We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Shadow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shadow Inn
Ranked #945 of 1,387 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Don't expect much. The exterior looks like a prison, the interior isn't much better. In fact prisons are better equipped. Hard to find, and the area doesn't feel safe at night if you're alone. The single room had a bed only, not even a curtain on the window. It was 30 degrees at night and you can't open a window due to security/mosquitoes. The bathroom had no water the night I was there, I discovered after trying unsuccessfully to flush the toilet. Cold water showers only. There wasn't even a handbasin. I moved elsewhere after one night.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 47 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Ok ok. It's dingy n dark and It's rough and ready but hey what do u expect for $5 for single room shared bathroom. Great location between Chinatown and trainstation. Albert the owner is a great guy n extremely helpful and I enjoyed plenty if laughs with him. If your on a budget n don't mind it roughing it check it out

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eoghan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

it was incredibly hard to find. Google maps was wrong so we spent a long time looking for it on the other side of Bangkok. Once you do find it, it's very conveniently located near a 7-11 (corner shop) and a 3 min walk from Chinatown.
The place is quite dirty and very basic. But we're students so we're used to that kinda thing and we're just happy with how cheap it is.
The owner is awesome. We had a few drinks with him in the evening and he was really laid back.
Overall great if you're a student. If you have any kind of class this isn't for you

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgewood007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We didn't expect much for the price, but the reality was much worse than expected.
Disgusting, dirty, it seems that they never change the bedclothes. Fortunately, we stayed there only a couple of hours before the early flight to Yangoon. Very difficult to find, even the people living in the neighbourhood don't know the place. The only advantage was that the taxi driver couldn't find it as well so we didn't pay for the transportation. Don't stay there. It's possible to find better accommodation in Chinatown for the same price

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbarakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We expected the worse for this price but went for a cheap one night stay before taking the train the next day. Location near Chinatown and train station is good. Extremely hard to find though. Staff is nice but doesn't make up for very tiny, dirty, locked in rooms. Common bathrooms are unbelievable as there isn't as much as a sink. Even if you want to save on money, this is beyond bad so just pay a little extra for a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefico_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place is a complete flop house. Let me preface that I wasn't expecting much, given that I wanted a bare-bones place just to sleep because my arrival was at BKK airport was around midnight and I was checking in at my much nicer and more expensive hotel around noon that next day. I figured since I'd only be there for 6 to 10 hours I didn't want to pay my usual $50 USD a day for only a third of a day. . I booked my room from at Shadow Inn through Agodo.com for $6.50. USD.

FIrst off, no one knew where this place was. I had about 8 taxi and airport officials trying to find it's location, so either this place is extremely hidden or thai officials can't read google maps print outs. After 45 minutes of standing around, as my poor taxi driver eventually felt comfortable to leave, we spent another 45 minutes asking tuk-tuk drivers and locals as to the Shadow Inn's whereabouts.

When we finally found the place, there was no obvious check-in desk. Only a side-room with two Indian gentlemen in plain clothing who looked to be quite occupied with facebook. One of them was the "manager" and the other apparently was just a friend. I was escorted tby the manager to my room which was little more than a desk and a bed Which I was fine with. There was only a fan but it was only about 80 degrees fahrenheit so I could handle it. I asked to see the shower which was crawling with ants. I also saw a small lizard which was unsettling. I took a quick shower and went back to my room.

If you look at the mattresses you will notice they are quite colorful, which I found to be unusual. Upon further inspection, I saw that these were children's beds and hard as a rock. I quickly went to bed at about 2:00AM and checked out at 8:00 hoping that my next hotel would allow for an early check-in.

If you do insist on coming here. please copy the phone number from the Shadow Inn's website because the maps and pictures from Trip Advisor and Facebook do nothing for the taxi drivers. I also took the liberty of posting their business card They need to call and be told first hand on how to get there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I made a booking 6 weeks in advance for a double room, shared bathroom. After a night mare and 600 baht later trying to find the place I was informed that they had double booked, so I had to go into a mixed dormitory. I reluctantly obliged only to be put into an unsafe top bunk in a room which was grubby and stank. The temperature in that room was unbelievable, even with a fan blowing directly on to my head. After deciding to check out the following day I tried to get some sleep, only to be awoken by a rat!!it was running around the roof!! There was a small whole above my head in Which the rats nose protruded! Being a veterinary surgeon I am certain that this was a rat!! I checked out immediately with no refund. Not the start to my 4 months in thailand heading a spay project in one of their leading animal sanctuaries. I strongly advise that this is avoided!! Shambolic

Room Tip: First time travelling alone? Always read reviews, also book through booking.com as cash paid on arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,750 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#86 of 891 in Bangkok
2,804 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 891 in Bangkok
4,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Inn

Address: 550, Soi Vanich 1 | Sampanthawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #945 of 1,387 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $10 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shadow Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
@Shadowinn is located just across the street from Bangkok Railway Station and the metro, near Chinatown, the impressive Wat Traimit and a number of shopping centres. Hostelworld guests say they recommend this hostel 'especially for those catching the overnight train from Hua Lamphong station'. This very clean, friendly hostel features quiet room and a good, inexpensive restaurant onsite. We like that they have a shower guests can use to freshen up after check-ou ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shadow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing