We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax in Bangkok”
Review of Tara Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tara Place
Ranked #55 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed here several days during my trip through Asia. I am a woman in my 30's, travelling with a friend. Hotel is lovely. Modern and clean. Rooms are nice. Bed is moderately comfortable (all beds in Thailand were pretty firm). There is a safe in the room. Wifi was pretty good (in room, also works in restaurant nearby). Rooms on the rear of hotel are much quieter than those on the road. Perfect location (about 10 mins from Ko San Road). There is a restaurant about 5 steps from the door. Pretty good food. Excellent coffee. Prices were good. There is also a massage parlour just outside the hotel. Great massages (quite unusual from massages in Canada, but still good!). Ask hotel staff to get you a tuk tuk or taxi when you go out in Bangkok. They will negotiate a resonable price for you in Thai with the driver.The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The only downside to this hotel is that the bathroom doors have slats in them and doesn't provide for much privacy in the bathroom. Little awkward when staying with friends. Other tips for Bangkok: Do a guided tour with "Tours with Tong". Great experience! Use public transport with your guide. Also, great shopping at MBK Mall!

Room Tip: Ask for room on rear of hotel. Street facing rooms are noisy and you will need earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineKid80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was a great reasonably priced hotel near the city center. The staff are incredibly friendly, the rooms are clean, there are shower doors, and there is free tea and internet all day long. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethejourney56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Tara Place is a modern hotel and a 10-minute walk to Khao San Road from its location on Samsen Soi 6 (which every taxi driver knows). The scheduled tuk-tuk service to Grand Place, Wat Pho and Khao San is good in theory but we never used it because the times weren't convenient for us (8AM, 10AM to the old city and 6PM for Khao San). It's a 10-minute ride to the old city. To get to Siam Square, we walked 20 minutes along the canal to the Saen Saep Phanfa pier by Wat Saket and hopped on a ferry boat for about 30 minutes. It was fun but not something I'd do every day. Luckily, a tuk-tuk to the pier would be about 60 bhat. Be aware: there is currently a major protest site at the bridge which we had to walk through to reach the pier. We had no problems but it was eerie.

The rooms are large and spotless. The beds are a bit more firm than we are used to in the west, and we found that a room with a double bed was actually 2 single beds joined together, but it was still comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and modern. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel. The service is quick and efficient, with porters which will even hail a taxi or tuk-tuk for you - plenty of them on Samsen Road. As the hotel is set back a bit from the main road, there is no view to speak of in most of the rooms. All rooms have safes. The air conditioning worked perfectly.

We had a great breakfast at its affiliated restaurant every morning which included eggs, juice, coffee and toast. When booking the room, do not pay for the rate with breakfast - it is an additional 250 bhat in advance, but we paid 125 bhat cash at the restaurant. It's very touristy but nicely air-conditioned with a view of the life on Samsen Road passing you by. It accepts credit cards.

The only issue we had was with their ancient iron. Upon requesting one, we didn't notice the rust on it. When it put rust stains on a shirt and I made the staff aware, the employee responded that it was normal since a lot of people used it - and that I should have set the temperature lower. That was not good customer service.

I would stay at this hotel again but never use the iron.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Platna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We(My husband and I) stayed here for three nights in february. The location is superb, a 7 minutes stroll from Khao San road, close to all the action! But the short walk means it's actually quiet enough at night to be able to sleep. The bed was a bit hard, but compared to other beds in South East Asia it's not too bad. Aircondition worked great also, so the sleep quality is great! Tara Place is not a five star hotel, but I just loved the atmosphere and the location. The staff are friendly and polite. Just outside the hotel there is a tourist office. We bought bus tickets to Siem Reap here. Bordercrossing and the busride to Cambodia is well known for scams and problems. But buying tickets at this tourist office saved us from all the hassle. We probably paid a bit more then others, (1000 Bath per person) but the trip was totally hassle free! And we got picked up at the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bimbonemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Lovely new hotel so very clean & modern. It's about a 7mins walk to Khao San Rd. They offer free tuc tuc service to Grand Palace.
This hotel was perfect for us close enough but far enough away.
Wifi at hotel was great. I was room 505 so at the back so did not hear any road noise.
Air conditioning is new but have play around. It takes about 20mims to kick in cold properly. TIP:The number on the machine should match with the number on the control.
Thanks again Tara's Place

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ukjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on two different occasions and love it. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Location is good for those who don't have much time in the city, want to be close to attractions and transportation but not too noisy or hectic. Rooms are super clean with modern decor. Ask for a high floor at the back. I agree with others that having a little nicer place to stay in a hot, busy city like Bangkok is well worth it. There are two vegetarian restaurants within 5 minutes walk. A bonus for veggies and vegans.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank nlkor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Ups:
Good location - Close to Khao San Rd. and close to all Backpackers life
Very Friendly Staff - They are willing to do anything to help you out with your travel worries
Cheap Food All Around - Cheap food and drinks are all around this place
Impressive Interior - Both the hotel and the rooms have a very impressive interior design

Downs:
No exhaust inside the toilette and there are slates in the toilette door which can easily bring the bad odour to the room.
See through window in between the toilette and the bedroom

Conclusion:

For this much price, you will hardly get any place which is close to lots of cheap fun.

When booking your room, make sure you ask for a room at the rear end because if you get a room at the front end, then due to noise from the road, a sleepless night is definitely gonna be your prize.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pakioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#48 of 891 in Bangkok
460 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#65 of 891 in Bangkok
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok Loft Inn
#59 of 891 in Bangkok
1,538 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#96 of 891 in Bangkok
949 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#141 of 891 in Bangkok
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Place

Address: 113, 117 Samsen Rd. | Wat Samphraya, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $42 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tara Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Place is the brand new hotel, where it is located at the perfect area. The hotel is away enough from pubs and bars that ensure your comfortable stay. However, you are able to experience the amazing walking street, such as Khaosan Road and Rambuttri Road, in just 10 minutes walk. We also serve the customers for the free TukTuk to Grand Palace and Wat Pho at the scheduled time. Importantly, our friendly staff make every effort to help the customer enquiries with sincerity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tara Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing