We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at incredible low prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snack Bar Bkk

Snack Bar Bkk
Ranked #341 of 10,626 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Thai, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Banglamphu
Description: French Canadian own restaurant.OPEN FROM : Monday to Sunday 12pm to 12am.Chill out atmosphere and amazing western food at competitive price, snack bar bkk offer a wide range of Canadian, Lebanese and vegetarian food with daily Thai food specials, imported beers and wines. we also show ice hockey and other sports everyday.For any inquiries you can call us. Help us served you better by calling a head for direction or table booking as some nights it can be very busy. see you all soon for POUTINE and more.Thanks
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food at incredible low prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

this place is a great discovery: international and local faboulus food (very well prepared in a little kitchen), very cheap and the service and ambient is the best you can expect (not formal, many young international people).

it worths a visit if you are visiting the area (it's in front of nouvo hotel).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MangioneIta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    47
    11
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best homemade fries so far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went 2 times in 3 days, because we wanted to also try other things from the menu.
The food is really great, fresh made and all very clean.
It's a nice small restaurant, that takes care of its customers. We had some nice chats with the owners and stayed to have some beers afterwards.
The fries are really good and the burgers were perfect!
If you spend some time in Bangkok, make sure to come here at least once.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dvtricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A piece from home in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Living in Thailand for a while now, there is nothing better to my eyes than going to this restaurant, eating a surprisingly really good poutine and having a cold beer. The first time I tried Snack Bar I was skeptical if it would be able to compete with the ones from Montreal, and it truly does. Since the first time, I have tried a lot of different dishes on the menu and I have never been disappointed, they were all really great. The prices are also really good for western food in Thailand. Furthermore, the staff is really lovely and makes the overall experience even better.
Finally, I would not only recommend this place to every people that come or live in Bangkok, but I would rather say it is a must-go in Bangkok, you will definitely not regret it!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcATremblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Miam!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Best snack bar in Thailand! We've been there a couple of time since the last months and we always got both good food and service. Its all homemade cooked, with fresh ingredients. Thai and western food are really good. Off course the poutine is excellent with homemade sauce! Amazing! Onnicha and Boris are always kind with us.

Btw, the new spot is really nice!

See u soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotterasie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Awesome food, impeccable service, friendly staff, great ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I found Snack Bar Bkk a month ago, had a good first impression here, and haven't stopped coming here since. Haha. Reasons are, to begin with, the service here was impeccable, friendly staff; Boris and Onnicha, you guys are the best. They also offer the best homemade food; both western and thai, in town. Particularly, a common Canadian dish like La poutine (fries, cheese and gravy) is definitely something to savor. It comes with optional additional ingredients like bacon, onion, or mushroom. If you're more into Thai-taste, try thai poutine (pork chili with basil leaf). Everything is delicious here, trust my taste. Hehe. The food menu contains wide range of dishes like falafel pita with fries, souvlaki baguette, burger, pad thai, fried rice and more. The menus are regularly updating which means more great food for us to try!! Prices are very affordable for the quality meals here. The drink menus feature Thai cold beer and some soft drinks; meaning it is also great to sit back, relax and chill out your drinks with friends chatting or watching sports on large screen TV. The place decked out with Quebec's flag looking very nice and feeling so cozy. It has an open kitchen so you can see Onnicha (the chef) in action. Being situated on Samsen soi 2 and 5 minutes walk from Kaosan, Snack Bar Bkk often gets the crowd like expats, travelers, hotel guests in the soi and friendly local in the neighborhood. It can be very nice. So, to sum everything up, I'd say if you want to experience a great western and thai cuisine at a friendly neighborhood and nice chill out atmosphere, then Snack Bar Bkk should be high up on your agenda. I'd highly recommend you come.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snack Bar Bkk also viewed

 

Been to Snack Bar Bkk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing