We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average service level”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam
Ranked #217 of 884 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed April 13, 2014

It took us more than 4hours waiting for check-in the hotel, service level are slow and less aggressive.

However, after several complaints, we were upgraded to a deluxe room located at corner that can enjoy great view from hotel. However, there is nothing much nearby there, have to cross the bridge to opposite side for food and better shopping locations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivianlee626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,251 - 1,257 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

My company Staff Retreat and D&D was held here in the hotel. Overall experience was awesome, only the food during D&D was atrocious. The menu was Indian Halal Cuisine but to be honest it was nowhere near there. Ended up I went around roaming the streets to look for dinner and supper.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ridzuhaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were given rooms in the north tower which involves a lift from the lobby to floor 11 and then a 2 minute walk past a convention area and the pool to get another lift up to our room. It was a bit baffling at first but you soon orientate yourself.

The room was a corner room with great views over Bangkok. It was very spacious with a comfortable bed and efficient aircon. The bathroom just had a shower but was very nicely appointed - I was unable to get hot water from the handbasin but to be honest, it wasn't a problem and I didn't complain. There was ample hot water in the shower. Wi-Fi worked well and was free.

The pool area was lovely, affording great views from its 11th floor location. As in most hotels, drinks around the pool were quite expensive. Some of our party arranged a trip to the River Kwai through the hotel's booking service and were pleased with their experience.

The hotel is situated close to fashion and IT malls and also close to the river taxis. These are mainly used by Bangkok workers and residents and can be quite baffling to visitors. They go quite speedily and pull up side curtains during travel to protect passengers from the spray but that also means that if you're a stranger, you don't know where you are! The river taxi is very convenient to visit Jim Thompson's house and they are a very inexpensive way of getting around quickly - just be prepared to end up somewhere you hadn't planned - all part of the fun in exploring a new city.

The hotel is fairly new and the lobby area is large and well appointed. We didn't book breakfasts as we ate out in the malls and other places so can't comment on the food although the restaurant looked very nice.

If visiting Bangkok in the future, I would definitely look at re-visiting The Berkeley.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thaliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I've stayed only one night in the hotel, the North Tower. I don't mind walking between towers, it took just about three minutes to get from the reception to the room on 35th floor.
Staff was polite, but very official so you didn't feel like in Thailand really.
Rooms are really nice, big, clean and modern. Bathroom is awesome. However, I didn't have warm water while I stayed what was a bit strange for 5* hotel...
It's quite cold in the room (cold means nice in that case) without even turning on the aircon so I was curious how was that possible.
Pool is small and doesn't look that amazing as on their photos. It's also open in very strange hourse and was closed after 7pm what makes it useless for people who want to enjoy a bit of the city.
It's also great location for shopping, but a bit far away from the right touristic city center. You need to remember that taxis usually does not want to use meter and they will charge you five times more than they should to get to any attraction. I tried to catch the taxi with meter, then any that could took me to the river, but it took me 40 minutes and I failed (even having about 2 months experience in that area)...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EwkaPoznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very big hotel.Stayed @ the north tower 34 th floor so it takes some time to get to the lobby area.Rooms Ok but I have seen better once for sure.Spa was awesome.Bit expensive but at least no hanki panki.Hardcore shopping just around the corner.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the main tower, service was great, rooms were clean. The pool was lovely. We hired a private driver at the information counter on the 11th floor, to take us on a day tour. It was a good day, just be careful they do exaggerate a bit when it comes to what they can do for you, however all in all a good day

Room Tip: We stayed in the main tower on the 19th floor, no traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theshortestview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We spent 3 nights in North Tower on the 21st floor. We didn´t mind walking between buildings. Because of the size of the hotel the staff in reception was very official. They just did their job without real kindness. The men in corridors were more friendly!
We were there on the election day, so there were no alcohol sold in the hotel, it was a bit odd.
The location is good, you can even walk to the big shopping centres.
We had huge rooms without breakfast, so we bought it every morning. It´s worth paying.

Room Tip: The rooms are big enough for the family, who have two small kids. The beds and the room were huge. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heljä V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
GLOW Pratunam
#88 of 884 in Bangkok
1,589 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#72 of 884 in Bangkok
5,725 reviews
Siam
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
#378 of 884 in Bangkok
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam

Address: 559 Ratchaprarop Road, Makkasan, Ratchathewi | Close to Palladium, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 884 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $69 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam 4*
Number of rooms: 788
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing