We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday afternoon relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apoteka

Apoteka
Ranked #471 of 10,625 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Asian, Pub, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: Apoteka Sukhumvit, located on iconic Soi 11, has established itself as a leading live music venue in BKK since opening in late 2012, with our family of BKK's finest local and imported artists and bands playing Blues, Jazz, Motown, Soul or Funk every night of the week. The apothecary inspired interior features exposed brick walls and vintage iron detailing reminiscent of the raw grandeur of New Orleans' French Quarter, while the spacious deck and inviting, open-plan bar provide an ideal space in which to relax and enjoy our nightly live entertainment, carefully crafted cocktails and delicious dining options - as well as a range of imported craft beer, a selection of fine cigars - all against the vibrant backdrop of Soi 11. Apoteka Sukhumvit is open from 11.00Am - 2.00Pm ,7 days a week.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

If you are looking for a lazy Sunday afternoon to chill out with good music, friendly service and reasonably priced good food - then this is it. The band plays every Sunday from about 3.00 pm onwards and other days during the week as well. Charlie, Jenny, Willie and others are real professional musicians that you would want playing in your own band (if I had one). The waiting staff are really attentive, they often do Sunday afternoon barbeques and there is a good selection on the menu if BBQ's don't appeal.

I don't want to say too much more in case someone takes my seat - which is just to the left as you walk in - on the outside decking - facing the band. Be warned - I don't like sharing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    76
    24
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Clean and pretty bar with live music and friendly staff. Typical tourist place. Very clean toilets :) ideal for some appetizers (nacho's, chicken wings). You get free popcorn with your drinks.

Helpful?
Thank 22Jo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting venue on Soi 11”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I read about Apoteka when I was looking for "nice" venue that was not a "girly" bar with live music. The location on Soi 11 is right at the end where things get a little more upmarket.....and so do the prices. They had a great blues band on but with the cost of a local beer being almost 3 times the price of anywhere else, I did not stay long. I did not eat there but spoke to some other people who said it was "quite good but expensive". Interestingly unlike most venues in Bangkok you are not allowed to smoke inside and only on the terrace (will suit some people more than others of course). The terrace is quite fun as you can people watch whilst having a drink and you can still hear the band inside. I ended up leaving and wandering back along Soi 11 and having a drink or two at one of the many VW bars....lots of fun!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MdeR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Keith Noland's Love Gone Wrong... brilliant and what an asset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I went to this bar last visit.. very unusual An extremely personable English manager.. knew his customers and made me feel at ease. I was there early in the week and there was a brilliant blues band Keith Noland Love gone wrong. The most amazing vocalist and key board player I have heard in my time in SEAsia. His little band of guitarists and drummer accompanying Keith Noland were just a delight. He just lifts the whole crowd with his passionate keyboard music and amazing voice, The food is good, drinks as you would expect with a music bar and no cover charge. What a gem, and congratulations Apoteka for introducing me to this amazing band, I will be back on my next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Blues Band”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Definitely a late-night venue, buzzing! Great cocktails and brilliant music. It is popular with local expats and does reasonably good food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Triona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apoteka also viewed

 

Been to Apoteka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing