We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Ranked #90 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited over Lunar New Year / Valentine's Day with my partner from 13 - 17 Feb.

LOCATION
Conveniently located right in front of National Stadium BTS, it is merely one stop to Siam (do walk though!) and a few more to the major BTS stations. From the airport, you can take the Airport Line to Phaya Thai before changing to Siam then hop right off National Stadium. Sounds like a huge fuss but trust me, its easier, cheaper and quicker than taking the cab. But should you be taking one, do note that the address is pretty new to the cabbies - simply direct them to National Stadium BTS or MBK mall (you need to tell them to turn right and keep slow when you have MBK on the top right of the t-junction). Lots to buy and see and eat on the streets down to Siam especially when the vendors lay out their stalls on the sidewalks by afternoon.

ROOMS
Relatively comfy for up to 3, roomy for 2 persons. Mercure rooms are generally high floored (Ibis rooms are on the lower floors). We got a room on the 21st storey and the view was fabulous. Housekeeping is perfect - amenities always replenished, and always came back to neat tidy rooms.

MEALS
Had breakfast included daily which was good because most shops do not open before 10am. Eat your fill then head out for some shopping or sightseeing. Breakfast spread is adequate but nothing to shout about, however definitely good enough.

AMENITIES
Rooms are equipped with hot water making facilities, hairdryer, drinking water, and iron. No minibar set up during our stay though. Complimentary wifi is provided and you can also use the computers at the lobby (level 9 for Mercure guests). TV has over 90 channels but dont think you'd be indoors much anyway - would be great if hotel could implement a channel guide.

OTHERS
Love the employees - always friendly and ready to help. Concierge and security were great, pity we didnt get their names. The guy we approached went out of his way to give sightseeing and transport advice - just ask them the best way to get there and heed the advice. Security guard on duty also went out of his way to get us a tuktuk at reasonable pricing because there werent any cabs on V-day.

VERDICT
4.5/5 - am coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vichyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,485 - 1,491 of 2,218 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Check in : Feb 15 2013
Room . : 2120

As a A club platinum card holder I stay approximately 60 nights / year in Mercure , Novotel and Sofitel hotels all over the world ,strange enough this is the first time that I have to guarantee my total stay in advance. I was told by the front desk officer that this is a "Mercure hotel policy". Beside my room number , no further explications given about the restaurant , breakfast or where I could find the lift.
Rooms are fresh and nicely decorated with the usual Mercure amenities. Good sleep comfort and excellent airco.
The location of this hotel is just perfect next to the National stade BTS and just steps away from the Siam shopping area.
Nice international breakfast buffet, unfortunately the staff is rude and not service minded.
I got a welcome drink voucher for all kind of drinks with the exception of champagne or hard liquor
to use in the bar or restaurant. When I presented the voucher to the bar waiter , I was told that it was only for juice or soft drinks......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tony_schepens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at Mercure Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear tony_schepens,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at the Mercure Bangkok Siam.
I am sorry to hear that you had some problems during your stay, especially considering you are our valued Accor Le Club Platinum member.

I have discussed the issues with the Food and Beverage and Front office teams to ensure that we improve our communication regarding the hotel facilities and benefits.

I am happy to hear that you did enjoy the great location of the hotel and the breakfast buffet.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the Mercure Bangkok Siam again in the future to show you our true Mercure service.

Kind regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager
Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

When arrived at the hotel, nobody was at the lobby, have to wait a couple of minutes before someone appears. Reception is at the 9th floor. Very good location, 1 block from MBK shopping. BTS sky train just a steps away. But as BTS is a great transport option in Bangkok ( and cheap) , if shooping is your option of choosing this hotel, you can stay in other hotel close to BTS and you can easily reach the shopping area.
After check out, I came back later to ask them if a room was available for 5 hours ( until my flight departs) as my daughter was feeling sick. The only room they offer was a suite and charge me BHT 5600 ( = EUR 140 ) for staying only 5 hours . I will not come back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMPJMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at Mercure Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Mercure Bangkok Siam.
I apologise that you did not have a warm welcome on your arrival at the hotel, and this is not our normal standard of welcoming our guests to our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you had to re-check in to the hotel due to your daughter feeling unwell. At that time the hotel was fully booked as it was Saturday night of Chinese New Year - a very popular time in this area. Hence we only had suite rooms available at the time.

I take on board your comments and will share your experience with our team in order that we can continue to improve our customer service.

Kind regards,

Simone Hansen
General Manager
Mercure and Ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent there 3 nights altogether.We were initially put on the 20th floor rooms which has a terrible solvent smell while this property has just opened.Then we were moved to 19th floor with less smell while there must have been quite a few number of guests staying there.Breakfast served excellent with all western and Thai specialities.Location is unique with a step you are on Skytrain to amjor sites and interchange connection to Suvarnabhumi.Its 45 Baht to take the airport express to get to the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anaximander66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is one building, with Ibis entrance on right . mercure on left.
To access the Mercure you take one elevator to floor 9, walk across reception and take a second elevator to your room. This could be annoying if you have to wait for lifts at peak times .
Having made my booking with accor online, and submitted my credit card....I was shocked to be asked for a deposit (think 500bts per night)I would suggest you pay cash for this deposit, I proffered my credit card, only to find on departure that they had not just taken the deposit but the whole cost of my 5 nights stay on arrival, and for for some unexplained reason I still had to pay again on departure, being assured by the manager the first amount would be credited back onto my card. (hope it has) (The manager came from the Ibis and was wearing Ibis uniform.)
As the hotel is brand new, the rooms are obviously well furnished, and comfortable.The shower didnt drain, but no problem as you can remove the drain cover to correct this.
The hotels location is second to non, within walking distance of MBK and Paragon
which both have food halls, restaurants, and a supermarket in Paragon. Jim Thomsons House (plus restaurant)is nearby.
My overal impression was an Ibis Hotel, with better rooms. Personally I felt for only a little more money there are better full service Accor brand options in BKK.
However the position of this hotel is hard to better, and I expect the Ibis customers are satisfied. This Mercure is just not for me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at Mercure Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear MrsB333,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Mercure Bangkok Siam.

I am sorry to hear that our staff did not explain the pre-authorization procedure for the room deposit and also the poor drainage of the shower in your room.

I hope that we can welcome you back to either the Mercure or the ibis Bangkok Siam on your next stay in Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Simone Hansen
General Manager
Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel proved to be a great surprise. You descend the steps of the National Stadium skytrain platform and walk into the hotel. It's actually two hotels in one. Ibis downstairs and Mercure from the 9th floor up. And it's only been open a few weeks so sparkling new

The location couldn't be better. In addition the easy access to the skytrain which will get you to most parts of the city, the Bangkok Arts & Culture Centre is a few meters away and then the amazing shopping of Siam is right there. Siam Centre is fascinating.

Be sure to spend some time at the hotel roof bar and swimming pool, perched on top of the building. The gym is also up here and the view is amazing.

Being brand new, the room is still fresh although there was a cockroach that appeared in the shower. The bed is truly heavenly and the view is of the various sports stadiums. I ordered room service and the chocolate fondant rates amongst the best I've ever eaten! Pity about another crawling bug that arrived with the tray. Internet connection in public areas was great but in the room (2217) it was slow and erratic. Hopefully just a teething problem.

Finally, breakfast on the 8th floor restaurant is a large spread with loads of friendly servers and chefs.

Will I stay again? Without a doubt!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Travelled with my mother over the weekend of 25th January to 28th January. The first thing when you get to the airport is to tell the drivers MBK or National Stadium because it is so new that they generally have no idea where this is. No worries about it, because you will be able to see the building sticking out of the surrounding (look out for Mercure/Ibis) and you will be fine.

The staff at concierge are probably the most amazing bunch I have met so far. They welcome you, ask about how you want your trip to be, and give their suggestions to it. When they see you again, they actually remember what places they recommended and how it was. Reception was wonderful, and they actually pre-prepared the documents beforehand, which I think is good practice because this actually saves a lot of time if every reservation is already well-prepared. The welcome drink was a defining touch, because the bar at level 9 has a scenic view and a wonderful breeze, giving a refreshing break from the long travels.

The room is very, very clean. There were two Thai-inspired engravings on the wall, which adds a nice touch. Nice long couch, great pillows and bed. One little nitpicking was that there were too many channels in Thai (but there were a whopping 97 channels, happy surfing). The bathrooms were spacious and spanking clean. I did not experience the flooding issue with the shower room floor, perhaps it has been sorted out already. Complimentary shampoo, shower gel, and soap were not the cheap, drying kind.

What can I say about the pool and the gym. You have got to experience it to believe it. Running on the treadmill on the 29th floor overlooking the whole of riverside Bangkok has got to be one of the best runs of my life. The pool on the high floor gives you a bird's eye view of Bangkok city, and is actually a great place for a snooze away from the traffic haze.

One peculiar thing that I have reflected back to Mrs Simone, the general manager, is that of the lifts. They do not require key cards to access the room floors. However, there is little to worry about because the reception staff are always on the look out and definitely able to distinguish guest from strangers.

The location has got to be the main reason I will return to this hotel. The escalator to National Stadium BTS is practically at the hotel's doorstep, so close that I recommend they build a shelter to it just to establish that link. You will never fully appreciate it until you come back to the hotel at the end of a long, long day out only to have to walk that few steps to reach the comforts of the hotel.

I strongly commend Mrs Simone Hansen and her amazing team for bringing the standards of this new establishments up to that of other established Accor hotels around the region. A true gem in the making.

Room Tip: Pick rooms 3, 4, 5, and 6 to get a good view of Central World, Siam Paragon and the like. Mercure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chun Kiat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at Mercure Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Chun Kiat G,

Thank you for sharing such nice comments about your recent stay at the Mercure Bangkok Siam.

You will be happy to hear that the water flooding in the room has been repaired so this should not happen again and thank you for bringing it my attention.

The key card system for the elevators is on process and should be completed by next week, so that will ensure more secure access to the Mercure guest rooms.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back to the Mercure soon.

Kind regards,

Simone Hansen
General Manager
Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#151 of 887 in Bangkok
1,537 reviews
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#78 of 887 in Bangkok
1,220 reviews
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#55 of 887 in Bangkok
5,572 reviews
Siam
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bangkok Siam

Address: 927 Rama 1 Road | Wangmai, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam , Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $91 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bangkok Siam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Bangkok Siam is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok's shopping district and steps away from the National Stadium BTS. Explore the numerous shopping malls just a quick walk away at MBK, Siam Center, Siam Discovery, Siam Paragon, Centralworld and Siam Square. Mercure Bangkok Siam features 189 superior, privilege and suite rooms all appointed with a warm and modern style. The shared complex includes free WiFi, restaurant, 3 bars, 3 meeting rooms, roof top swimming pool and fitness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing