We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Friendly staff, Excellent Wifi”
Review of Tara Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tara Place
Ranked #56 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Looking for an nice, affordable and well-located hotel for a first-time trip to Bangkok, I found this gem. Myself and two friends stayed in a 3-bedroom unit for 5 nights recently.

Immediately upon check-in, I noticed a level of friendliness and energy that was beyond any other hotel I'd been to - I was impressed.The staff were young and spoke excellent English, and throughout our stay they were very helpful in providing us with recommendations. They were also quite fun to talk to.

The hotel is located within walking distance to Khaosan Rd, with a 711 and a nice restaurant right next door. We could find a taxi or tuk-tuk just outside typically within seconds. One could take a short walk to a pier to catch a very cheap river taxi that connects to a main train line (the BTS Silom line), via a scenic route during which a few snaps of beautiful Wat Arun could be taken.

The room we stayed in was very quiet, clean and comfortable. Wifi -- one of the most crucial factors for young travelers -- was excellent - fast and reliable. They have two computers that guests can use in the lobby. They even have delicious free snacks and coffee/tea in the morning. They even have their own personalized, specially-designed, family-sized tuk-tuk!

I'll be coming back here again next time I'm in Bangkok.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank iankim87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This was such a nice hotel to stay in! As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by two really friendly men who collected our bags and carried them to our rooms. Hotel was decorated really nicely, the staff were so friendly, everytime you approached the hotel you were greeted with a massive smile and the door being held open for you. Everything about this hotel was great. Exactly what we needed after a long flight! About a ten minute walk away from Koh San Road so got a good nights sleep but it was still close enough so that we could go out. Also loved the fact that they offered you a free tuk tuk to the grand palace as well! Will definitely return here!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last week for 2 nights last week, the hotel is spotless and the rooms have great air con! The beds were comfy and the bathroom was really nice and modern too, there's a cheap mini bar in the room and free wifi. The location is great too, it's a 10min walk to koh San road... Which means you're close enough to get to it on foot but far enough away to get some sleep! The free tuk tuk is really handy to get the palace and it also goes to koh San road if you don't fancy walking or just feel like experiencing a tuk tuk ride! All the staff are really friendly, as soon as you arrive they greet you from your taxi and escort you in while carrying your bag, (which is great after an 11hr flight!) I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Bangkok whether as a stop over or for a long stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurastevo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Lovely experience in a simple, but fully furnished Hotel. Very Clean, Modern, subtle environment. Very courteous & accommodating staff, always with a smile & greeting. excellent location, Away from Hustle & bustle but close enough to main tourist places in that area. Good connectivity by Cab & then Metro to the airport & can even arrange sharing Cab to the airport at fixed times for bigger groups.
Innovative Idea of serving Tea/ Coffee in Lobby instead of room, also serve handy snacks complimentary with Tea/Coffee. Free Wi-Fi & if have breakfast package, its served just outside in a very nice café. Also have a 6 seated Tuk Tuk to drop to nearby places at no extra cost.
Over all a pleasant stay, if get chance to go that side, would surely like to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side are quiet even though the front road ones are not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barrkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Highly recommend going here. I've never met more friendly staff anywhere. Nice location too, near the party on Khao San road but not close enough to be noisy at night. When I neglected to book a room coming back the 2nd time, they helped me find a new hotel and sent me over on the tuk tuk free of charge!

Go here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Clean and nice hotel with lovely and helpful staff located not far from Khao San (10 min walk on Sam Sen Road). Very nice reception area with free biscuits, coffee and tea. We had a very nice room and a beatiful bathroom. Almost 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aiglek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Tara's Place is run by an exceptional staff led by hotel manager, O. We arrived after a long day out and around Bangkok only to discover the hotel was overbooked due to an error on AsiaWeb. O apologized profusely and had arranged for a free Tuk-Tuk ride to a new hotel with a pool and a lower price. She drove with us and ensured we were comfortable and cared for. I would highly recommend Tara's Place. The staff is professional and the entrance is well stocked with freshly baked goods from O's mother's bakery. Don't miss out on a good thing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mnmyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#48 of 896 in Bangkok
471 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#73 of 896 in Bangkok
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok Loft Inn
#59 of 896 in Bangkok
1,548 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#118 of 896 in Bangkok
955 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#173 of 896 in Bangkok
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Place

Address: 113, 117 Samsen Rd. | Wat Samphraya, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $42 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tara Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Place is the brand new hotel, where it is located at the perfect area. The hotel is away enough from pubs and bars that ensure your comfortable stay. However, you are able to experience the amazing walking street, such as Khaosan Road and Rambuttri Road, in just 10 minutes walk. We also serve the customers for the free TukTuk to Grand Palace and Wat Pho at the scheduled time. Importantly, our friendly staff make every effort to help the customer enquiries with sincerity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tara Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing