We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to view and visit Bangkok's riverside attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Wanglang Riverside
Ranked #160 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at Baan Wanglang Riverside and really enjoyed being able to view the bustling activity on the Chao Phraya river from our room and the riverfront restaurant. As previous reviewers have stated, taxi drivers do have a bit of trouble finding the hotel, but this a minor hassle when weighed up against the benefits of the hotel's proximity to the ferry station, tourist sights and the local markets. Thonburi train station is also easily accessible (5 minutes in a taxi) for those wishing to catch the train to Kanchanaburi.

Rooms were clean and comfortable (although the bathroom was a little claustrophobic). Reception staff, cleaners and restaurant staff were all friendly and efficient. Restaurant meals and breakfast were high quality. A great place to stay if you're keen to see some of Bangkok's sights via the river.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whitster04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 345 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the RiverFront room.

Problem with this hotel:

- Bath Room was so tiny and whenever someone showered, water was everywhere.
- after water boat service close, you have to take a taxi back to hotel. Taxi driver was charging 400-600 baht (which we found out they were ripping us off so much) and often they didn't know where this place was. We had to carry that little map at all times and because of it the driver always wanted to charge us more.
- It gets loud at night because there are night boat rides going on outside of the hotel. It's very bright with lights and loud music playing outside. it was difficult to fall asleep.

Only thing going on this place is the view. that's it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djs735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Not an easy place to find if you're a taxi driver as it turns out and, my oh my, make sure the taxi driver switches on the meter else you'll be threatened with the 'taxi mafia'….

A great place with the most ever so friendly and helpful staff. Great views of the river (if you can secure a room - we thought we had but were given a 'partial view' room - wasn't a problem.

The river is lively and vibrant in the morning and full of life. The Hotel is surrounded by busy narrow streets full of markets which are a joy to walk through. The hotel is close to the river taxi, - catch the cheap local one and not the more expensive tourist ones.

Great food on the terrace/bar but do book ahead.

The Grand Palace is a fab place but you should be aware of the options and, to be honest, bribes.

1) Cover up from toe to foot, including you, gentlemen
2) The market at Tha Chang Wat ferry terminal sells a variety of cheap shoes, shawls and trousers…..
3) You can 'rent' clothing at the Grand Palace - it's an additional queue to join & V.V expensive
4) Plenty of (western) girls were walking around the 'sacred' place in short skirts. There was a very rich security guy at the entrance taking bribes…..

True and honest

Room Tip: After you've asked for a view of the river, check again. After that check again and be sure they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iannai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Our room had a nice view of the sights including Wat Arun and the river! Very clean, free water and snacks, the bathroom had all the amenities you need from toothbrush to a shaving kit. The hotel has a nice restaurant overlooking the river, a beautiful lobby and a very cool cafe. Wifi is free and accessible every where in the hotel.

When we arrived our taxi driver was not sure where the hotel was located and called the hotel - within minutes the hotel tuk tuk came to pick us up. Very friendly and helpful staff. The neighborhood is great - there are eateries every where and there's a market.

I'll definitely come back to this hotel next time I am in Bangkok!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RiaFromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

On a recent trip to Thailand, my friend and I stayed at the Baan Wang for three nights. The staff was very nice and helpful, providing us with maps, directions, etc. We also took an overnight excursion and they kindly let us leave our bags there in their care. The bar upstairs is really cool and has a gorgeous view, and the staff and bartenders were so nice and friendly. The only issue with the place is that it is across the river, and we had two cab drivers who couldn't figure out the location and had to call the hotel for directions. The ferry is nearby, but doesn't run at night, so if you go out, you have to take a cab to get back. The hotel's business card has a map in it, so definitely bring that with you when you leave. The lobby is in a sort of alley, and it's confusing from the street. The hotel has a tuk tuk and they came to get us a few times, but it definitely created some confusion the first time. Another bonus is there is a street market right outside.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location within Bangkok, positioned between two local boat piers making it very easy to get about. It boasts riverside views of the nearby Grand Palace, Wat Pho and also Wat Arun. All of which are best viewed best from the 342 rooftop bar but we had a good view from our balcony also. Facilities were good and rooms were spotless clean but what really made the hotel was the friendly and dedicated staff. No ask was too much, they were all very keen to help with directions, transport advise, tourist attractions, restaurants etc. you were always greeted with a smile and made to feel very welcome. For great panoramic views, great location, clean modern rooms and exceptional staff I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lewis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had stayed here for two nights and it was quite a pleasant time I had experienced. Here are the positives, BEST VIEW EVER!!!! I could see an awesome view, since the hotel is located right next to Chao Phraya river and it is even better on the hotel roof top where there is the hotel bar up there giving me the unforgettable panoramic view and tasty cocktails. There is a local market you can take a look and do some shopping as well which is just right next to the hotel and it takes 2 minutes to go to a pier. The service is quite good, nothing to complain about. The overall hotel decoration is quite interesting since it seems they focus on a Thai traditional wooden theme.
Here are the negatives, you have to walk like 5-10 minutes from the hotel to the main road (However, there is a free transportation service). There is no parking space available. A restroom in the room I stayed is pretty small. And the accommodation here is quite pricey comparing to other hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend river front or panoramic suite, more expensive but worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fallinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
Theatre Residence
#411 of 889 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#205 of 889 in Bangkok
317 reviews
Aurum The River Place
#277 of 889 in Bangkok
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#170 of 889 in Bangkok
1,311 reviews
Taris Art Hotel Phrae
#6 of 10 in Phrae
3 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 889 in Bangkok
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Wanglang Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Wanglang Riverside

Address: 342 Soi Wat Rakang, Prannok Rd. | Siriraj Bangkoknoi, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $57 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Wanglang Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Wanglang Riverside is a newly established boutique hotel, situated by Chao Phraya River in Wanglang area - between Siriraj Pier and Wat Rakang Pier, which ensures a convenient connection to many of Bangkok's most famous tourist attractions. Standing amidst the lively vintage Wanglang Market (best known for its savory local food). Baan Wanglang Riverside is beautifully hidden away in a serene ambience of riverfront haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Wanglang Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing