We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“underWhemling!”
Review of W Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Bangkok
Ranked #40 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“underWhemling!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Still at the hotel now, first stay at a W hotel. Must say it's very disappointing. Should have stayEd at to my regular hotels in Bangkok.

Firstly the cab driver have no idea where the hotel is. Wasted time.

Check in was slow. Even though there was no one ahead of me at reception. No welcome drinks, nothing. Not a very warm welcome. I had better service at other bkk hotels.

Room is actually very small for this price range. Tries to be high tech but I still need to manually pull the curtains. seriously??nothing much in the room. No nespresso machine for example. decor is so so.

Definitely doesn't offer much extra. In fact I don't know what extras it offer compared to other 5 star hotels.

probably will never stay in a W hotel after this experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weiyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Weiyang,

Thank you for you feedback.
We have now done a mass campaign to taxis in the city so W Bangkok should be more familiar very soon. The welcome drinks we have set right next to the waiting area in W Lounge. Also the tea & coffee machine is also set in every guestroom.

I will look into all of your comments as all feedback can only help us improve our services .We do have more traditional brands that might be more to your taste under the Starwood when you next return to W Bangkok.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    551
    149
    36
    16
See reviews for
209
781
203
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed there just about six months after its opening but we could find imperfections in the lift lobby and in the room and stain on the toilet floor. This is not the W standard we expected.

We took more than 3 hours attempting to go from Thonglor to W Hotel on a Friday afternoon, because the taxi and tuk tuk drivers as well as the BTS staff didn't know of its location, a helpful local pointed us to the wrong BTS station and the stagnant traffic on the road. That was a painful experience with the luggage on a hot day!

And we notice other W Hotels provide a daily sweet treat but not W Bangkok, a bit disappointed!

Luckily other W elements remain like the smart and beautiful staff, the wow design and yummy food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Michelle C,

Thank you for your comments. We have done a mass campaign to taxis in the city so W Bangkok would be familiar to taxi drivers. I am happy to see that you liked the design and style of the hotel.

I do hope you reconsider when you next stay in Bangkok to stay with us as we are always happy to exceed your expectations.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

It's one of the newest hotel in Bangkok and I'm sure this hotel will be one of the best in bkk, very modern hotel very stylish,clean,fashion,calm & wonderful. The room very comfortable the bed I don't sleep in my life like I slept on this bed you enjoy every minute you stay on mattress my room was a studio room in the28 floor you'll enjoy the view especially from the bath tub or when you take shower and see the city from window. Something happens bother me and made me unhappy but I don't want to talk about it and will not mention it because the way of apologize make me very happy again. The pool is fantastic & I enjoy swimming and enjoy the music under water . The spa wonderful but it's new opening so not all treatment is available but I enjoy too much there,check in chech out very easy I recommend this hotel for every one go to Bangkok

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Motaz1,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the design and ambiance of the hotel.

We looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the W for 3 nights in Bangkok this mid May. I have stayed at many W properties, I travel extensively, usually for work and rarely write reviews. This was my first time to Thailand and at first I thought the friendly, attentive, perceptive staff was due to the Thai culture. However I soon realised it wasn't just the Thai staff that had grace and charm it was everyone. Every person we met at the hotel anticipated your next question, or need. What became clear is everyone who works there from the cleaners to concierge takes pride in their job. They all seem as though they want to be there. The breakfast is one of the best buffets I have seen. The hotel is very new and the rooms great. The location is excellent as it is close to the skytrain. Loved this hotel and kudos to the GM for a consistent superior staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrinax99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Sabrinax99,

Thank you for your great feedback. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.
I will pass your compliment to the Chef regarding the excellent of food experience you had.

We look forward to your return so that we can offer you the same experience.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Rarely do I write hotel reviews... but this place was amazing! I could not get over how warmly I was welcomed (anyone complaining must be coming in with a chip on their shoulder) and to top it off, had one of the best meals of my life at Table... The chicken tajine dish there is second to NONE. W Bangkok, keep up the good work! Will highly recommend....

Room Tip: splurge for an upgrade to a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMAOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi MMAOC,

Thank you for your great comment. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to exceeding all your expectations when you next stay with us at W Bangkok.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at W Hotel on the 8th June for 1 night, Allocated a Wonderful room and it was really wonderful... although the view was not spectacular compared to W Taipei, the service was top notch. Breakfast at The Kitchen Table was good, service again was top class. 1 of the really major negative factor of W Bangkok is its location... it's far from the city area (Siam and Sukhumvit) and really nothing much to do at night over there, except for Woo Bar. The pool is small and nothing spectacular compared to W Taipei again. Curtains in the room are manual, not automated. This hotel is newer than W Taipei but its facilities seemed much older..W Hotel should seriously consider offering complimentary WiFi in its rooms, charging 240Baht per day for its Wireless service in rooms are way too expensive for the rate they charge for their rooms.

Good hotel, but negative factors are HUGE no-nos

*Tip: a road down from W Bangkok is Health Land, awesome place for Thai massage.. better than Away Spa which I tried in Taiwan*

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmylkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi jimmylkw,

Thank you for the feedback.

We look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next stay with us at W Bangkok

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The W bangkok team had made my fiancee and my stay marvelous. I contacted the assistant manager, Pat before the stay and made a request to have my proposal in the hotel room during my 1st night stay. Everything was fantastic from the decorations to the daily surprises provided, which made my proposal a success.

On the 2nd night, the bangkok team surprises us with a complimentary snack which we find very caring and nice of them. Overall throughout our stay, all staff provided wonderful services whenever and wherever we were.

Once again, we will like to "Thank the Bangkok Team" and Pat for the fantastic experience and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jock9432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi jock9432,

Thank you for your great feedback. I can see that your experience was truly a memorable one.
Reading your review put a large smile on my face as this is exactly what we try do for all our guests through our Whatever/ Whenever service culture. I will be sure to pass on your thanks personally to Pat and the rest of the team.

We look forward to your return so that we can offer you the same experience.

All the best,

Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#16 of 868 in Bangkok
4,146 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#14 of 868 in Bangkok
3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 868 in Bangkok
1,980 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 868 in Bangkok
6,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Bangkok

Property: W Bangkok
Address: 106 North Sathorn Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city’s prestigious Embassy Row and pulsating commercial district is the W Bangkok, a stylish icon of Asian chic. Welcome to the new playground of ambassadors, jet setters and fashionistas, a hot destination by the coolest shopping and dining. In our 407 rooms, you’re dreaming sweet in the signature W bed, or lazing in plush bathrobes as you enjoy state-of-the-art entertainment and fully wired technology, the fabulous Munchie Box and our wonderful Whatever/Whenever® service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your W Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing