual Thai worded advert now you start to see shop sign and advert in Chinese, now that is how you know whether you reach the right spot or not. Chinatown is a straight street where shops from both side of the road sell items ranging from Gold, medicine, food and some other shops selling clothing and bags. Along the road side, there are stall who sell fried Mee, Bak Kut teh - Thai version, pad thai, mee soup and many other snack or dessert.

Must go if you visit Bangkok, it is close to the famous Wat Traimit, the temple of golden buddha. Over here you can get a good Thai massage for 450 bath / 2 hour and i personally recommend a shop named "DR Reflexology"

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Paradise of street food lovers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Bangkok is well known for street food but its Chinatown's is unique from those around Bangkok. The food stalls open from the evening til late night. There are a long range of food, you can choose. I also love to take a long walk from Phahurat Market (Little India) to Yaowaraj (Chinatown). There is a crowded shopping lane connected these two places and it is full of good street food and bargain shopping. Just nipping difference food along the way in Yaowaraj, you can fill your stomach with delicious street food.

If you love trying street food, this place can't be missed.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SYDBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown - Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown - Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing