We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and breakfast spread”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
Ranked #151 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We friends arrived in Bangkok after a great start to our vacation in Phuket. We changed a few skytrains during our journey from the airport to the station bang opposite the hotel. Although I am aware that ibis is a business hotel with no frills, we were very disappointed on seeing the small room and a bathroom small enough to make one feel claustrophobic!!! When we went for our breakfast in the morning, we realised that the spread was very limited (even by ibis standards)!!! On top of that, the condescending attitude of the hostess who was overlooking the breakfast servings for the hotel's patrons was unlike that of an employee of a reputed hotel chain. Some of the breakfast items got over and when we asked her to replace those we were TOLD that its over and that there would be no fresh serving of those items. (please note that we were still well within the breakfast timings). I will NEVER stay at the ibis Bangkok Siam. What is interesting is that in Phuket we stayed at Mercure Phuket Deevana which belongs to the same hotel group (Accor) as ibis. Amazing difference in the quality of the staff - must say!!!

Room Tip: Choose this hotel only for a low price or if you want to be close to MBK shopping center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bambaiyya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Bambaiyya,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the ibis Bangkok Siam and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

The voice of our customers is critical in maintaining our high standards and I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you received poor service from our staff.
I will pass on your feedback about the breakfast re-fills and service with the Chef and Food and Beverage team to investigate these matters.

While I understand your frustrations of the ibis Bangkok Siam I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at one of our sister properties.
I do hope that we can welcome you back again to show you the true service and facilities that we strive for.
Kind regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager - Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

As a reward from our hard work, our company booked this hotel for us. Thus I did not have a say about this hotel.
To my surprise that this 3 star hotel is located in a very good location! – It is opposite a huge shopping mall – MBK and it is in front of the BTS (train) station. Right outside the hotel, there were many street food vendors! It is also located right next to Mercure Hotel
The lobby was clean and modern; there is a restaurant upon entrance before you reach the reception desk.
The room was basic and a little small but is clean. Bathroom with a walk in shower was tiny too. Amenities were basic.
It is nothing fancy about this hotel as this is the “Ibis” standard. I have no complaint about complementary Wi-Fi.
Buffett breakfast was good but limited choice.
Overall is basic and in good location

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear VanessaMunYee,
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us and I am glad to read that we were able to surprise you with the hotel location and facilities.
I take note about your comment regarding the limited breakfast options and we are looking at ways that we can improve this for our guests.
Again, thank you for taking the time to post a review and I hope we see you again at the ibis Bangkok Siam.
Kind regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager - Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The biggest good point of this hotel is close to the commercial area. Room is small but clean, bathroom is small and lack of shower kit. Toilets paper is under the washbowl, difficult to see and reach. Staffs are doing their jobs. Breakfast was okey, like average.
This hotel is economic hotel, suitable for those have short stay in BBK

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jovirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Jovirus,
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us.
I take on board your comments and as always we continue to listen to our guests in order that we can find the common areas for improvement.
I hope that we can welcome you back again to the ibis Bangkok Siam in the future.
Kind regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager - Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Located right at BTS National Stadium, you can get anywhere easily.

Food: Limited breakfast spread. But you can't complain much for such affordable rooms.

Wifi: Free. Every 2 devices share 1 login. Get your password from counter.

Lift speed: Not bad. Quite fast.

Staff service: Excellent

Room Tip: High floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pluboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Hilman142
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

the location of the hotel is very very good, within 5min walk to BTS National Stadium and 10 min walk to the Siam. Staff there is friendly. Breakfast was good too.
We stayed there for two nights (seperate time). However the second time was not that happy because of the water heating system. When you took shower, the water was sometimes very hot but sometimes very cold.
The bed is small for one adult and one child, my child even fell down on the ground in the mid night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank lilaccShanghai_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed with friends and family.

The room was sufficient for a shopping trip. And the bed is comfy enough to stretch out after a long day of shopping and sightseeing.

The location is very good as it is near the Stadium BTS station. However, if you are carrying huge luggage bags, it may not be so advisable to travel by train to the hotel as there are few lifts to accomodate your journey down the train station. We needed to take the stairs down. As a suggestion, travellers with bulky luggages can take the airport express train to Phaya Thai station then take a cab. Or maybe take a cab directly if the cost difference is not too big.

The service was great as well as we had smiling staff. Even the cleaning lady was nice enough to ask how our day went as we bumped into her in the corridors. Reception staff was courteous and helpful as well.

Overall an enjoyable stay as the rooms had basic amneties and are just right if you want to shop at Siam Centre, Siam Square, Paragon etc. Would recommend my shopaholic friends to stay here :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank occo1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear occo1136,
Thank you for your recommendation of our new ibis Bangkok Siam.
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff.
I will pass on your comments to the team to act as encouragement to keep improving to be the best.
I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager - Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#90 of 887 in Bangkok
2,217 reviews
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#114 of 887 in Bangkok
376 reviews
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#78 of 887 in Bangkok
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel

Address: 927 Rama 1 Road | Wangmai, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam , Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $64 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of Bangkok and only steps away from the National Stadium BTS Station, the 189 room ibis Bangkok Siam offers fully equipped facilities and contemporary dining options. Modern and well designed, all rooms feature a satellite LCD TV, functional bathroom, free WiFi internet connection and more. The lobby bar and terrace is open all day for light meals and refreshing drinks. Pet allowed (up to 10 kg) Modern and well designed, the Standard Room features all the usual amenities. A cozy double bed, a desk, LCD TV with international channels, free WiFi internet access, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing