We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellently cooked food, nice ambiance but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elements

Elements
Ranked #139 of 10,153 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Elements restaurant represents a new generation of lifestyle dining by catering to cosmopolitan guests seeking gourmet food and an exceptional atmosphere without the restraints of traditional fine dining. Elements offers an intimate and engaging dining experience. The open kitchen gives diners an 'up close and personal' feel for the skills and expertise of our skilled chefs - creating, a culinary theatre at the very heart of the restaurant. The wide selection of à la carte dishes at Elements embraces French cuisine with Japanese influences. The menus at Elements are refreshed regularly to take full advantage of the freshest available produce from Thailand and carefully selected international sourced markets. The new menus include a special Rossini menu dishes created by Executive Chef, Antony Scholtmeyer, such as tuna medallion, roast loin of veal and fillet of Wagyu beef served with foie gras and black truffle sauce. These main course prices start from Baht 750++. Elements is a popular venue for chefs of international renown. Over the past three years Elements has welcomed leading Michelin star chefs from some of Europe's top restaurants and more guest chefs are set to cook exclusively for guests at Elements in 2016. Terrace Bar Sipping cocktails under the stars at Elements terrace is a truly memorable experience. Our mixologists have created a number of cocktails served only at Elements and sipping your drinks al fresco at the Terrace Bar is the perfect prelude to an unbeatable dining experience at Elements. Chef's Table The Chef's Table is located in the most dynamic area of the restaurant close to the open kitchen where guests have direct contact with the restaurant's highly-skilled chefs. Sommelier Marc Bittner is pleased to recommend distinctive wines to accompany each course. Wine cellar and more Choose from over 300 labels of boutique and exclusive wines, outstanding Champagnes from France's top houses and a menu of modern, imaginative cocktails. Décor The interiors are a spectacular blend of raw materials, rusty metal plates, charcoal walls and hardwood surfaces flanked by a bold al fresco cantilevered deck that overlooks the vibrant city skyline.
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellently cooked food, nice ambiance but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The food that our party (4 people) had was very good. The staff were very helpful and some of the deserts were sersiously good. It is very pricey though compared to other restaurants but you get what you pay for. I would go here again for a client dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Businesstravellerr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine P, Food and Beverage Manager - The Okura Prestige Bangkok at Elements, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Dear Businesstravellerr8,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Since your last visit we have a new Chef and we have redeveloped the menu to feature French Cuisine with Japanese Influences.

Recently we have received many positive reviews on our new cuisine and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to taste the difference at Elements.

Best regards,

Antoine Périé
Food and Beverage Manager
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    33
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well presented and tasty food, good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I had dinner at Elements with my wife on a Wednesday night. The restaurant was pretty empty, only 2 more couples were dining. The first impression was not brilliant, since there was no staff present when we entered the restaurant, but just a minute later we were escorted to our booked table. The service afterwards was very good, just a bit too close and almost waiting to clear and serve the next dish.
We ordered the 8 course set, which seemed to be good value for the products used - 3500 THB per person for lobster, foie gras, king crab etc. The food came without delay and all of the courses were well prepared and properly seasoned. My least favorite was the dory fish with fennel and razor clam, the best dish was probably the excellent cooked beef tenderloin and tongue with Thai blossoms.
The only negative thing i would like to mention was the dusty window corners and the spiderweb at the lamp in front of our table, which disturbed the otherwise excellent view.

Overall a n enjoyable evening, with good - value for money food and decent service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SomedayDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine P, Food and Beverage Manager - The Okura Prestige Bangkok at Elements, responded to this review, March 13, 2016

Dear SomedayDiner,

Thank you for sharing your review through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food.

Since your last visit we have a new Chef and we have redeveloped the menu to feature French Cuisine with Japanese Influences.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Elements, when you return to Bangkok in the future.

Best regards,

Antoine Périé
Food and Beverage Manager
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
“Promising !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Lucky us. My wife & I had the chance to experience a Degustation menu at Elements !
Let alone, the setting, the view, the quality of the materials and... elements surrounding you - all superb - let's just get to the point :
The cuisine offered by the Chef is probably the best Western food in town and among the best we've experienced on the Asian continent. Balance in flavors and textures, surprisingly good quality products ( surprise as I know that is hard to get certain items ) and very accurate cooking, seasoning and presentation.
There is thought behind each dish, in terms of the dish itself but also in terms of its position in the whole menu. Even the chocolate dessert was playing with bitterness and acidity in order to avoid the "heavy" feeling you sometimes get in a tasting menu...
After speaking with Cyril Cocconi - that's him - and discovering he has worked with world-renowned Robuchon, you understand better where the skillful cooking comes from. But there is no reciting the classics here. In fact, you can tell the guy has gone beyond the teachings of the master and is creating his identity... with sensitivity and definitely a great desire to make you enjoy the experience.
Service is working hard on transmitting the passion & ideas.

"Modern & Logical" is what's mentioned on the menu !
To this I'll add : Sensitive and Masterful.
So long chef, we'll be back ASAP.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xrrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine P, Food and Beverage Manager - The Okura Prestige Bangkok at Elements at Elements, responded to this review, March 7, 2016
Dear xrrichard,

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit at Elements.

Since your last visit, we have a new Chef and we updated menu to feature French Cuisine with Japanese Influences.

Thank you again for choosing to visit Elements and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Antoine Périé
Food and Beverage Manager
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“For a special occasion ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Definitely the place to go for a special occasion. Beautiful decor, it remind us a private cruise, atmosphere. We were sitting on a table for 2 next to the window overlooking the city. Very comfortable chair and it's important as we spend almost 4 hours there!
We went both with a different set menu of 5 courses with the wine pairing. I will not describe all the dishes but they were all outstanding. The langoustine appetizer and the Cod dishes were my favorite. We are going back for our anniversary next month and I will pick again for sure the 5 courses menu except, we will order a bottle of wine as the wine pairing was too much for me.
Very good service and also very quiet service : the place was full (maybe 20 tables) but it is not noisy at all. Its again, very cosy. Great for date

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mariebkkth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine P, Food and Beverage Manager - The Okura Prestige Bangkok at Elements at Elements, responded to this review, March 7, 2016
Dear mariebkkth,

Many thanks for your kind words and review of Elements.

We are honored to hear that we have been able to make a great 5 courses with wine.

Since your last visit, we have a new Chef and we updated menu to feature French Cuisine with Japanese Influences.

Thank you again for choosing to visit Elements and we look forward to the next occasion where we can create another experience with you.

Yours Sincerely,

Antoine Périé
Food and Beverage Manager
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food and high prices!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

On a Friday I had dinner with 2 friends there. The restaurant was very very empty what is the first sign thats not very popular. We had 3 different starters and main courses. The presentation of the fusion food was very good but it just does not take good. Fusion food have to be something like A and O. Wow. But it was below average hotel food. Also the service was very unprofessional. When we ordered our food we ask for hot towels (its also a shame that you have to ask) but we only get one delivered. So we need to ask again. Also they don`t refill the water (from the bought bottle) without a ask for it. Compering the quality and the service with the very high price its a no go. First and last visit I think.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank arneworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine P, Food and Beverage Manager - The Okura Prestige Bangkok at Elements, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Dear macarne,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with the online travel community.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if I may be of any assistance - antoine.perie@okurabangkok.

Since your last visit we have changed our menu to feature French Cuisine with Japanese Influences and do hope to welcome you back soon to taste the difference at Elements.

Antoine Périé
Food and Beverage Manager
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elements also viewed

 

Been to Elements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing