We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Tara Place”
Review of Tara Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tara Place
Ranked #55 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Tara Place”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on two different occasions and love it. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Location is good for those who don't have much time in the city, want to be close to attractions and transportation but not too noisy or hectic. Rooms are super clean with modern decor. Ask for a high floor at the back. I agree with others that having a little nicer place to stay in a hot, busy city like Bangkok is well worth it. There are two vegetarian restaurants within 5 minutes walk. A bonus for veggies and vegans.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nlkor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    506
    71
    9
    5
See reviews for
167
755
78
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Ups:
Good location - Close to Khao San Rd. and close to all Backpackers life
Very Friendly Staff - They are willing to do anything to help you out with your travel worries
Cheap Food All Around - Cheap food and drinks are all around this place
Impressive Interior - Both the hotel and the rooms have a very impressive interior design

Downs:
No exhaust inside the toilette and there are slates in the toilette door which can easily bring the bad odour to the room.
See through window in between the toilette and the bedroom

Conclusion:

For this much price, you will hardly get any place which is close to lots of cheap fun.

When booking your room, make sure you ask for a room at the rear end because if you get a room at the front end, then due to noise from the road, a sleepless night is definitely gonna be your prize.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pakioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baia Mare, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The staff was very friendly and ready to answer all questions from tourists. The location is ideal for Khao San road, for Grand Palace, and for all main tourist attractions in Bangkok. The room was clean, very spacious for this category. The transfer with the tuk-tuk we can see on the picture is real, it works every morning. The breakfast was ok, but if You stay several days, it becomes boring. The wireless internet connection was ok, the only drawback was to reconnect every time You start browsing. Anyhow, we had excellent 5 days in Tara Place Hotel in Bangkok.
Negative: The noise of other (mature) tourist who moved the bed during night-time and bang their doors. But this is not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabor6511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at Tara Place for 3 nights and were really happy with our stay. The entire staff are very friendly and the front desk staff speak great English. They offer free coffee/tea/snacks in the front lobby at all hours, but you can also book with the breakfast option which gives you a free breakfast at a small restaurant/cafe a few steps away. We enjoyed breakfast and especially the coffee (all espresso based). We were on the fourth floor and wifi was strong. The hotel is well situated - less than a 10 minute walk to Khao San Road and maybe a 15 minute walk to a Pier where you can get the ferry/water taxi to other areas such as the Grand Palace or the BTS station (to go onto MBK mall etc). The taxi ride was 3 baht per person. We even walked to the Palace the first time because we weren't sure which boat to take and it wasn't that bad (look for the packed boats with an orange flag). Taxis are cheap in Bangkok and definitely ask the front desk staff for a map of Bangkok. There are instructions on it that you can show the taxi drivers so they'll know how to get to Tara Place. We had to leave at 4am to go to the airport and the front desk was open and getting a taxi was no problem at all. It was 400 baht from the hotel to the airport and at 4am took less than an hour. When you get a taxi from the airport, you have the option of the driver using the meter (which means you pay the road tolls and meter charge) or they will try to offer you a flat rate. Our driver initially tried charging us 450 baht flat but we picked the meter after reading other reviews that suggested it. At around 1pm it ended up costing more for the meter+tolls but not by much (I think tolls were 70 baht and 10 baht). The hotel itself is super clean and newly renovated. We are not luxury high end or extreme budget travelers - we like to book options in the middle - and we were impressed with this place. We had the double bed option but I think it was probably a queen or almost a king by North American standards (this was true of another place we stayed at as well!). A lot of people suggest not spending much on a hotel since it's just a place to sleep, but after walking around Bangkok for 8 hours a day, it's really comforting to return to a decent hotel to shower/chill before heading out at night! Would definitely recommend this place if you're looking to explore museums/palace/KSR/etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impactorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Recently, my husband and I went on our honeymoon to Thailand and Cambodia. We were recommended this hotel, and after checking out Trip Advisor, I booked our rooms. We arrived after a long day of traveling, and were very excited to get to our hotel and relax. We got to Tara Place, went in our room, but even after a few hours, felt hot and sticky. Although the lights were on, the AC was not working. My husband went down and asked the hotel staff to look into it. They came up, fiddled with the remote, turned it off and on, and then placed their hand about an inch from the AC. Then they turned to us, and proclaimed that it worked. Unfortunately, several more hours passed, but the room did not cool down. When we asked about switching rooms, they refused. I wouldn't normally care so much, but we're talking the horrible Bangkok heat here, and AC is essential. If I wanted to stay in a room without AC, I would have paid a heck of a lot less.

Also, regarding the location: There is a certain type of traveler that is called to places like Khaosan Road. Now that my husband and I have grown up a bit (mid thirties), we are not interested in drinking until we puke. Unfortunately, that's the type of clientele that Khaosan caters to. Also, we read the reviews and thought that Khaosan Road was "the" place for shopping -- simply not true. The vendors don't care to bargain and everything is about triple the price you can find almost everywhere else in Bangkok. I would advise looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: I would not recommend booking here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tiffany N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here for a night. I found the hotel very nice, the room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff was very helpful also. Close walking distance to Khaosan Road (about 5 minutes), but far away to be able to have a good night sleep. Wi-fi was working perfectly also in room.
When I go to Bangkok again for night stopover, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBalaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed 9 days... The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Great location close to Kaosan Rd. The hotel provides free tuk- tuk service to the Grand Palace and Kaosan Rd.

Danielle & Steve
Canada

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fou-rires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Bangkok Loft Inn
#58 of 858 in Bangkok
1,494 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#99 of 858 in Bangkok
893 reviews
Klassique Sukhumvit
#76 of 858 in Bangkok
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#32 of 858 in Bangkok
407 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#87 of 858 in Bangkok
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Place

Property: Tara Place
Address: 113, 117 Samsen Rd. | Wat Samphraya, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tara Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Place is the brand new hotel, where it is located at the perfect area. The hotel is away enough from pubs and bars that ensure your comfortable stay. However, you are able to experience the amazing walking street, such as Khaosan Road and Rambuttri Road, in just 10 minutes walk. We also serve the customers for the free TukTuk to Grand Palace and Wat Pho at the scheduled time. Importantly, our friendly staff make every effort to help the customer enquiries with sincerity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tara Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing