We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Ugolini, IL Ristorante Italiano - CLOSED

Ugolini, IL Ristorante Italiano
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Banglamphu
Description: Roberto Ugolini is originally from Rome (Italy) and since 1994 he has been working in Thailand as the Managing Director of Watermark Group. When the Group bought the Calderazzo Restaurant (since 12 years in Bangkok, every year the best Tatler Restaurant in Bangkok), he decided to rename it Ugolini Restaurant. The owner's Roman provenience influences the menu selection and the kitchen concept. The dishes are made with the finest ingredients and prepared by experienced Italian chef's and are a recipe for a culinary journey you will not forget. We welcome you to an authentic Italian experience in the hart of Bangkok.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here twice, both times the service and food is outstanding. My steak was cooked to perfection as was my girlfriends salmon. I live in BKK and dine out often, I wil for sure return to this establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lonewolf19777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a good one to impress your date and friends”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have been to this restaurant quite a few times already. I have tried the snow fish in cream sauce and the lamb.. they all nicely done. The meat is juicy and tender, just perfect and right balance between the quality and the cooking. Congratulation to the Chef Mario, you and your staff were so good and friendly. Good job!

Get to know the chef and you will enjoy your dinning out even more..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delicious E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb dinning experience”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I sincerely recommend the Ugolini Italian restaurant in Bangkok to all lovers of original Italian food, here You can find the uniques Italian dishes made with passion by chief Mario Frascini, must try the cutters of salami, really delicious, if You live in Bangkok must visit this restaurant in Lang Suang near Lumpini park and enjoy the dinning experience in Ugolini restaurant

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Luca Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Final course lunch with colleagues”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've been (16 of us) on saturday the 23rd of March at Ugolini restaurant for a lunch with colleagues and students. The service is pleasant and professional.
The food is excellent and i recommend Risotto with Taleggio (italian cheese) and Asparagus.
the 100% Italian cook is kind and devoted to his job that his does very well.
We will go back there soon to taste Lasagna....it is said that is worth to try it
Thanks again to all the staff
Roberto

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a good Italian restaurant in the heart of BKK”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I'm not that keen on Italian food compared to other cuisines, but what I always love in Italian restaurants is the hospitable chef and reception, at Ugolini too. The seafood was fresh and la torta di mele (if I remember it correctly) was tasty. The price for this location and food quality would never be too high. I would recommend this to anyone who's looking for a nice Italian restaurant in the heart of Bangkok.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank polytone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ugolini, IL Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing