We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for sleeping and not outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Planet Hotel - Asoke
Ranked #158 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Firstly the location is NOT THAT GREAT because you have to walk down a single lane passing by other residences for a short while before reaching Tune. While advertised to be very near Asok station, in the case of wet weather, accessibility will definitely be a problem. Do not expect taxis to be waiting at your doorstep either. Nonetheless, its just a short walk to Terminal 21, an outstanding and new shopping mall that offers a brand new experience in my opinion.

The hotel lobby is ridiculously small and cramped but rooms are generally clean, tidy and adequate for the average traveller. Considering the price, the hotel is okay but, as with all Tune hotels, you must factor in the additional cost of air conditioning, towels, TV and hairdryer which are NOT INCLUDED in the price you paid for.

I have stayed in Tune Hotels across various parts of Malaysia and this one will NOT be anywhere near the top of the list. Bangkok city is full of hotels (and new hotels are still popping up) and they are many other options for travellers of different budget. Unless one is a great fan of Tune Hotels, one is unlikely to return to Tune because it is a very boring accommodation. I would not want to return because there is no excitement and Tune hotel is NOTHING MORE THAN A SLEEPING PLACE - a significant contrast with the hustle and bustle of exciting Bangkok.

PS: Room service prices from the nearby restaurant are ridiculously expensive. Also note that the price paid for TV has only 10 channels, compared to the 80 channels in a regular hotel.

Room Tip: For Tune hotels (not necessarily in this hotel), some rooms have no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaguar067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Hotel - Asoke, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear jaguar067,

Thanks for the review.

As a limited service hotel, we offer the basic; all that are needed is a comfortable bed and shower for a wonderful slumber experience.

It's pleasure to have guests return with great feedback like yours, I also picked up some of the areas that are in need for improvements and assure you that we’ll work on ensuring the needful is carried out soon.

Kind Rgards,
Vicky - Hotel Manager, Tune Hotel Asoke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Frankly, the location look scary at first when the taxi drive me in. you will find out that actually is really safe with a lot of guards (for individual condo) along the road side. It is good to have a better restaurant nearby which serve best Thai food (always full house). The hotel is new, clean, as many said 5* bed. The hotel staffs were sweet and friendly (especially Mimi)! they might not as experience as other classy hotel, but their smile and help is the best than any other. Tune definitely will be my first choice again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan_Yap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Hotel - Asoke, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Jonathan_Yap,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciated it.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Comfortable bed and power shower makes Tune is a charm for the ones looking for good value for money.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Kind Regards,
Vicky, Hotel Manager Tune Hotel, Asoke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

At Promo price, 100 Baht per night for consecutive 7 nights, I could have not ask for more.

The hotel is clean, comfortable with its *5Stars bed though not so powerful shower, compare to my previous stay in other Tune Hotels in Malaysia. The location is superb, located at Soi 14 - a small quiet neighbourhood, away from the sound of vehicle buzzing. Guest could reach the nearest BTS Skytrain and MRT in just 5minutes. Shopping Mall such as Robinson and Terminal 21 are easily within reach, about 5-10min walking distance, as well. While for convenience store 7-11, about 10-15minutes.

While for room ammenities, WiFi is very speedy and reliable. Flat Screen LCD/LED is available for daily subscription. Though, I wouldn't recommend to subscribe TV as there is very limited English-language Channel. In the case of daily room housekeeping, the staffs did pretty good job in ensuring clean room everyday.

During my stay, I found out that there is issue with plumbing at the Shower area. The water will not drain out normally. In case of long shower, the area will be submerged with water. In another related issue, when turned the Faucet to cold water, the water usually is warm, rather than suppose to normal/cool temperature water.

My fiancee and I indeed enjoy our stays with Tune Bangkok, Asoke. Should there is opportunity in the near future, we will be glad to check-in to Tune.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weirdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Hotel - Asoke, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear weirdguy,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciated it.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

I have picked up some of the areas that are in need for improvements and assure you that we’ll work on ensuring the needful is carried out soon.

We hope to be given the opportunity to serve you better and to be perfectly equipped in making your stay a pleasant experience the next time you come by.

Kind Regards,
Vicky - Hotel Manager, Tune Hotel - Asoke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We booked early and got a very good bargain with full cosy package. Hotel is superbly located in the heart of the city yet tucked away in a quiet and safe lane just 100 meters away from BTS Asoke/MRT Sukhumvit. I had stayed in at least 8 hotels in Bangkok, Tune by far was the best price/quality ratio hotel.
New, fresh, clean, quality beds and bedding, cool air-con, hot rain shower, fast wifi etc , etc. We couldn't possibly ask for more for the price we paid. Many reviewers mentioned about the room size. For about 14 square meters, we thought it was ok. Especially if you have traveled to Tokyo, Hong Kong and many other big cities where hotel rooms are so tiny. Bath room size is spacious and comfortable. I certainly recommend Tune hotel for those traveling on a budget.

Room Tip: Book early for a bargain and request for a higher floor, the view of Terminal 21 is good. Try the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arangemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Hotel - Asoke, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear arangemas,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciated it.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Comfortable bed and power shower makes Tune is a charm for the ones looking for good value for money.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Kind Regards,
Vicky - Hotel Manager, Tune Hotel Asoke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at Tune hotel for 4nights and I felt that it was worth the price I paid for. Booked it through agoda.com and was pretty scared of the size of the room. However, the the size of the room was just nice. Hot rain shower was awesome and the bed was super comfortable. Despite the other reviews regarding the housekeeping, our room was very well-maintained.

Location of the hotel was just a few minutes away from Asok BTS station and it is pretty accessible to any location you want to head down to. Street foods were just along soi 14 and you can order breakfast from the Black Swan (English Pub). We had this "Prata" man that was only available on the 2nd day just right outside Tune Hotel and it only cost me 55 baht for 3 egg prata with milk and 1 plain prata with milk! how cheap :D One taxi was always on standby just right outside Tune Hotel for the convenience of their guests.

Staff wise, we are really thankful to the staffs there for helping us with the directions and facilities not only in Sukhumvit area. I only remember the names of Tanya and May as these two really helped us with the luggages and directions. Overall, the staffs there are pretty well-trained and service quality is pretty good for a budget hotel.

Though we requested for a high floor, we were only given on the 3rd storey. Such a waste but overall, it was a good place to stay in.

We will definitely be back here soon enough.

Note: Try book early. We really paid at a very very good price (:

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellofee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Hotel - Asoke, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Hellofee,

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased to know your liked our welcoming and friendly staff, great location with our affordable price. Our hotel is indeed located in a great area, Asoke, and offers a lot of dining, entertainment and relaxation choices in the immediate area.

Comfortable bed and power shower makes Tune is a charm for the ones looking for good value for money.

It's pleasure to have guests return with great feedback like yours, and we are happy to have made your stay a pleasant one.

See you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Vicky, Hotel Manager - Tune Hotel, Asoke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, in total it was definitely worth the price. The location is perfect, only about 2-3 minute walk from the Asoke Station, easy access to both Skytrain and Subway. Terminal 21 is right across the street.

The room is quite small but enough for a short stay. For a budget hotel, this is more than OK. One thing is that the hotel charges customer for TV, Internet, AC, and Towel. We bookd early when there's a promotion so those are all included, which is really good.

The room was very clean and new. The housekeeping did a great job clean our room on the second day, but we forgot to leave a 20b tip on the third day and when we returned in the evening, the room had not been cleaned, so was the next 2 days even we left more tips and a note. Housekeeping did not went into our room at all. We weren't bothered that much since we spent most of the day sihtseeing and only went back for shower and sleep. But if yu stay there, remember to leave tips.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckylulu515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Hotel - Asoke, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Luckylulu515,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciated it.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Comfortable bed and power shower makes Tune is a charm for the ones looking for good value for money.

All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

I have picked up some of the areas that are in need for improvements and assure you that we’ll work on ensuring the needful is carried out soon.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Ms. Wipawadee N. - Hotel Manager, Tune Hotel Asoke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My opinion:
Pro: Good location, as mentioned by many reviewers.
Con: Staff not so helpful, room TOO SMALL to even walk 'around'-no place for luggage.
If you opt for all amenities, might as well go for full service hotel, as it'll be more expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasontancheeleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_TuneAsoke, Manager at Red Planet Hotel - Asoke, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear jasontancheeleng,

Thank you for your review.

Our hotel indeed has a great location beside the city-wide BTS Skyrain and fast MRT underground train. As we are only a 3 minute walk from both stations, getting around Bangkok is a breeze!

As a limited service hotel, we offer the basic; all that are needed is a comfortable bed and shower for a wonderful slumber experience.

I have also picked up some of the areas that are in need for improvements and assure you that we'll work on ensuring the needful is carried out soon.

We hope to be given the opportunity to serve you better experience the next time you come by.

Book early online to secure the best price.

Best Regards,
Wipawadee N.
Hotel Manager - Tune Hotel, Asoke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
CityPoint Hotel
CityPoint Hotel
#111 of 891 in Bangkok
1,261 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#95 of 891 in Bangkok
948 reviews
Silom
Red Planet Bangkok Surawong
Red Planet Bangkok Surawong
#138 of 891 in Bangkok
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Check Inn Phromphong
Check Inn Phromphong
#208 of 891 in Bangkok
390 reviews
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Hotel - Asoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Hotel - Asoke

Address: 7, Soi Sukhumvit 14, Sukhumvit Road | Khlong Toei, Khlong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Tune Hotel Asoke, Bangkok)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $36 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Hotel - Asoke 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 130-room Red Planet Bangkok Asoke is located in the centre of the capital, allowing guests to enjoy the convenience and comfort of staying in a convenient hotel, close to all key attractions and business centres. The 130-room property is a short walk from the Bangkok Transit System (BTS or Skytrain) Asoke station, the Mass Rapid Transport (MRT or Subway) Sukhumvit station and Sukhumvit Road, providing guests with excellent staging points to explore the city. It is also close to major shopping malls such as Terminal 21, business centres, hospitals and outstanding restaurants. Red Planet Bangkok Asoke has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi (up to three devices), soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Planet Hotel - Asoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing