We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves the high ranking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chef Bar

Chef Bar
Ranked #92 of 10,686 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: We Are Closed 13th to 17th April 2017 ReOpen Tuesday 18th April 5pm. Happy Holidays. Trading Hours Changed as Follows: Dinner -Monday to Saturday 5pm "last order 9.00pm" Lunch - Saturday 12 noon - 3pm " Last Order" Sunday "Closed" We Are Looking Forward Seeing You Again Recently Re-Furbished in a Major Way. I Promise You All Considerable Amount of Thought And Skill Was Initiated to Make Chef Bar an Even Better Experience ! Our Small Team Welcome You To Chef Bar to Experience International Comfort Cuisine Sourced and Prepared By Chef Roland who has Over 40years International Culinary Experience.Chef Roland's Concept is to Control The Transition from Ingredients to the Finished Dish By: Sourcing Only the Best Products Available.All Raw Meat is In House Ground or Cut. Blends His Own Concoctions of Sauces, Salt, Seasonings. Hand Cut Chips and Mashed Potatoes are prepared fresh Daily.Please Take a Look at Our Specials that are Always Imaginative with locally and Imported Quality Ingredients. Also Chef Roland Personally Has SelectedInteresting Craft Beers From All Over the World. We are Open Monday to Saturday from 12 Noon to 9.30Pm Last order 9pm.Please Note We Are Closed Sunday.You Can Find a More Accurate Map in the Photo Album Here.
Kensington, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deserves the high ranking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I went for dinner and had an excellent dinner accompanied by a very nice bottle of red.
Roland is a great guy who is honest and passionate about the food that he serves. The food is superb and the menu is original and well thought out.
We were just in Bangkok for only a few days and decided to find this little place and we're so glad we did.

Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    45
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Aussome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

to be sure it was as good as the first time, I went back for the waygu burger (I had a meat pie the first time) Roland (the owner) does a fantastic job of providing a quality product at a very reasonable price. You will want to take a pie or 2 to go. It really is a small gem in a city full of many restaurants.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NGTB_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exceedingly good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

After walking past 3 or 4 times we eventually found this tiny little eatery, opposite the Prasarnmit Plaza, with a pub to the left of it. (It has a light blue sign above it). After researching on TA we decided on this place for my birthday meal as we were on a budget but wanted something unique that we hadn't tried before. We both had the Wagyu Beef burger specials (one with smoked poached lambs liver and smoked jalepeno jam and one with wild mushroom and goat's cheese) My partner was a bit dubious about the lambs liver but Chef Roland managed to talk him into it and he thoroughly enjoyed it! The only downside of eating here is that now i've tasted Wagyu beef and other beef burger is not going to suffice!
Chef Roland's passion for what he does is something to be marvelled and if we could bottle it and give it to other burger joints, a bad burger would be hard to find!
It's safe to say we will definitely be going back and might even save some money and order one of the special steaks for next time we go.
Thanks Chef Roland, see you soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winni1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great food, great service, we had an excellent time here. I recommend this place highly for dinner. If you want yummy modern cuisine come here. Very interesting food and restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Seriously tasty and highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed every meal in Chef bar. The story behind every dish is amazing and the chefs passion for cooking has come through in what is a short but very tasty menu. I highly recommend....everything to be honest, it's all good. Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WebCoursesBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Bar also viewed

 

Been to Chef Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing