We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
Ranked #188 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My first night here there were ants in my bed that bit me, my entire back was covered in bites for a week. When I told the desk manager, I was repeatedly asked if I ate food in bed (I had a suite with a kitchen and living room, so not at all.) I found that there was food, old food in the carpet and several hairs in the bathroom that were not mine.

I complained again and they seemed to understand when I said the room is not clean. Again, the maids came to clean it and again the problem was not fixed. When I pointed it out a third time, the food was gone but still the small, curly hairs remain in the bathroom.

Normally cleanliness is not a problem in decent Thai hotels and I am not a neat freak. But when a (new!) hotel is so infested with bugs that I need to see a dermatologist and I complain patiently and it's not fixed, it's a sign of very poor care taking.

My luggage also took three hours to reach my room from storage and the bell hop kept bringing the wrong bags and at one point tried to convince me that someone else's bag was mine! This might be okay for a two or three star property, but not for the expectations they set here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabai_sabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 222 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Oakls within walking distance to BTS, very nicely appointed, attentive management and quiet. I enjoyed the outdoor lap pool, nice fitness center open 24/7 with sauna, steam room.

Sylvie, the manager, catered to our needs and was very friendly, accomodating and professional.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rezmedicine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Check in was a little bit trouble as the hotel consists of 2 separate towers. I checked into the Anantara hotel without knowing that i was booked at the Oaks tower so they had no reservation on arrival and paniqued somewhat. This could have been handled better.The staff should have an arrivals list of the other tower or have access to their system.
Elevator carpets could be cleaner and checked more often.

The apartment was great, spacious, spotless clean. Nice large rain shower and big bathtub.
Kitchenette design was not my taste with the big fridge standing out next to it and a washing machine on the balcony.
Very good king size bed with good mattress which allowed me to sleep well as i am very tall.
The pool area is nice at the first look. It needs much better upkeep. Many sunbeds and massage beds need new coverage.
The wooden deck around the very nice pool is in large parts pretty rotten and needs complete replacement instead of just fixing bits and pieces. They were starting redoing parts of it with a fence around it. It was not only ugly to look at but also very annoying and noisy.

The breakfast quality and variety was excellent and left nothing to desire.
I stayed there for 30+ days and it took the staff more than a week to recognize me and my special request for a capuccino each morning. It strongly depended on their mood and on the person i was asking to. Some were fantastic and others very indifferent if not ignorant at times.
I gained the impression it had also to do with the large number of guests from Asia's largest country which could often come in in busloads and not the friendliest and best mannered people on the planet.

I had 3 times room-service which was also very good and delivered well and on time.

I got a late Check-out which was very good and the check-out procedure went very smooth and no issues experienced.
Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HHCBrunoWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

it was a very nice hotel, the staff were very friendly and cooperative, the room was clean with every thing u may need including a microwave and a heater, it's also quiet, the view from the room is nice, the location is good, with a close market, although i wished that there was a mall close to the hotel but overall i really loved it

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rasha_qasem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We used these apartments for our last 2 nights in Bangkok before flying home as we needed a cheap base for the 2nd day where we could chill out for a reasonable price even though we weren't sleeping there. The 2 bed apartment is really spacious with new fittings and comfy beds. There are two TV's, a large dining table, two bathrooms and a spacious kitchen/lounge. There isn't much around the building but the skytrain is a 10 min walk away which you can then catch over to the shopping area/MBK National stadium. We also did a boat trip on the river and the canal from here and went up the top of the Lebua hotel to see the sky bar where the Hangover II was filmed. NB - they require men to wear long trousers to go up here even if you're not drinking or eating which was ridiculous! The area up there is full of pretentious snobs!! Lovely view but spoilt by jobs worth who also tell you where you can take your photos! The downside of the apartments are that they are in an identical tower to the Anantara hotel next door and so you share their amenities. The pool is lovely and is 32' long but is in the middle of the towers so the sun is only out for a few hours in the morning and then goes behind the tower block and is gone for the day! No good for afternoon sun bathing. Plus the water is quite cold and is salty. The wooden decking is rotting and is very hot under foot when the sun is out. Wifi works in public areas only. Overall, I'd recommend this building to stay in but would probably stay in a more busier area next time with reasonable shops around.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor which was OK
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliep010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank วัชรา ช
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchert E, Manager at Oaks Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: choisir un etage élevé
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mat97421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchert E, Manager at Oaks Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
#112 of 879 in Bangkok
814 reviews
Sathorn
Somerset Park Suanplu
Somerset Park Suanplu
#134 of 879 in Bangkok
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Siri Sathorn Executive Serviced Residence
Silom
Sabai Sathorn
Sabai Sathorn
#179 of 879 in Bangkok
138 reviews
Silom
Bandara Suites Silom, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Bangkok Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Bangkok Sathorn

Address: 36 Narathiwat-Ratchanakarin Road | Yananwa, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $58 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oaks Bangkok Sathorn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn provides a convenient base in central Bangkok, located close to Sathorn and Silom roads, just moments to the city’s business and shopping hubs and a 45 minute drive from both Suvarnabhumi and Don Muang International airports. Oaks Bangkok Sathorn offers a collection of 115 spacious studios and well appointed one, two and three bedroom serviced suites. Each suite is fitted with hot plates, microwave and fridge, while the extensive facilities include a 32 meter swimming pool, fully equipped fitness centre and tennis court. Oaks guests also receive dining and entertainment privileges at the next door Anantara Bangkok Sathorn hotel, which provides guests with a range of dining options. Business or leisure travelers looking for a convenient and spacious home away from home, whether for one night, one month or a whole year, will find that Oaks Bangkok Sathorn’s serviced suites are the ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Bangkok Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing