We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for your money, in an amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Ranked #159 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for your money, in an amazing location”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on our very first trip to Bangkok, May 1st to May 4th 2013. It proved to be an excellent base for our exploration of the city due to its proximity to the Asok BTS station. Really, the hotel's location is its greatest asset. Not is it only located a mere 2 minutes from the Skytrain, it is also near the excellent Terminal 21 mall (lots of unique shopping and great cheap food). Furthermore, it lies on Sukhumvit road, which is filled with hundreds of roadside stalls selling a vast multitude of items, as well as countless food options should you venture out.

Other than the location, the hotel excelled in cleanliness. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless when we arrived. Beds were clean and comfortable, and the AC was powerful and kept the room cool from the oppressive Bangkok heat. The bathrooms were also functional and clean, and the shower had good water pressure. I will say though that the room was a little too small for my tastes. It felt almost claustrophobic at times. The wifi was fast but there were random times when it would stop working, which added a tiny bit of frustration as that meant we would have to venture downstairs to get a new username/password code.

The staff were all very polite and friendly, and were ready to help with whatever necessary. Their attitude really elevated the hotel in my eyes.

Keep in mind that this a no-frills hotel, which means that unless you book a bundled deal through Agoda or a similar site, you will have to pay every day for wifi, AC and television. Might be a bit off-putting, but it is what it is. I highly recommend Tune Asok, and would definitely stay there again if I'm ever in Bangkok

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank F-abr90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciated it.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Kind Regards,
Vicky, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    470
    138
    33
    16
See reviews for
104
231
250
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time I stayed at Tune Hotel outside Malaysia. Compared to its siblings, Tune Hotel Asok is more spacious and comfy. The location is a plus as it is situated near Asok BTS and Sukhumvit MRT. And do not forget it's also close to Terminal 21 shopping complex! You won't be dissaponted.

Helpful?
Thank pyanbest
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Pyanbest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

We are always glad to know our guests are happy and satisfied with their stay. Reviews like yours, helps us to measure our level of service; thus driving improvement where necessary.

Thank you very much for choosing us and we greatly value your continuous support.

See you soon.

Warm Regards,
Vicky, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gold coast Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I am in a wheelchair and i stayed in Tune Asoke BKK from 5-15 April and then 15-25 at Tune Hotel in Pattaya Second Rd.

The staff at the front desk and the cleaning ladies and the maintenence men were all very helpful when i needed assistance. Nothing is a problem they take good care. The disabled bathroom is as good as it gets with plenty of room for transfers, it has plenty of room. The room itself is also much bigger than the normal room size, it is a good entertainer. With a 5-10 min walk to BTS train station , terminal 21 and of course Soi Cowboy, I can highly recommend staying at Tune Hotel BKK. They also have a great meal delivery service from the Black Swan which is great bar/restaurant just around the corner of Sukhumvit Rd. A great place to dine and have a drink at to get the night started.

Tune Hotel is located on second rd Pattaya almost opposite the Big C shopping centre. All the staff were only to willing to help with anything i needed. The big C is a good place with good restaurants, retail shopping as well as market shopping and a super market. The complete package. Also there is a variety of beer bars within 100m, i can highly recommend One Bar Noi. The four steps to get into the bar was no problem with plenty of eager helpers.

I can highly recommend Tune Hotels especially if you need disabled accommodation in Bkk and Pattaya. Service with a smile and both are great locations.

Alan Cowie.

Room Tip: The VIP dissabled rooms are as good as you will get anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Khun Alan,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciated it.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Kind Regards,
Vicky, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is really near to BTS Train station(5 mins walking distance) and there's a shopping mall named Terminal 21 beside the station. It's really convienient for shopping and eat.
It's perfect for friends and couple, wouldn't recommend this hotel to family due to small space.

Booked at agoda with slightly expensive rate than their website and amazingly our stay comes with full-pakcage stay, 24hours aircond, tv and wifi. The full package price from their website is more expensive that what agoda offerred.(agoda do not have any option for this full-package and we assumed it's basic package)

We used 2 devices for one login, but referring to the receptionist it's 12hours per device if you use 2 device but we still can access the wifi for 24 hours for 2 devices !

The receptionist is very friedly and helpful and able to speak english fluently.

Our shower area in the bathroom has been flooded due to poor drainage but it's fixed the next day after complaint made. Thanks for the quick action.

The pillow is too light and flat but the blanket and matress was perfect.

As this hotel is non-smoking building, I would like to suggest management to provide a bench outside the hotel, I'm having a hard time to sit and balance myself on the steel rail while smoking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrieljackvell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciated it.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Kind Regards,
Vicky, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinjarra, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We would be arriving late afternoon and leaving mid morning, so we wouldn’t be needing a swimming pool etc. The positives are; Clean; quiet; very comfortable bed with soft pillows. The new shower arrangement gets a big tick as well. So close to MRT, BTS and Terminal 21. For what we required, it was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciated it.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Kind Regards,
Vicky, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Asia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Location is good. down a quiet soi and close to both BTS and MRT.

Room is good. Bigger than the original tune rooms of a few years ago and was clean and fresh as would be expected of a recently opened property. Staff all good. Knew their jobs and were helpful/

One strange and slightly disconcerting issue was with the red towel holder bags that the room towels come in. at all other Tune Hotels I have stayed at in Asia they actively encourage you to keep them. ( good marketing and their unit cost would be miniscule and bulids brand loyalty) I use them as shoe protectors and stuff sacks for my travel gear. However upon checking out at this particular tune we were told in a very stern and demanding manner that we had to return them. sadly I had already given my ones away to a seamstress I had alter some travel gear the day before so that wasnt possible. was made to feel like a criminal as the frnt desk girl kept of demanding their return. In the end we just walked out and got into the taxi as the issue wasnt going to get solved and it was time to go. Perhaps the owners of Tune Asoke can stop being so keenow or post a sign at checkin that contrary to the policy at every other Tune hotel Asoke branch requires the return of the towel bags.

Other than the above annoyance all good at this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonbg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciated it.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Kind Regards,
Vicky, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in Tune Hotel Bangkok during Songkran Festival. First as I have very bad experience with another Tune Hotel in Penang, I came to Tune Hotel Asoke without high expectation besides reasonable price.

Hotel Tune Asoke as they said, is easy to access, from Suvarnabhumi to hotel is easy. We took air skyline to Phaya Tai and continue with BTS to Asoke. From BTS Asoke station to hotel is close. Hotel is quite in private housing/apartment, food stall/restaurant either Fast Food Chain, Food Street. Hotel is also near to Terminal21 (this mall provide Halal food for Moslem in Food court area)

Room in Tune Asoke is standard with other Tune Hotels but the more friendly. From cleaning lady, front desk to security always give you smile and greeting us. We don't mind to stay back to Tune Hotel Asoke if the price is attractive

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ekalagam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear ekalagam,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciated it.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Comfortable bed and power shower makes Tune is a charm for the ones looking for good value for money.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Kind Regards,
Vicky - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
CityPoint Hotel
CityPoint Hotel
#85 of 858 in Bangkok
1,207 reviews
Silom
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
#139 of 858 in Bangkok
458 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Clover Asoke
Hotel Clover Asoke
#49 of 858 in Bangkok
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
S Sukhumvit Suites
S Sukhumvit Suites
#194 of 858 in Bangkok
857 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#99 of 858 in Bangkok
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok

Property: Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Address: 7 Sukhumvit Soi 14, Sukhumvit Road,, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Tune Hotel Asoke, Bangkok)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 130-room Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok is located in the centre of the capital, allowing guests to enjoy the convenience and comfort of staying in a convenient hotel, close to all key attractions and business centres. The 130-room property is a short walk from the Bangkok Transit System (BTS or Skytrain) Asoke station, the Mass Rapid Transport (MRT or Subway) Sukhumvit station and Sukhumvit Road, providing guests with excellent staging points to explore the city. It is also close to major shopping malls such as Terminal 21, business centres, hospitals and outstanding restaurants. Red Planet Asoke Bangkok has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi (up to three devices), soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing