We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have been many times and Sole Mio never disappoints.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sole Mio

Sole Mio
Ranked #413 of 10,625 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Thong Lor & Ekamai
Description: A friendly warm House with garden and outdoor terrace.A wide range of italian wines and beers. Traditional Italian Cousine. Home made pastas and breads. Whole wheat and Hemp Pizzas.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Have been many times and Sole Mio never disappoints.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I am in Bangkok often and make it a point to have lunch and dinner at Sole Mio. I'm never disappointed. Ask for Armando's signature pasta.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darrell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    38
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
“Italian food & fun at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

First of all, I have to say I'm Italian, so my review might be affected my homesickness. I have been enjoying Italian food all over Asia in the past 20 years and the one thing that had always surprised me is that it's difficult to find the right atmosphere. Italians eat out (away from their mama's home cooking) to enjoy good food, yes, but also to gossip and joke with the owner, to mingle with other people, to drink plenty of good wine. In many Italian restaurants in Bangkok the food and the service are close to perfection, but the atmosphere is somehow too formal, almost stiff, definitely not really Italian; hence, less fun. Sitting at Sole Mio is exactly like being in a friendly 'trattoria" in Italy, where you know the owner and some other customers and the food might be simple, but made with top quality ingredients. How do I know that? Because even after a large meal, you don't feel heavy for the next 12 hours! So I would recommend Sole Mio to people who want to enjoy a real hearty meal in true Italian style. If you go, spend a moment to get to know the two guys running the place (Armando & Domenico), and most importantly have fun, relax, enjoy the food, the place and the people. About the food: the pizza is probably the best in Bangkok, light and tasty. The tuna tartar is to die for. Spaghetti allo scoglio are also a must try. Wines: I would recommend going for a bottle rather than choosing the house wine, as the wine menu is adequate and fair-priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lorenzo666_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average food, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Minestrone soup bland and stingy
Tuna carpaccio all I could taste was olive oil
Seafood pasta was good, fresh calamari, prawn and mussels
Salami and olive pizza had a good thin crust but for 260 baht I would say that the taste did not correspond with the price
While the waitresses smile all the time, they do not check on you for more drinks, for parmesan, for black ground pepper, for anything. You always have to put your hand up to call them. The owner looks more interested in mooching about interacting with guests than service. Many times he walked past us without clearing anything from the table. Starters plates were empty long before mains arrived yet the dishes sat there til the end of the meal. We were not once asked if we need more drinks even though our glasses were empty for ages. They then have the cheek to add 10% service charge for the "service". Won't be returning.

Helpful?
2 Thank whitebobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We can only echo what everyone else has said!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent food, friendly service, great price and lovely atmosphere and a warm and welcoming host who came to chat to us at the end of our meal. Nice little touches like bringing out homemade bread to the tables for no extra charge, even if you want more and a limoncello shot at the end of the meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Em2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“original italian experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

best pizza we had so far in bangkok! nice ambient, nice staff. just a great experience! thank you guys!

very nice experience. owners are still present and they tried to entertain/talk with all their guests. owners are truly italians. other stuff is thai. we ordered half liter of white wine but we got red wine and it was okay for us. after a while the stuff noticed it by themselves that they made a mistake and came to us feeling so sorry and where bringing a new white one! nice!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toberho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sole Mio also viewed

 

Been to Sole Mio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing