We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Staff and Location !!”
Review of Tara Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Place
Ranked #56 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is brand new, the rooms are really clean and confortable. The hotel location is excellent, 2 blocks away from Khaosan Rd. but far from the noise and the caos. The hotel Staff is really kind and helpfull and they have a free tuk tuk service to the temples and Khaosan Rd.
The first floor rooms can get a bit noisy, but otherwise this hotel is a a great choice, I would definitely recomend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chango O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Clean and large room. Free tuk-tuk to Palace and Khoasan Road. Would have liked to make my own coffee in the room early in the morning but they do have complimentary coffee in the lobby. Room doors make a loud noise when you close it so in the middle of the night noisy in corridors. They staff also made great suggestions for our first day there and explained on the map. A very good choice for Bangkok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

At about 15 minutes walking from Rambuttri and Kaosan Road.
This is a very nice hotel with spacious rooms and clean bathroom.
The staff is very helpful and speaks English very well.
Breakfast can be taken in the restaurant at the corner of the street.
Minus: the corridors are a little bit noisy by sound reflection.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

In general, the hotel is very new and the rooms really nice. The staff was technically very friendly and helpful. I also liked their free tuktuk service to the Wat Pho and the Grand Palace.

HOWEVER, when we returned in the afternoon to the hotel, I had to find out that some money had been stolen out of my backpack in the room (both Bath and Euro, I put it in there right before leaving the hotel room). Confronting the reception they apologized and promised to watch the CCTV tapes. They did and said they are sorry but on the tapes they can see that only the housekeeping has entered the room. And that was all they said. For me this meant in other words: the housekeeping must have taken the money. In my eyes they completely failed to handle the situation. They at least should have confronted the housekeeping staff...
I did not expect them to refund me, it was my fault to not put the money in the safe but at least they should have taken a bit more action.

Room Tip: One with a big safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aroundtheworldnow89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraPlaceBkk, Manager at Tara Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We have tried to investigate who entered to that room as well as inspected her by checking her belonging. Unfortunately, we haven't found anything wrong with her. Moreover, this is the first lost issue in the hotel. We have already place the warning template announcing that the valuable things should be kept the safety box.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice, clean and friendly place to stay in Bangkok. Comfy beds. The only minus was the breakfast, not much choice, just to start the day - but in this city one have many other options to eat something good on the way, that it was not a real problem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ula2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The place was clean and comfortable with flat screen TV, air conditioning and shower only bathroom. There was complementary tea and coffee and snacks in the lobby. They provided transfers to the Khao San and the Royal Palace at set times. It was quiet and located close to the Khao San Road. It was quite expensive for it was at 1750 baht per night. It is a “flash packer” place.

The staff were not all that keen to help but not unfriendly either. There are better value places in Bangkok than this.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This place is a bit upmarket compared to surrounding places but it is in a good position for getting everywhere and not far from a river stopping point. Hotel tuk-tuk gives free rides to the Palace and Khao San road which are not too far to walk if you can bear the heat and humidity. Good clean room with quiet AC unit and adequate bathroom. Fridge in room with complimentary water and cheap minibar items.
Free tea and coffee in the foyer all day with nibbles and great staff who are very helpful and friendly. Free wifi a bit slow in rooms sometimes but 2 pc's in lobby much faster with complimentary printing.
Would certainly go back again without hesitation. We arrived at around 3am and there were staff on duty who took our cases to our room and were very helpful. We had 3 nights and charged an extra 500bahts to keep the room until 5pm so we could change and shower for a late airport departure which we felt was worth it as the weather was very hot and humid.
Well recommended.

Room Tip: Little noise from traffic at rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#67 of 889 in Bangkok
1,107 reviews
Bangkok Loft Inn
#58 of 889 in Bangkok
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#87 of 889 in Bangkok
941 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#43 of 889 in Bangkok
450 reviews
Klassique Sukhumvit Bangkok
#139 of 889 in Bangkok
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Place

Address: 113, 117 Samsen Rd. | Wat Samphraya, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $42 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tara Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Place is the brand new hotel, where it is located at the perfect area. The hotel is away enough from pubs and bars that ensure your comfortable stay. However, you are able to experience the amazing walking street, such as Khaosan Road and Rambuttri Road, in just 10 minutes walk. We also serve the customers for the free TukTuk to Grand Palace and Wat Pho at the scheduled time. Importantly, our friendly staff make every effort to help the customer enquiries with sincerity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tara Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing