We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & Very Different!”

Steve Cafe & Cuisine
Ranked #120 of 10,782 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Dusit
Description: On Steve Café & Cuisine Steve Café & Cuisine, we are Home Made Style and not serving like 5 star hotel or Big Restaurant that can be fast cooking for you and we are building atmosphere feel like you are dinning from Grand Mom cooked for you. So we are hoping you understand us with enjoin our Original Thai Food.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Unique & Very Different!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just loved this restaurant even though it was a real journey to find it. The setting was great on the river, the food was superb, the price was excellent, the service was good & the overall experience will take us back again & again.

I love Thai food and this was very good Thai food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Celebrate2Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Steve Cafe & Cuisine, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Our Value customer

We would like to thank you for your visited our Steve Cafe' & Cuisine also your comment we are looking forwards to welcome you again soon

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    169
    48
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sublime!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

As a fellow Steve, what better place to celebrate my 50th birthday during our return visit to Bangkok after a 10year absence than in my namesake restaurant! Together with our best friends and two sets a kids we were a party of 10, and we couldn't have chosen anywhere better: it was universally agreed at the end of our trip this was possibly the culinary highlight. Despite the western name, this is authentic Thai! And the place was full of Thais. Particularly good were the wing bean salad (v spicy), the somtam, and the plaa neung manau (steamed whole fish with lemon, chilli and garlic), but frankly everything we chose was great. One really good thing was that they kept a constant flow of dishes coming during the meal rather than bringing everything at once, which helped you appreciate each dish more. The waiter deserves a special mention: he was delighted we were making an effort to speak Thai and helped us understand each dish better, and was excellent throughout. My contact with the restaurant by email before our trip was efficient and friendly. Can't recommend it highly enough. As previous travellers have commented, you probably will end up having your taxi driver speak to the restaurant by phone, because even if they say they know where it is, they almost certainly won't! So carry the restaurant phone number with you when you get in a taxi.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Campoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Steve Cafe & Cuisine, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Our Value customer

We would like to thank you for your visited our Steve Cafe' & Cuisine also your comment we are looking forwards to welcome you again soon

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLAINFIELD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Getting to this fine outdoor restaurant requires a trip through a labyrinth of streets and alleyways (the driver will know the way), but you arrive at a relaxed, comfortable and first rate dining experience. Very highly rated (make a reservation), Steve was unpretentious and welcoming. In fact, we were welcomed by Steve, who, at the end of our meal, walked us to the cab we'd asked him to call, and gave the driver instructions to take us to our destinations.
By the way, the food was very good. Well worth seeking the place out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LEPTANDRUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Steve Cafe & Cuisine, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Our Value customer

We would like to thank you for your visited our Steve Cafe' & Cuisine also your comment we are looking forwards to welcome you again soon

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ha Noi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great combination of delicious food and nice river view”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Getting to Steve is quite easy for us as our taxi driver know the destination quite well.
At first, we feel very good with Steve's hospitality, with nice view of the table that he saves for us.
Then we have some dishes including Tom Yum Kung, which is better than what we had many times at other restaurants.
Steve even gave a good recommendation dishes for our ten months old boy, which he quite enjoy.
All the dishes are great, but we can not remember their names.

Helpful?
2 Thank TuanJun
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steve R, Owner at Steve Cafe & Cuisine, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Our Value customer

We would like to thank you for your visited our Steve Cafe' & Cuisine also your comment we are looking forwards to welcome you again soon

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It is actually easy to find. At the end of the main road there is a small extension leading to some temple buildings which are signposted. There are actually several buildings on either side of the main path. Then when you come to a t the right is partly blocked so you go left and it is clearly visible down an alley leading to the water.
We didn't have a booking but were soon shifted to a riverside table.
The food seemed good and the view and atmosphere great. A taxi there is cheap so it is well worth it.
Incidentally the name is an anglicisation of the thai owner's middle name so don't be put off by that. He said he aimed to provide a home experience. I think he succeeds in a great setting at a very reasonable price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank contessa_owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Steve Cafe & Cuisine, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Our Value customer

We would like to thank you for your visited our Steve Cafe' & Cuisine also your comment we are looking forwards to welcome you again soon

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steve Cafe & Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Steve Cafe & Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing