We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere near 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #117 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nowhere near 5 star”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over new year and having paid a lot of money and choosing carefully we were very much looking forward to a lovely new year. I can honestly say that this was one of the worst hotel experiences I have had. The staff seemed confused at best. After checking in my luggage went missing. Nobody offered any information about the hotel but gave us a key and left us to find our room. Tea and coffee in the room was never topped up. Very poor selection of tv channels. A nail sticking out of the wall in our room. I called for room service at 10pm and I was told kitchen is closed. Very poor wifi connection. When I called to ask about the new year gala dinner it took 5 staff to figure out what was actually happening. All in all disorganised and 3 star at best. I will never stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rocky184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZakiBaz, General Manager at The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear rocky184
Greeting from The Continent Hotel, Bangkok!
Thanks alot for your kind review!
Please accept my sincerest apologies for your inconvenient stay with us.
As The Continent Hotel is 5 star boutique hotel, so, our mission is; to insure the best stay and experience are well provided to all our guests. Have said that,
I’ve listed all your valuable comments in details, and please rest assured, that we are taking all your comments very seriously, since those issues were never faced at our hotel.
We always try our best to personalize the service for every guest, therefore, very serious action will be taken for those staff who did not follow the hotel standard and provided less service than what our guests was expecting.
Regarding to the WIFI, Sir… the hotel provides a free decent speed for all hotel guests. We also provide a higher speed and very high speed with minimum charge. I’ll look at the Internet speed issue and do my best to improve it.
We were full for new-year eve and tables at all outlets were booked in advance, unfortunately, my staff was not been able to book for you a table and they were waiting to replace your booking with any potential cancellation. It is still not an excuse for us not to provide you with the best available option, I am sorry for that.
Again, sorry for your bad experience with us, and will be very much appreciated to give us another chance to express our apology in person and offer you a compensation for your next visit.
Please feel free to contact me directly about your next visit and I’ll be glad to arrange the best accommodation and services for you.
All the best,
Zaki Baz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    523
    168
    45
    28
See reviews for
166
565
207
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
salisbury
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I've stayed in a lot better for less in Bangkok.

We arrived on December 26th for 4 nights at the start of our 3 week holiday. We picked the hotel based on the location, the fact that it was fairly new and the benefit of a rooftop pool.

The rooftop pool is excellent - good amount of sun and loungers and a fantastic view. I think this is what makes it dearer than a good 3 star hotel on Soi 11.

We were staying on the 8th floor and could still hear traffic and sky train - if you like to sleep as for a room on a higher floor!

Breakfast was the best all holiday and the views were fantastic. Although getting there was a pain due to only 2 very small and slow lifts which doesn't work too well in a very big hotel.

The only problem we had with the breakfast, was the Christmas music being played. It was so terrible. We even ate next door one morning as we couldn't bare it! Being in a Buddhist country, we wouldn't expect that much emphasis on Christmas, certainly not up until 30th December! We come away to escape it but no such luck at this hotel! I really think it's only appropriate to play it from 24th-26th.

Check in and out was easy and the staff are great. The location is perfect, right by Asoke BTS and Terminal 21 which has the most fantastic food hall.

To summarise, it is good - but maybe not good enough for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for something on a higher floor - we were on floor 8 and could hear traffic and sky train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmykerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZakiBaz, General Manager at The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear timmykerley,
Greeting from The Continent Hotel, Bangkok!
Many thanks for your kind review!

I am glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
The pool is located at the 37 floor, with very nice H2O Bar and great Sky-city-view.
The hotel offers a great value for money. We are trying to be an affordable 5 star hotel in the middle of Bangkok.
The hotel has great location; it is just few steps from the Sky-train and also MRT.
The hotel provides Sky rooms from floor 22 to 32… all rooms have great sky-city-view and very well designed and equipped to add the highest comfort level for our guests.
Breakfast is served on the 35 floor, with very nice international buffet.
Axis & Spin Sky Bar on the 38-39 floor is one of the best Sky bar in Bangkok, where guests can enjoy food, drinks, and parties.
Thanks again for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming back again in the near future.
Best regards,
Zaki baz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We arrived on 13/01/2014, the day mass occupations began to 'close down Bangkok'. After not being able to find our booking (made online the day before), we got two rooms - one was not the configuration we required but we made do for the three nights of our stay.
Overall we found the service provided very good - the place was fairly quiet because of the protests and staff were understandably on edge as many cancellations were coming through and security were manning a gate outside.
We found the hotel was a great location for shopping, train transport and with the park just over the road good for exercise too. The gym and bars are quite small and you'd expect a much larger pool in a 38 storey hotel, but given it was not packed, we enjoyed all the facilities.
Would stay there again as the price was very good.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank manucaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We just came back from Bangkok and stayed at The Continent. Everything was great about this hotel: location (close to subway and sky train, which you use a lot in Bangkok due to traffic; preferable over taxi), room was very nice (could have been a little larger, but not a big deal), close to the Terminal 21 mall where you have everything you need, from supermarket to stores, cinema, SPA and restaurants. Services were great too. Very happy with our choice, we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcrasnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our first trip to Bangkok on the fateful day of 13 JAN 2014 - the first day of the "occupy" protests. Got upgraded to a suite for free, and were treated like kings the whole stay - made up nicely for the fact that the entrance was blocked by protestors!. Great drinks by the 37th floor pool, and a nice Thai breakfast buffet. Great price and service for an elite hotel in a swanky part of town.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We ended our 5D4N family trip with a night stay at The Continent Bangkok. We LOVE this small boutique hotel. There are only 7 rooms per floor so it is quiet. The chic design is lovely, I especially love the shower. The senior citizens love the comfortable bed. The Wifi is strong at every corner of the hotel, and the view at swimming pool & bar and the gym is great.
We stayed at the Sky Rooms. Sky Room's benefits include early check in and late check out, depending on the availability (which we enjoyed both). complementary drinks (alcohol and non alcohol) for all the guest from 4-6pm at the bar at level 38 and 39 (which we had a fun relaxing family time), complimentary daily fruit basket, complimentary laundry (2 pieces per day) etc
Their staff speak relatively good English, and their service was very good. The lady who served us is Fairy, she's friendly, attentive and helpful. The guy who served us is Nut, he speaks Mandarin and we had great time chit chat with him.
The Continent is very near to the Asoke BTS station and Sukhumvit MRT station. The latest, hippest shopping mall Terminal 21 is also less than 3 minutes walk away.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Book the Sky Rooms if budget is not your concern
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnderBigHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We've stayed in The Continent for 1 night during our Bangkok trip. We've booked three Sky Rooms and we'll have to say that it's all worth the money.

Sky Room's benefits include early check in and late check out, depending on the availability. Besides, there are complementary drinks (alcohol and non alcohol) for all the guest from 4-6pm at the bar at level 38 and 39.

The customer service at the counter was really good too. The lady who served us is Fairy, she's really friendly and helpful, and has been very patience to our requests during our check in. She also speaks relatively good English, which made the entire process easy.

The Continent situated just next to the Asoke BTS station and Sukhumvit MRT station. Besides, the latest and most hip shopping mall-Terminal 21 is just a stone throw away! All these made food hunting and shopping easy!

Room is clean; Wifi is strong; everything you need for your shower is provided.

And not forgetting to mention, the view at swimming pool & bar at level 37 and the gym at level 36 is great when you work out! The only problem with the pool and gym is, they're just too small.

Room Tip: Book a Sky Room. The benefits include high floor, early check in, late check out and complementary d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khooweiwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#54 of 867 in Bangkok
1,486 reviews
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
S Sukhumvit Suites
S Sukhumvit Suites
#204 of 867 in Bangkok
869 reviews
Sukhumvit
Four Points By Sheraton Bangkok, Sukhumvit 15
Sukhumvit
Radisson Blu Plaza Bangkok
Radisson Blu Plaza Bangkok
#101 of 867 in Bangkok
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Address: 413 Sukhumvit Road | Khlongtoei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly The Continent Hotel Bangkok)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continent Hotel, Sukhumvit Bangkok is a luxurious hotel in a convenient location that suits all types of lifestyle, business or leisure travelers. In just a few steps out, you can enjoy a range of shopping malls like Terminal 21, Robinson and more. The public transport like BTS (Asok Sky train Station) and MRT (Sukhumvit Subway Station) is just next door. The hotel is positioned right in the heart of Sukhumvit between Soi 21 and Soi 23 , near Soi Cowboy and other night life entertainment. The hotel offers 153 guestrooms which are designed in four different themes called Ocean, Forest, Desert and Space. All rooms and suites are well appointed and present a lifestyle of comfort and convenience with sophisticated in-room amenities. Additional facilities include innovative bars, a lofty restaurant, a meeting space, a sky gym with city view and an elevated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing