We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Khlong Lat Mayom Floating Market
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Khlong Lat Mayom Floating Market
from $62.54
More Info
from $53.91
More Info
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
282
169
52
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
282
169
52
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orchid farm boat tour salt crusted boats selling food boat noodles long tailed boat baht per person private boat catfish central bangkok thai food stalls selling worth the trip unique experience taxi tourists vendors
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 531 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2019 via mobile

This market is small but there were mostly local tourists. This made it more pleasant to get a boat or a table to eat. I went to the old house museum and ate fresh papaya and drank fresh coconut juice at the garden. Very nice experience.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank 82trevorh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019 via mobile

We decided to visit this place because it was the the closest floating market to the city (only 19kms away from Bangkok). When we got there, we immediately rented a boat good for 7pax. It cost us 600 baht. The whole ride lasted for about 40mins. It was a bit disappointing because we didn't really see boats selling their products along the way. There were some stationed at the pier, and that's it. If we had known, we could have simply stayed at the pier and tried the many stalls there selling all sorts of local foods and drinks. My floating market experience at Damnoen Saduak was way far better than this one.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank CzarEmmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2019

Took Grab from Sukhumvit area and the journey is about 45 mins. Although the size of the floating marketing is not as huge compared to other more famous floating markets in Bangkok, but it was definitely more enjoyable and less touristy. There were several market areas which sell different merchandise such as handicrafts and apparels. At the end, we found ourselves enticed and spending entirely on the food stalls. They were affordable and delicious.

Boat tours are not necessary as you can explore the market on your own on foot.

Recommend to visit during morning to avoid lunch crowd.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank sanwanliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019

I think this market is an absolute must see for your Thailand/Bangkok experience. We went to several market areas and this was by far the best. There is a HUGE selection of food - you can get as basic as you want (chicken wings, pad Thai, ice cream, etc.) or get a little more adventurous with whole fish or squid off the grill, dried fish and other dishes my western knowledge can't even identify.
Most of the market is actually on solid ground - but if you go to the edges you'll find vendors selling fruits, veggies and some dishes off their boats.
We took the hour long ride by boat through the "canals" and to the orchid farm and I definitely recommend this to really see how people live in this area. Keep your eyes out for the water monitors (huge lizards) along the way.
Come hungry and ready to try new things!

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank CrystalS841
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

We took a taxi from Novotel Pratunam / Platinum Mall to the market on Saturday morning and arrived at 10.30am. The ride was 180baht. It wasn’t very crowded yet and we walked around looking at the local veggies, fruits and snacks sold at stalls and on long boats.

Food-wise we tried the salt crusted fish (very juicy and tender! Most people have this dish on their tables), claypot vermicelli with shrimp, various dried seafood skewers (circle fish, baby octopus, squid), tapioca balls with peanut filling, coconut ice cream (10baht for one scoop on a cone! I regretted not buying more), crispy coconut rolls, soft mini pancakes of various flavors (rose, pandan, charcoal, pumpkin and purple sweet potato), coconut juice (20baht) and sugar cane (25baht). The prices here are extremely cheap compared to the same items around Platinum Mall, CentralWorld and Pratunam.

We skipped the boat ride (1.5hrs including visits to another market, temple and orchid farm for 100baht/person) because the kids were getting restless.

I would suggest using a translation app because a lot of sellers do not speak nor understand english. When I tried asking them about the products they would immediately tell me the price. Some vendors do let customers try samples which was great. We were here for about 1.5hours and easily found a metered taxi back to our hotel.

If we visit Bangkok again we would definitely come back here for more food!

Date of experience: June 2019
3  Thank wklei
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews