We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Feel At Home Backpackers
Ranked #184 of 1,245 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value hostel”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Good value for money hostel. 6 bed girls dorm is good, nice big lockers under the beds and the beds are full size single beds, no bunk beds. Air con. Don't get your washing done at the hostel, mine took 3 days instead of one and then came back all stained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraExploreruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    59
    22
    11
    12
See reviews for
1
12
71
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is cheap but I'd suggest paying a bit more to stay somewhere better. The wifi didn't reach the bedrooms, the bathrooms were not nice at all, and they do not give you free breakfast as advertised. The one good thing was the location, but there are a ton of nicer hostels near Khoa San Rd that are better. The rooms were rather large, but all in all I would say that it's not the best.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you want to know what it feels like to sleep in the prison cell, this is the place to be. I know its cheap but it was terrible. My back was broken after 1 nights stay, the bathroom/toilet was an absolute disgrace

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

These people are the worst. They are scum bags and are just trying to take your money. They charge you for things that aren't your fault. They say that they have breakfast but when you ask they say its only for people who booked in person. Yet if you booked in person they still won't give your breakfast. They don't even have a kitchen. They will try to scam you out of whatever money they can get. They tried to tell one girl that she broke a sink that she washed her hands in. The hostel was clean. But that was the best thing I could say for it. Other then that the people who own it are absolutely the worst. They printed off their own hospitality awards and put them up. They put up breakfast posters when they don't serve it. They have security cameras yet when they blame you for things they don't let you watch them. They're so worthless it's ridiculous. I've been traveling for four months and I haven't written a bad review in my life but I had to write about these people because they are just trying to rob you. Please don't book with them. It is not worth saving the few bucks to book this hostel because they are terrible.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sydney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed there two nights. Location is convenient, as it is close to Khao San Road and a 15minute walk from the Royal Palace.
I stayed in the dorm on the second floor, it was clean and the bed was comfortable.
In terms of vibes, there isn't any real backpacker atmosphere and the lobby is very basic (tables, chairs, one TV).

Overall, I'm pretty satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWonderfulWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It is really basic place to stay, a little bit hard to find, even for taxi driver. It is cheap but a little bit dark and humid. In reasonable distance from Khao San Road. If you want to stay nearby but you want to avoid noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zofia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Basic hostel. Seemed too pricey for a hostel but still worked. Staff were nice until the end. We didn't book their airport bus because they never told us a list of things they can do for us. So when our bus was late and we asked them to call the driver, they got huffy that we didn't book a bus through them--making it awkward. Generally clean, nice AC. Bathrooms had a little smell which is expected of SE Asia. Not really any privacy but that's expected. Overall it was a nice, safe, comfortable stay. It's a little out of the way from Khaosan road--five blocks, but still no noise, havig a quiet place was really nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor have hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hhruhling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
#25 of 1,245 in Bangkok
362 reviews
Banglamphu
The Street Hostel
The Street Hostel
#207 of 1,245 in Bangkok
64 reviews
Banglamphu
Warm White Hostel
Warm White Hostel
#141 of 1,245 in Bangkok
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
The Alley Hostel & Bistro
The Alley Hostel & Bistro
#313 of 1,245 in Bangkok
5 reviews
Banglamphu
Smile Buri House
Smile Buri House
#93 of 670 in Bangkok
137 reviews
Banglamphu
Counting Stars Hostel
Counting Stars Hostel
#222 of 1,245 in Bangkok
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feel At Home Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feel At Home Backpackers

Property: Feel At Home Backpackers
Address: 218 Chakrapong Road (near Khao San Road), Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 1,245 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at Home Backpackers are at your service to provide the best budget hotel in Thailand at very affordable prices with great facilities. Our tour-operator part will assist you in telling you the famous tours and further we can book for you as well. Feel At Home Backpackers perfectly located in the most centric point of Bangkok surrounded by uncountable must-see for travelers such as The Grand Palace, Khao San Road, Temple of Dawn, Wat Pho, Bangkok night life, and quaint shopping street. About the Property: ******************** Feel At Home Backpackers highlight features include: -Free Individual Lockers and Locks. -Free Linens, Duvets, and Luggage Deposit. -Free Internet Access and Computers. -Free access to guide books and non fictions. -Free Maps and traveling advice. -Free Office Supplies Facilities. - Enjoy movies at night (Mini Theater with sound system). In our Bar: from Jan 2013 We will serve Heineken and Local beers such as Singha, Chang, Leo and Chang draft all reasonably priced. big screen TV for sports- Dvd's- News. Laundry: We also have the cheapest Laundry service, for our guest, in the area... Common Room: Our common rooms is good enough for you to become social and enjoy the stuff like playing carom, cards etc. Moving on from Bangkok? We show you how to get to everywhere, on your own and save you the $ that the tour agency would normally get for them booking your tour. Do it our way. Yes, there are times when a tour agency is your best option, mostly when you are limited on time, but with the proper knowledge (i.e. where to go buy tickets) you're able to book your own. Save money, do more! Here are just some of the destinations we make available for you. One of our Favorites is.... Kanchanaburi, including the floating market, war cemetery, and bridge over the River Kwai, Tiger Temple ( (ever touch a tiger? walk beside tigers, don't run or move to fast.) Elephant riding and washing(ever wash an elephant?) , Erawan Falls-The best water falls in all of Thailand( swimming allowed) Hot springs, Hell Fire Pass- ('Lest We Forget') - monkey training zoo, the big tree and bamboo rafting are also available! Make it a 3 day run and you can add three Pagoda Pass, Viwagaram Temple, underwater temple, orphanage, and a long wooden bridge. Accommodation Information: ************************** We have dorms available. We have separate female dorms and mixed dorms too at a very competitive rates. Underneath our beds there are big lockers available in which you can put even 3 backpackers bags too and you have to lock the lockers with your own padlocks. Directions: ****************************** Address is: 218, Charkrapong Road (Banglampoo), Taladyod Phranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand 10200 From Suvarnabhumi International Airport (BKK) Option 1 : Taxi: ************************* Take a Public Metered Taxi (24 hour service) on the 1st floor, near Entrance 4 and 7. From Airport to Feel At Home Backpackers, plus 50 Baht surcharge and toll, the fare is approximately 400 - 500 Baht, depends on traffic conditions. Please don't forget to tell the taxi driver to tell to drop you at Banglamphu Junction. From there we are only 30 Meters away. Option 2 : Airport Sky Train (SA City Line) - Pyathai Station - Feel At Home Backpackers. ************************************************************************************************************* -This train provides service between Suvarnabhume Airport station to Phyathai Station (30 minute, 90 Baht) which covers a distance of 28 kilometers and provide service from 6.00 to 24.00 everyday. -Get off the train at "Phyathai Station" And call a metered taxi to Feel At Home Backpackers. The fare is approximately 100 Baht. Please don't forget to tell the taxi driver to tell to drop you at Banglamphu Junction. From there we are only 30 Meters away. *** Insist to turn the meter on. -To find Feel At Home Hostel from Khaosan road's Airport Express bus stop, please walk along Chakraphong road passing Khaosan road and Chanasongkram police station until you reach Tani Road (7-11 shop on the right corner) -Then, walk a little further from Tani road around 50 meters, once you see Feel At Home building (white colour) hostel . (We are only 3 minutes walk far from Khao San Rd. Airport Express Bus Stop). Refund Policy: *********************** Please note that any changes will be considered only 48 hours before your arrival day. No cancellation or any modification will be allowed on arrival day. This rule is 100% applicable even if you are making the booking either on the same day or in between 48 hours of your arrival day. Thanks for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Feel At Home Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing