We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 40's are Back”

Quince - Eatery & Bar
Ranked #127 of 10,966 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The 40's are Back”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

When I walked inside the restaurant, the decoration and music made me feel i'm in the 40's & 50's especially the music they played. I like it very much. It's classy and cozy. The food were great. Roast baby carrot were wonderful, fresh and naturally sweet. My fish steak was nicely cooked, crispy skin and the fish is not dried. Yummy!! They also have lots of cocktail and wine here. I'll definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Posh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    142
    46
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Trendy eatery with great food in Soi 45”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Went her with a colleague who had heard about this new, trendy place. It is a tapas type of place, with plenty of small dishes and a decent wine selection to choose from. Very quick, friendly and attentative service. Busy place when we were there at 7.45pm on a Wednesday in March.

We ordered 7 small dishes, while 5 would have been enough. Croquettes (good), Iberico (very good), pork and chicken terrines (ok).

Definetely recommend the place, very nice ambience and feel to it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yef70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent and interesting menu.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Quince is a lovely dining experience. The food is well conceived and interesting in a very positive way. One real plus is lunch is served right up to dinner so for late lunchers, like me, it's heaven sent. Wonderful sandwiches are among my lunch favorites. Service is informed and graceful.
Pricing is very fair.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bangkok8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food with not so fabulous service!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The reviews and buzz surrounding Quince made it's way up to Chiang Mai, so naturally we had to come and try the place for ourselves. I'd left it to the last minute to book and when I enquired about a table for 2 on the night, we were told they were booked out. So my friend then suggested that we get the concierge at our hotel to book - voila, suddenly a table appears free.

When we arrived, there were several tables empty so I'm thinking 'what's going on?'. The welcome from the waitress was non plus at best, and we were shown to our table in the back section of the restaurant which was not yet set up. Unfortunately, we didn't realise that the election was on, so no alcohol was served at all. They did have an excellent selection of fresh juices and smoothies.

We loved the overall space; I agree with some of the reviews here that the back section does look a bit empty but I personally love the ambience of open, warehouse spaces like this.

The food was fabulous! Really fresh produce cooked simply and cleverly - everything was delicious. We loved the wet roasted chicken, hand cut pasta with crabmeat and the vegetable side dishes were yummy and full of flavour. Reminded me of the food I have missed since living here in Thailand.

We didn't like the service at all. There was no warmth or smiles at all, the manager didn't even say hello to us and you just got the overall feeling that they would rather be somewhere else. Maybe we went on a bad night, but you just don't expect this sort of thing especially here in Thailand where service is second to none.

We'll go back to try it again and hopefully next time, the service will be as good as the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mister7Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanya45, Owner at Quince - Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mister7Star,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We are glad to hear you loved the food and our decor, we have put a lot of heart into the making of it. Sorry to hear that our service that night lacked the very heart we've put in elsewhere.

Saying hello or goodbye and smiling are the fundamentals of this industry and we have reminded our employees diligently. We also try to accommodate the booking arrangements as best as possible so that the kitchen is not overwhelmed with multiple tables ordering at the same time at peak periods, which could result in delays between courses.

Hopefully indeed when you come back, your experience will be perfect.

Sanya Souvanna Phouma
Owner, in charge of Guests Relations and Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday lunch with the family”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

in a city with as many restaurants as Bangkok, it often becomes a challenge to find a place that is just right for an occasion, simply because of the bewildering choices in front of you. This can be especially difficult in the Sukhumvit area, where restaurants are usually packed even on a Sunday.

I thought Quince would be no different, as I read a good review of it on CNN. Surprisingly, the restaurant was not at all busy on the Sunday we went. I would like to think it was due to the timing rather the food, which was outstanding.

We pre-ordered the roast lamp shoulder to share. It was delicious, as were the salads and pasta dishes. You could tell everything was cooked expertly and the produce was very fresh.
My only gripe was with the risotto with its slightly hard Arborio rice, but everything else came out great. The pasta with crab meat was a highlight as was the Canoli dessert.

Service here is among the best in the city. From the constant e-mail communications since reservation to the prompt seating, every step was a breeze. Food came out lightning quick, water was filled without asking and both the Thai and foreign staff were courteous and patient.

I love the decor of Quince, with its floor-to-ceiling glass windows, rustic wood tables and quirky paintings of circus memorabilia. It is on Sukhumvit Soi 45, which is a remarkably peaceful oasis next to the main road. The place draws families with children like ours, so it must be somewhere you can have a family get together in peace. Our lunch lasted nearly 1.5 hours, which showed how much we enjoyed the the restaurant.

Best of all, I thought the food here was not expensive at all - awesome value for money. Most dishes were below 500 baht. I would definitely return again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chattan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quince - Eatery & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Quince - Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing