We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GM Serviced Apartment
Ranked #500 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great new apartment style hotel, in a good location near plenty of bars and restaurants yet at the end of the Soi so is quiet. Walking distance to Asok BTS, about 10 mins or so. Very handy if you want to cook something as has fully equipped kitchenette. Has televisions in both the bedroom and sitting room with plenty of English channels. Lovely pool but has limited number of sunbeds (6 when we were there) though we never had to wait too long before one became available. Breakfast was fine, eggs cooked to order but could be improved for vegetarians. Staff very helpful and friendly, provided us with a welcome drink of water and presented us with a gift of two cushion covers when leaving as a New Year gift. Would have no hesitation in staying here again at current rates.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodge1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 17 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

The building is almost brand new. Nice and comfortable entrance and reception area. Tastefully furnished apartment, equipped with flat screen TVs, DVD player, modern kitchen and washing machine plus dryer.

Cozy pool area, but closely surrounded and overlooked by the neighboring buildings. I found it too crowded most of the time.

Service: Most staff seem to have little or no experience in the hospitality industry. I was particularly taken by surprise with the attitude of the reception staff: Three days in a row, my room was cleaned only in the late afternoon. On days two and three, I asked in the mornings to have my room cleaned earlier. It never worked. When I complained about it one day at 4pm, the Indian receptionist first asked me if I had switched on the “please make up room” light. Yes, I had. But even if I hadn’t, it should be enough that I asked his colleague in the morning to take care of it. He explained in a rather unfriendly tone that the cleaners were going to come later since they were doing other rooms first.

Cleanliness and housekeeping: Streaks and smear on glass doors, remains of cleaner fluid and dried water drops on water taps. Dishes and cutlery in the kitchen were not put back in the drawers or cabinets, but just left lying next to the sink – with stains and some food left on them (I uploaded some pictures so you can see everything for yourself). A kitchen towel or cleaning equipment was also not provided. One day a bottle of orange juice fell over in the fridge, but the housekeeping did not clean it. Things like complimentary instant coffee, sugar or cotton buds were not replaced and empty water bottles not removed, towels and a floor mat not exchanged and a bathroom not cleaned.

Breakfast is horrible. The small breakfast room looks like a school canteen. Two middle-aged Indian women are in charge of the food, and there is only one helper to clean the tables, which is not enough. Dirty dishes on most tables, and people lining up for a seat. Food didn’t look good, so I decided to have breakfast outside (for a good European or American style breakfast I recommend “Bei Otto”, which is just a 5 minute walk away, also on Soi 20).

On the last night the aircons all stopped functioning in the middle of the night. The electrical system in the room is anyway a bit crazy. When you insert the key card, all lights turn on and you have to turn them all off again separately in each room.

Like one of the previous reviewers already wrote, this property lacks professional management and is in danger of quickly deteriorating, because it is not taken care of properly. I also can’t imagine that many guests are willing to put up with the poor service that I experienced.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeniesserSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Firstly, the other reviewers are correct in saying that the building is new, the rooms are large, bright, modern etc and the property is great value from that perspective. My issue is that the employees here all seem to not really know what they are doing and as such over time the place will fall into disrepair. For example, despite being a new building we had issues with drainage in the shower (it was clogged with previous tennants hair etc.) which resulted in a bad smell in the bathroom as well. The airconditioner stopped working because the filter was clogged. These are things that wouldn't go wrong in a 5-star establishment because they would be checked. Also, the apartment is not really what I would call "serviced". There is no washing detergent for the washing or dishwashing machine, or for the sink. There are no washcloth's, dishtowels etc. When we asked the management for these things they told us to go buy them - not good enough.

To the owners/operators: It's hard to give great service if you yourself have never received great service. I suspect this is the issue with the staff here. Please spend a bit more money, bring in an experienced european/western hotel manager who can provide training and mentoring over the course of the next year because this could be a top 30 establishment in BKK with a bit of investment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeterJForster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have travelled around the globe and cannot find anywhere as good as this apartment. The apartment is brand new and rooms are larger than hotels around the area.

We spend 5 nights and had a great time, will definitely be back again next year

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaisachdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place is extremely clean, new, great staff, great Tuk Tuk service and overall a great stay. I will put this place in the 5 stars. The swimming pool is clean and the lights are a great asset to make the place beautiful. We stayed there for 4 nights and every nite that we went to the swimming pool was empty! The breakfast is not that great but the decor of the rooms and the cleanliness makes it all worthy! I will recommend this hotel to any one that wants to have a quiet holiday. There are some restaurants around the area but at night gets a bit crowed..... over all excellent, one of the best places I've stayed in Thailand.

Room Tip: The studio is great for a couple, the 2 bedroom is huge seriously! and beautiful with oven and washi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaFabysinHongKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The room are nice and bright. It is spacious and brand new. Facilities are excellent. Would recommend people to stay there especially with families.

The atmosphere around swimming pools are so different especially with the lighting that they used. Enjoyed a nice dip in the hot jacuzzi pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dharam80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tror de flesta är ok, men som alltid kolla på rummen och är ni inte nöjda be att få se ett annat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#490 of 891 in Bangkok
49 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Connex Asoke
The Connex Asoke
#508 of 891 in Bangkok
21 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ruamchitt Travelodge
Ruamchitt Travelodge
#641 of 891 in Bangkok
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Grand 5 Hotel & Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GM Serviced Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GM Serviced Apartment

Address: 47 Sukhumvit Soi 20, Sukhumvit Road | Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #500 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $68 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GM Serviced Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GM Serviced Apartment is a newly open new generation residence, located at Sukhumvit Soi 20, a quiet residential and yet one of the city’s busiest shopping and business areas, conveniently situated within a short walking distance from Asoke BTS & Metro train stations. GM Serviced Apartment offers a high-quality serviced accommodation providing our customers with hotel-standard comfort within the ambience of a private residence, meeting at a fraction of the cost of a hotel. We provide the high standards required by discerning families including embassies and expatriate CEOs of multinational corporations as we specialize in providing a range of furnished luxurious accommodation to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your GM Serviced Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing