We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star all the way!”
Review of Ciao Terrazza

Ciao Terrazza
Ranked #122 of 11,958 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Silom
Description: Drawing its inspiration from the age-old traditions and culinary culture of Italy, Ciao Terrazza offers a wonderful re-interpretation of a classic Italian restaurant with a breathtaking alfresco setting. Bringing a touch of Napoli to Bangkok, Ciao Terrazza offers a selection of traditional Italian dishes accompanied by spectacular views of the 'River of Kings' or of the original Authors' Wing facade - depending which way you sit. At its heart is the fiery oven, where artisanal pizzas are prepared to perfection as well as Chef Norbert's renowned pastas and risottos, sure to appeal to savvy gourmands and those with the most discerning palates. Remark: Ciao Terrazza is closed during rainy season and will reopen in October 2017. Ciao Terrazza Pop-up is available at The Verandah. We apologise for any inconvenience.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were guests in the Mandarin Oriental hotel so we got to scope out the hotels restaurant options. The Mandarin is a high class five star hotel and is very popular with the well to do. People dress very well here. We were on a 28 day, 11 flight, 4 country tour including Cambodia and Laos so we couldn't pack much in the way of fine dining clothes. You can wear pretty much what ever you want but I suggest at least a polo shirt and long pants for guys. Note long sleeves and long pants will be a better choice during the wetter season, during October mosquito's were a minor anoyance. You may feel a bit out of place in a $10 T-shirt, a baseball hat and flip flops. We picked this restaurant because it was promoted as casual and has a great outdoor location next to the busy river and the menu looked appealing to our western taste. The ambience is great.
The service here is exceptional - 5 star all the way. The food is very good, we really enjoyed our meals. Considering the location and service level, the prices are quite reasonable, we felt we got good value for money.
If your time in Bangkok is limited, eating dinner here is a great way to see the city views, view the hectic and interesting river activity, and have a great outdoor meal. For after dinner they have a fantastic late night Jazz bar, and an outdoor smoking lounge

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Piggy-can-fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Ciao Terrazza, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Walrus2010,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review of our Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok and the Ciao restaurant! I am very happy to hear that you greatly enjoyed your dinner, especially the “exceptional” service, culinary delights and iconic river views. I shared your compliments with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Culinary regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 189 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

Have been going to the Mandarin Oriental for years and saw the refurbishment going on at Ciao in January 2013. So when I was back in the hotel in November 2013 I gave it a try. The location overlooking the Chao Praya is lovely and the design element of the restaurant is strong and modern. What impressed me most was the quality of the base ingredients - the burata cheese, the risotto rice etc - all top class from Italy. The wine list had some interesting options by the glass. It was really busy too so reservations were definitely needed. Sometimes a short respite from lemongrass, chili and Thai curry is needed during a holiday and this quick leap into Italian food was very enjoyable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UKtraveller143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Ciao Terrazza, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear UKtraveller143,

Thank you for your positive review of our Ciao restaurant! I am very pleased to hear that we were able to live up to expectations and that you had a wonderful dinner. Chef Luca loves to delight guests with his Italian creations and is proud of the high quality of the products he is using.

We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future!

Warm regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed two great nights at the new look Ciao during our recent stay at the Mandarin Oriental . On the first occasion we had a table overlooking the river and sampled choices from the classic and contemporary sections of the revitalised menu . All were absolutely delicious . The restaurant feels relaxed but chic and we loved the cool background
music .As always , the service was warm and very attentive . On our second visit we decided to sit at the new bar and to sample the bar snacks and antipasti plates with various wines served by the glass. The bruschetta with mushrooms and the spuntino with Straccino were particularly memorable . The choices of wine available by the the glass are very good and by Thai standards well priced . This restaurant deserves to be a great success with hotel residents and visitors alike .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GXWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Ciao Terrazza, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear GXWLondon

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your dining experience at Ciao; and thank you for taking your time to post such a fantastic review in particular regarding our legendary Oriental service and the magical view over the Chao Phraya River. The bruschetta with mushrooms is indeed delicious and in combination with one of our Italian wines - unbeatable. I have shared your compliments with our team and they are glad to know about your feedback. Thank you for your recommendations; Our Restaurant Manager Khun Wattana and Chef Luca are looking forward to welcome you back to Ciao very soon!

Culinary regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It's nice to sit by the River while dining, but it is the food that really deserves credit. Just hope it doesn't rain while eating.

Thank JotaJota56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Ciao Terrazza, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear JotaJota56,

Thank you for sharing your dinner experience at Ciao. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the ‘great food’ and especially the beautiful location close to the Chao Phraya River. Please do not hesitate to contact me for future bookings, I would be glad to assist.

Best regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
julia@mohg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Finally after 14 years of visiting the Mandarin Oriental, we decided to try Ciao. It used to be closed during the rainy season but it is now open throughout the year! And what a treat that was!!
The food is mouth-watering. You must try the ossobuco. Even the most difficult eater (that my partner is) would love that.
Needless to say, that the service is impeccable as everywhere else in the hotel.
A hidden gem!

Thank Copa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciao Terrazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing