We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but won't be for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Ranked #153 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed 4 nights November 2013. Ideal location, 2 minutes walk from Terminal 21, Sukhumvit Road and intersection of Skytrain and Metro.
Rooms are really clean and slick but tiny with no storage; if that’s a problem then it’s not for you. Bathrooms are great with 1 of best showers in SE Asia.
Be careful when booking to ensure you have correctly purchased all required add-ons as it’s not 100% clear; you need to select the number of units you need per night. For example, if you are staying 3 nights and want clean towels for each day then you need to select 3 towels. Also note that the way TV/wifi works and the way A/C works are different. TV/Wifi gives you 24 hours from the point you activate it, A/C gives you 24 hours of run time so if you are not in the room you are not using credit meaning 24 hours actually covers 2 or more days. In general booking an add-on bundle is cheapest but it’s worth pricing the options first taking into account the A/C usage.
If you like traditional or large hotels then this is not for you, but if you like clean, modern and compact in a great location then you won’t get better, we will definitely be coming back next time we are in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DCarless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

There were quite basic facilities. Hotel is clean and neat. Bath room was good, bed was comfortable (4 star). There was safe box but not mini bar, even none of bottle of water. You should buy from outside. Good for night for break. If you carry with a big suitcase i can tell you there was no wardrobe. Staffs were polite. You can walk around 200 meter to main road. There was very comfortable with BTS go to shopping mall and MRT go to Suvarnabhumi Airport.

Room Tip: Just for one night break before continue flying in the next day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Me and my husband decided to stay at Tune Hotel, Asoke for the simple reason that it is within the city limits and easy to travel through to other places in Bangkok, and well easy to afford. It is located close to one of the most famous malls in Bangkok - Terminal 21. So finding the place is not difficult. The rooms are comfy with a great shower. Finding cabs and restaurants in not at all a problem. Just head out from the hotel and walk towards the main road and you can find cabs easily. Don't take the cab service right outside the hotel, as they may charge more. Take a cab from the main road for travelling around Bangkok. If your want to go for a guided tour, then you can find a great place near the hotel - Yellow Star88. One of the best and close by eatery is Suda, within walk-able distance of the hotel. The food is great and priced well. For dinner there will be rush, but you can manage to find a table. If you have taken the breakfast coupon at Tune, the eatery is near to the hotel and they serve good breakfast. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Tune Hotel Asoke, and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeaquarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

First of all, somebody stole my favorite dress! I left my suitcase at the reception after check-out. And no dress in my luggage after that :-(

And I have no idea why this hotel has good rating... Yes, location is perfect - almost right across the street from Terminal 21. Wi-fi is fast enough. Rooms are very small but minimalistic cozy. Girls on reception look friendly.
But, they give only one old towel per person! It looks like they didnt clean floors and wash-bowl while my stay... aircon is very noisy, walls are extremely thin (you can hear all noises around).
And one more thing what surprised me - if you want they keep your bag before check-in or after check-out, you have to pay 50 bath. Never heard about that before. Also if you want to check-in a bit earlier, you must pay 120 bath. Thats what i call "the sort of the small cheating"!

Room Tip: Better to book this hotel online. Cause if you just walk-in you have to pay extra for towels, wi-fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supinda_HMTuneAsoke, General Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Vicy16,
You have made quite a serious allegation regarding the theft of your dress, as a result we immediately launched a full investigation. No members of the public are permitted access to our storage area and we have studied the CCTV footage for the entire time your bag was there and could find no evidence of anyone gaining access to any luggage. We have also questioned all staff and they also did not report seeing anything untoward.
We also checked hallway footage on your floor for your stay and found no other person gained access to your room.
Unfortunately we have no answer as to how your dress went missing.
Regarding housekeeping services during your three nights stay with us, we provided house-keeping services to your room every day, except December 12 as the “do not disturb” sign was on. When guests leave this sign on, our housekeeping staff respect these guest wishes at all times.
All Tune Hotels worldwide do not provide concierge services and this allows us to keep our rates so competitive. Should any guests would like to request for an early check in or store their bags after they checked out this can be arranged for a small fee which is clearly stated in our terms and conditions.
We hope you will understand hotel clearly for all points and we hope that Tune Hotels will be your choice for your next trip to Bangkok.
Best regards,
Supinda S.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I was there on last January. I bit difficult to get into this hotel's area because of the small signage in the small street. Hotel located about 200m from the main road which is nearby to the Asoke train station.
Hotel near Terminal 21 shopping complex and still in the walking area to go to Nani street (where you could find a few Halal restaurant).
Hotel ambiances was good, a 4 star bed and basic facilities. Hotel is clean, staffs are helpful and quite environment because it a bit far from the pubs area.
This hotel is highly recommended for those who are looking for the basic style hotel. Its worth and probably you will consider to stay here again for the next visit to Bangkok.

Room Tip: If you use a cab/ taxi to come to this hotel, make sure to bring the full address and its map and sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanieaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Lovely hotel, staff friendly and polite only downside to this hotel is when booking online the package states 24 hours wifi, television, toiletries and towels. This is literally the wifi and tv on for 24 hours from when u first switch on their fore have to pay extra for both each day. Other then that lovely clean and cheap for the location in Bangkok

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottyleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Had stayed there from 15-20th November 2013.Rooms where good ..shareable WiFi ..friendly staff.awesome breakfast(Black Swan) .near to terminal 21 shopping mall.sky train station is just 2 mins walkaway...parking space..gr8 street food places near by.. will defenitly choose tune asoke next time also

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Prasanth_Gulfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
CityPoint Hotel
CityPoint Hotel
#109 of 887 in Bangkok
1,248 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#80 of 887 in Bangkok
939 reviews
Sukhumvit
Check Inn Phromphong
Check Inn Phromphong
#202 of 887 in Bangkok
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Silom
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
#146 of 887 in Bangkok
563 reviews
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok

Address: 7 Sukhumvit Soi 14, Sukhumvit Road,, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Tune Hotel Asoke, Bangkok)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $38 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 130-room Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok is located in the centre of the capital, allowing guests to enjoy the convenience and comfort of staying in a convenient hotel, close to all key attractions and business centres. The 130-room property is a short walk from the Bangkok Transit System (BTS or Skytrain) Asoke station, the Mass Rapid Transport (MRT or Subway) Sukhumvit station and Sukhumvit Road, providing guests with excellent staging points to explore the city. It is also close to major shopping malls such as Terminal 21, business centres, hospitals and outstanding restaurants. Red Planet Asoke Bangkok has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi (up to three devices), soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing