We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggie paradise”

May Kaidee Tanao - Vegetarian Restaurant
Ranked #224 of 10,950 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Banglamphu
Description: We offer a menu of over 50 Thai vegetarian and vegan dishes, including Tom Yam soup, Pad Thai, green curry, Isaan recipes, stir fry and cold food such as our famous fresh spring rolls.
Graz, Österreich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Veggie paradise”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Mai Kaidees vegetarian restaurant is THE best of all veggie places in that street (there is 3 vegtarian restaurants next to each other). The quality of the food is excellent and it´s still comparatively cheap. I´ve eaten one of the best Massaman curries there and you also must try the fresh spring rolls YUMMY!! Also Black Mango sticky rice for dessert. This stuff is a million times better than any street food sticky rice. I really liked the staff and atmosphere there, everyone is very kind and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank zoeraissakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    51
    19
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SCRUMPTIOUS VEGGIE TREAT! ”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Found this resurant despite trip advisor placing the resturant on the wrong street! It is a lane way behind the street indicated! This resturant is an organic locally sourced authenic thai vegatarian resturant! DELICIOUS DELICIOUS DELCIOUS! We attended with our 15 & 13 year old children and they absoultely adored it! They provided a menu that suited everyone in the family and exceptional drinks! I recommend the May Kadiss Zinger, a house speciality! The variety of freash fruit crushes are beautiful! Another recommendation of mine is the both the fried and non-fried spring rolls were to die for especially with the peanut sauce that topped it! It was very resonably priced and the service was both efficient and quick! ABSOLUTELY DEVINE!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sprumar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good authentic restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the food here. Good authentic Thai food, and vegetarian. It's not really easy to find but definitely worth it. The personel is really friendly but don't expect a good view. It is in a small street. But the food is great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marloes89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall with memorably tasty vegetarian food”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this is a small restaurant serving vegetarian food, looks are nothing special, but the food is superb. Which is to say that they serve mostly traditional Thai dishes - a good variety of them - also excellent drinks and smoothies. So why all the fuss? Because they really know how to cook. Almost a good month later I can recall most of the dishes we ate and how they tasted. This is not because they were spicy enough to set my shoes on fire or anything like that, on the contrary, it was because the flavours were delicately balanced, fresh and vibrant. We found ourselves comparing every other meal we had in Thailand to what we ate here. So that's reason enough to try this place out if you want high quality traditional Thai dishes. It was also quite reasonably priced, which is a nice added bonus.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent veggie food”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

*I've noticed a lot of reviews for this branch have been written up on the page for the Samsen branch - this branch is the one on Tango, at the end of Khao San. The Samsen branch is currently closed - I think it's being refurbished and will reopen later in the year.
Anyway, my review. Fabulous tasty food, plenty of choice and some unusual things I haven't seen anywhere else, reasonable prices. Definitely not the bland versions of Thai dishes that some restaurants think westerners want. Quick friendly service, and the cooking area is visible so you can see things being made if you want to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May Kaidee Tanao - Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to May Kaidee Tanao - Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing