We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Sophisticated Hostel!”
Review of Boxpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boxpackers Hostel
Ranked #11 of 1,417 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The moment I saw this hostel, I fell in love with it right away. The exterior and interior design of this hostel is very cute! fitting for teenagers and teens at heart. very clean and well organized. The shower room is excellent! The box bed was genius! I slept comfortably there. The only thing i did not like is the time of the day that they switch the air-conditioner off. mostly around noon and they will switch it back on around early evening. I feel sometimes that the staff is not very friendly. But it was great hostel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 505 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

It's the best hostel I've ever seen because of its special design, the cleanliness of the bathrooms , the nice staff and good food (try the matcha frappé!). You can drive to khao san Road for about 5€ with the tuk tuk and you will be happy to come back to a quiet , cosy and air conditioned place at night . It's absolutely worth it , especially for the cheap price!:)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theres-we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Loved it! The pods give you "almost" your own private room. You have a mattress, power outlets, individual lighting, and they are so big I could almost stand up in it. The lockers are big enough for your luggage and there's a bathroom on every floor. The rooftop terrace was nice in the evenings for peace and quiet. Conveniences include restaurant, laundry, and a complimentary water purifier with hot and cold water. Would recommend this to anyone but beware the a/c only runs between 6pm-11am to "save the environment".

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get the 4 share...worth it to have the space and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very easily accessible after taking train from airport city link. Everything you could be looking for in a hostel experience. Beds very comfortable with plenty of shops and facilities within walking distance. Not the ideal placing if you're looking for Khao San Road and the touristy parts of Bangkok but taxis and tuktuks cheap enough that only a minor issue

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

An exceptional hostel. More pricey than the Khao San area, but for this, you get a full (cooked) breakfast, spotless communal areas, bathrooms and dorms, private “boxes” with light, plug, and curtain for complete privacy. Lockable cupboards available, towels provided, sheets and duvet (!) soft and clean, ac in all dorms, free wifi everywhere, 2 skype enabled pcs, bar, food, in and outdoor seating, great security (key fobs) I can’t fault it, and have stayed 3 times. Staff are efficient but not overly friendly. Double “boxes” available. The canal boat is 7 min walk away, Skytrain 10 mins (with easy links to airport), day and night markets, street and seated food everywhere, row of massage spas 3 min walk. Great location.

Room Tip: Double boxes and boxes next to each other with sliding partial door between available Small luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldMoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

It was a clean and neatly tidy up place. Cozy and situated away from the best street it was a ideal place for backpackers! A bit small for its scale but it does great to have your own box area. Keep it up,great work

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Awesome3866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I spend few days in Boxpackers! I was totally speechless when i saw the "boxes" and how clean this hostel was! I've been living/travelling now 5 years in Thailand, this was the the best hostel i've ever been in this country. I stayed in 12 shared room..

Staff is very nice and helpful! Which is big plus for this hostel!

If you are looking good place to stay for few hundreds, you should go to Boxpackers. Location is good, if you want to explore Bangkok, nearest BTS-station only about 10-15 min.walk..

There's few bigger malls pretty close also. If you are looking for some phone or computer stuff, theres Panthip Plaza about 300m away.

Getting from airport is easy, I paid for taxi 209 (+100road tolls you must pay) baht from Don Muang airport. You can also take a free bus from Don Muang to Suvarnabhumi and take a airlink from there, get off in Phaya Thai-station and walk from there to hostel. Cheap, but takes about 2 hours..

Room Tip: Be vice, and ask for upper box from reception! A/C gives better profit upper ones. Take a free b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#3 of 1,417 in Bangkok
1,160 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,417 in Bangkok
587 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#5 of 1,417 in Bangkok
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#10 of 1,417 in Bangkok
308 reviews
Banglamphu
Here Hostel
Here Hostel
#14 of 1,417 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Ari
The Yard Hostel
The Yard Hostel
#1 of 1,417 in Bangkok
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boxpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxpackers Hostel

Address: 39/3, Soi Phetburi 15, Petchburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,417 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $14 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Boxpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boxpackers Hostel is the boutique hostel with pod style bed. we provide you the best experience for staying with concept “ Living with Nature ” on location heart of Bangkok.We have 4 room types with pod style bed. you can meet up your new friends, but feel more private than normal hostel with many special features (box’s backlight, LED leading light, towel hanger, box’s curtain). Although you come with your friends, you can connect to you friend’s pod by “connecting slide door”. In case you need private room. Please make a reservation to “The Period Pratunam Hotel”, our co-branding. You can still enjoy with our facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boxpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing