We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chain hotel but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Ranked #161 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Chain hotel but great location”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel itself is nothing special. Rooms were small but clean, staff was helpful and spoke good English. We booked through Agoda and got a lot of the "extras" included (such as toiletries, AC or WIFI) but otherwise it is necessary to pay a supplement for these.
The best thing about this hotel is for sure its location. It is 100 meters from the Sky Train station Asoke and the metro station Sukhumvit. These stations face a big mall (Terminal 21) with a very nice food court on the top floor. This area is very popular among travelers but the hotel is on a side street and is therefore very quiet. A great place to base yourself if you only need a basic and clean hotel like we do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Sebwv,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

We are always glad to know our guests are happy and satisfied with their stay. Reviews like yours, helps us to measure our level of service; thus driving improvement where necessary.

Thank you very much for choosing us and we greatly value your continuous support.

See you soon.

Warm Regards,
Vicky - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    452
    135
    32
    16
See reviews for
100
219
247
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've stayed in the other Tune Hotels in Malaysia (KL, Kuching and Kota Kinabalu) and this branch is definitely a head above the others.

The room size is bigger, the shower area is less cramped, the aircon is powerful and the room is quiet, despite being only 100m away from a very busy intersection. The room also has 2 multi-socket electrical plugs that accepts plugs from all over the world, so there is no need to bring an electrical plug adaptor.

The bed was comfortable, although I found the pillows a little too soft for my liking. With one pillow, my head was literally touching the bed. I had to use 2 pillows to prop up the head.

In hot and steamy Bangkok, you either bring a truckload of clothes or do laundry. The one big thing that I wasn't too pleased about was how the hotel believes it can get away with overpriced laundry. Unlike Tune Hotel in KL, they do not provide coin-operated washing machines or accept laundry by the load. Instead, like 5-star hotels, they charge by the piece. There is certainly a mismatch between their service proposition of affordable accommodation and their overpriced laundry.

I guess after they've provided value-for-money accommodation, they believe they're entitled to bilk guests for ancillary services. The receptionist pulled out a card with the per piece charges for laundry when I enquired but I didn't bother to look because to launder clothes at per piece pricing would probably cost the same buying cheap clothes from MBK or JJ market.

Fortunately, one doesn't have to held hostage to such practices. There is a laundry shop at Sukhumvit Soi 13 (Hispeed Laundry- Google it) that charges reasonable rates (60B per kg, unironed) and the staff speaks reasonable English. It is a bit of a walk in from the main road, but one trip would probably save you 400-500B.

I was prepared to give 4 stars to the hotel and make this my go-to Bangkok hotel, but it loses one star because of the way it charges for laundry. Until management is more enlightened and treats their guests less like cash cows and more as customers which share their philosophy, Tune Hotel Asoke would not automatically be my first choice hotel in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Save aircon time by turning it on to the lowest temperature setting, the highest fan speed and turni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.

As a limited service hotel brand we focus on high quality bed and powerful shower within a clean and secure environment.

All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

I have picked up some of the areas that are in need for improvements and assure you that we’ll work on ensuring the needful is carried out soon.

We hope to be given the opportunity to serve you better and to be perfectly equipped in making your stay a pleasant experience the next time you come by.

Best Regards,
Vicky - Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Similar to concept of Easy Hotels in Europe, Tune Hotel Bangkok offers no frills comfort at a great price. Room is being cleaned daily by hospitable staff and you can buy basic items (toothpaste, etc.) if you forgot to bring them along during your trip. Lots of good food nearby (local Thai restaurant, Irish pub and Terminal 21 Shopping Mall) and public transportation MRT/BTS are within walking distance (3-10 minutes).

Single traveller should take care of safety when returning to hotel at night as it is situated on a quiet lane which are quite dark at night.

Definitely a gem in the city if you are looking for a short, quiet stay with easy access to all entertainment which BKK can offers!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear ShazChew,

Thanks for the review.

As a limited service hotel, we offer the basic; all that are needed is a comfortable bed and shower for a wonderful slumber experience.

It's pleasure to have guests return with great feedback like yours, and we are happy to have made your stay a pleasant one.
See you soon.

Kind Regards,
Vicky - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Louise, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A very good tune hotel, the location is simply amazing. The rooms were cleaned everyday to a high standard. Though was wondering where the green leafs are to change the bed sheets? the staff at the front desk greeted me every time I walked in and were very helpful. Many cheap places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLight1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear TravelLight1972,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

We are always glad to know our guests are happy and satisfied with their stay. Reviews like yours, helps us to measure our level of service; thus driving improvement where necessary.

Thank you very much for choosing us and we greatly value your continuous support.

See you soon.

Kind Regards,
Vicky - Hotel Manager

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krungthep Mahanakorn
Level Contributor
379 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 967 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

For those familiar with Tune Hotels's concept, this property in Asok should satisfy your requirements. Rooms are larger and more practically designed (note those hangers) than the ones we stayed in KL and Bali. The reception sells water for 10 baht per bottle and the nearby Irish pub can deliver your breakfast-in-bed. For shopaholics, Terminal 21 is 3-min walk away and Paragon and Central World are no more than 4 BTS stops. (But take note that Asok is among the busiest stops so avoid taking the skytrain during rush hour.)

For those never been to a Tune hotel, remember that this hotel operates on a "limited service" business model where everything including TV, AC, hairdryer and towel costs extra. So I don't recommend anyone book this hotel if it costs you more than 500 baht (USD17). (Mine cost less than 200 baht not including AC.) But even if you are broke, it is worth paying for 12 hours of AC. And don't dismiss Terminal 21 as a luxurious mall. The food is dirt cheap and among BKK's best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PORhibido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear PORhibido,

Thank you for your review.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

The hotels offer high standards of cleanliness, 24 hour security, electronic keycard access into rooms, CCTV surveillance, and denies access into the main lobby without a keycard past midnight.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Vicky - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have a satisfied stayed at this hotel.The premises is very clean and the staff are professional and helpful. A great place to explore Bangkok by Sky train or MRT. The hotel is also near the Terminal 21 Shopping Mall, which has a wonderful and cheap food court. But the hotel is located in a quiet and poorly lighted lane. It is advisable to travel in pair at night. Hotel surrounding environment is peaceful and quite, however the walls in the room are thin and you can hear very clearly what is happening next door. There is also no hot water supplied, which is surprising as its London branch provide free hot water if you've your own cup. The hotel charged B$10 for one cup of hot water. Way too much !;(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubai604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Dubai604,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

We are always glad to know our guests are happy and satisfied with their stay. Reviews like yours, helps us to measure our level of service; thus driving improvement where necessary.

Thank you very much for choosing us and we greatly value your continuous support.

Kind Regards,
Vicky - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Let me first start with the most important detail: This is truly a No-Frills style kind of Hotel, in every sense of the word. So if you are new to the No-Frills concept, do read attentively.

I bought the package that comes with toiletries, Wi-Fi and Television. You would think that these very basic amenities would be included but no, they are not, not even the towels! So if you intend not to take the package, make sure you bring your own towels, toiletries and you'll be fine. Also, the TV channels were actually pretty great :-)

Do not mistake this as a bad point!!! This hotel is by AirAsia, Asia's best low-cost carrier and pioneer of the No-Frills concept.The No-Frills concept really rewards the seasoned traveler with significant savings!

Two more things to note:

1) Luggage deposit is at 50 baht per item

2) Check-out time is 11:00am sharp. Additional hours will cost 100 Baht per hour.

(Like I said, No-Frills ;-))

With that said, don't be thrown off! The hotel is actually quite pleasant, albeit a little small. It is truly for the non-fussy traveler who prefers to immerse his/herself in the Bangkok experience, thus spending less time in the room. The bed is surprisingly comfortable (had trouble getting out of it) and the shower room, though without toiletries, is adequate.

I think the location of the hotel is really the biggest draw, you CANNOT get a better location at this price. In fact, I would rate this hotel 3/5 but I added 1 more point for the location. I personally feel that Asoke is the perfect location for anyone who wants to get the most out of Bangkok. It is in the middle of the day-time hotspots (Siam, Chit Lom) and the hot night spots (Sukhumvit, Nana) and even the financial district (Sathorn). The Makkasan Airport Link is 5 minutes away by cab and the BTS and Subway are all within a 3 minute walk of this hotel so commute is really a breeze. In fact, unlike other hotels on Asoke, this one is very nicely tucked into the quiet and charming Soi 14.

Service-wise, they are very No-Frills too. They provide information as and when you need it, but don't exactly go the extra mile if you don't ask them to. Still, nothing nasty about them. They are friendly when you talk to them.

Overall, the best value for money hotel I've ever stayed in Bangkok!

Room Tip: 2 Golden Tips: 1) Request for a corner unit! They are marginally bigger and provide a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank omgitsxav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear omgitsxav,

Thank you for your review.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

The hotels offer high standards of cleanliness, 24 hour security, electronic keycard access into rooms, CCTV surveillance, and denies access into the main lobby without a keycard past midnight.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Vicky - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
CityPoint Hotel
CityPoint Hotel
#87 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Silom
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
#136 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#114 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Hotel Clover Asoke
Hotel Clover Asoke
#50 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok

Property: Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Address: 7 Sukhumvit Soi 14, Sukhumvit Road,, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Tune Hotel Asoke, Bangkok)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 130-room Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok is located in the centre of the capital, allowing guests to enjoy the convenience and comfort of staying in a convenient hotel, close to all key attractions and business centres. The 130-room property is a short walk from the Bangkok Transit System (BTS or Skytrain) Asoke station, the Mass Rapid Transport (MRT or Subway) Sukhumvit station and Sukhumvit Road, providing guests with excellent staging points to explore the city. It is also close to major shopping malls such as Terminal 21, business centres, hospitals and outstanding restaurants. Red Planet Asoke Bangkok has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi (up to three devices), soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing