We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and delicious! Great view of huge catfish and overlooking the river!”

Steve Cafe & Cuisine
Ranked #172 of 11,272 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dusit
Description: On Steve Café & Cuisine Steve Café & Cuisine, we are Home Made Style and not serving like 5 star hotel or Big Restaurant that can be fast cooking for you and we are building atmosphere feel like you are dinning from Grand Mom cooked for you. So we are hoping you understand us with enjoin our Original Thai Food.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We wanted some authentic thai seafood dishes and Steve's came out...after reading it was #5 on TA we were sold! Had the crab coconut curry which was so tasty with lots of crab meat! Also had the fried noodle with seafood that was very tasty! Would recommend but it is difficult to find so look it up before you leave.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travelbug12288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Steve Cafe & Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Our Value customer

We would like to thank you for your visited our Steve Cafe' & Cuisine also your comment we are looking forwards to welcome you again soon

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 394 of 583 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited here out of curiosity as it was ranked #5 in all of Bangkok.

I reserved a table via email in the morning and received prompt confirmation - very efficient. We took the orange line boat up to the nearest stop (which seems to be a local fish market or something - there were buckets of fish everywhere and it stank!) and with it being dark it felt quite intimidating walking through the fish market and out along the quiet backstreets to get to the restaurant. In fact, the last bit of the walk was through a very dark alley with rubbish everywhere - not a nice experience at all.

On arrival at the restaurant we received a warm welcome and were talked through the menu. The menu is vast and there are lots of pictures (I normally take this as a sign that the food will be terrible, but in this case they are an exception to the rule) and they will tweak any dish to be as mild or as hot as you like.

Food was good - not excellent but not bad - I'd say a decent local restaurant quality. There was no choice in wine - you could have either red or white - and it wasn't very nice.

Every item we ordered came out as it was ready, and not in order. My wife ordered a curry and rice. The rice came out 5 minutes before the curry (so she could either eat the rice and have none left when the curry came out, or wait and eat it cold with the curry!) and I'm pretty sure one of my main course dishes arrived before the starter!

By the time we finished, it was around 10pm and we really didn't want to walk through the dark alleys again and try to find a taxi back to the hotel (the boat service finishes at 7pm). The owner very kindly booked a taxi for us and even walked us to to it when it arrived, which was a lovely touch.

Overall, I'd sum up by saying this is a nice little place for an impromptu lunch if you're nearby (although unlikely as it's so far out of the way!) but definitely not worth making a special trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ukhotelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Steve Cafe & Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Sir

Thanks so much for your visited our restaurant and thank you for your value comment.

Normally we did not recommend our guest walk from or to the pier during dark because of walking way is very small but talking about every fresh market in Thailand you will meet local life as you mentioned!! and because of the location it is in Old Town and out of the center (Silom, Sathorn, Sukhumvit) and most of tourist always stay in center area that why it seem to be far from your place but if you are looking for Special set up or high class restaurant then we have to say sorry on that because of Steve Cafe' & Cuisine we are just a normal local Thai restaurant by the river but talking about Thai food we are very confidence that our Thai food are very local and originally Thai style as many Thai people been here because of this reason.
We are looking forwards to have chance welcome you back here again in the future coming and I am recommend next time of your visit Bangkok please try to stay in Old Town by the riverside because of you will be close to Grand Palace, China Town, Khoa San road and easy to get to Steve Cafe' & Cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were staying nearby and after seeing the reviews on here, we decided to give it a try.

It wasn't too hard to find, although you get to a bit near a wat and think 'it can't possibly be here'... But it is! It's tucked away down a small alley, right next to the river.

The restaurant is cosy, there's a real family touch to it. It was fairly busy, with most of the patrons being Thai, which is obviously a good sign.

The food was delicious... I would recommend the deep fried prawns with tamarind sauce... Truly one of the best things I've ever eaten. The green Thai curry was also divine.

We were especially impressed by the service. Wan was a great waiter...attentive and very friendly, so a big thank you to him!

This place is definitely worth the journey!

Thank gaby0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Steve Cafe & Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Our Value customer

We would like to thank you for your visited our Steve Cafe' & Cuisine also your comment we are looking forwards to welcome you again soon

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Caught the express river boat today up the Chao Praya to Thewet pier and found the restaurant reasonably easily via the instructions on the restaurant web site (turn left on a bridge over the khlong about 100m from the pier, walk through the Wat then down a small alley way to the river (anyway, you can see the restaurant from the pier, its right next door, its just that you cant get there directly). we arrived about 1:30 and there was only one other table busy, which we thought was a bit odd, given the wraps for the joint. Not to worry a couple more tables of farangs turned up soon enough.

Very extensive menu and eventually went for the spicy lemongrass salad to start, and kai hor bai toey (chicken in pandanus leaves) and Pla Kapong Neung Manow (steamed sea bass in lime, chili, coriander and garlic). The restaurant doesn't look much to start and the location is none too salubrious, but got to say the food was great. Very tasty and staff were great as well. All washed down with a few singhas. We love Thai food (lived here many years ago) and this was a very good food experience. How better to relax on a Sunday afternoon than with an outlook that let's you watch the rythym of Thai life before you on the river.

Oh, strolled back to the pier and bought a bag of stale bread for 20baht to have fun feeding the thousands of catfish in the water around the pier!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mjshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Steve Cafe & Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Our lovely customer

We would like to thank you for your visited our Steve Cafe' & Cuisine also your comment we are looking forwards to welcome you again soon

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Getting there is half the fun. Take the boat up the river to Thewet pier. Stroll through locals feeding catfish at the jetty, round to the back of the shops and villas and you get to your riverside table.
Cuisine is honest good local cooking, served by an enthusiastic team.
Get a table outside and do it for dinner. Arrive just before sunset for a nice breezy time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank confucius73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Steve Cafe & Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Our Value customer

We would like to thank you for your visited our Steve Cafe' & Cuisine also your comment we are looking forwards to welcome you again soon

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steve Cafe & Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Steve Cafe & Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing