We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“original italian experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sole Mio

Sole Mio
Ranked #415 of 10,627 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Thong Lor & Ekamai
Description: A friendly warm House with garden and outdoor terrace.A wide range of italian wines and beers. Traditional Italian Cousine. Home made pastas and breads. Whole wheat and Hemp Pizzas.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“original italian experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

best pizza we had so far in bangkok! nice ambient, nice staff. just a great experience! thank you guys!

very nice experience. owners are still present and they tried to entertain/talk with all their guests. owners are truly italians. other stuff is thai. we ordered half liter of white wine but we got red wine and it was okay for us. after a while the stuff noticed it by themselves that they made a mistake and came to us feeling so sorry and where bringing a new white one! nice!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toberho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    38
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent food but service a little shaky!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Enjoyed lunch in this restaurant with my wife and parents. Quality of food was extremely good but as with several restaurants we visited in Bangkok the service was best described as shaky!
Nice location in Thonglor and extremely nice authentic Italian food with a nice selection of wine at extremely competitive prices.

All in all a great experience just slightly let down by the sporadic waitress service.

Great cooking!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stuart1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very good italian food and friendly owner and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

First time experience in this restaurant. Recommended by our hotel. They served excellent food for reasonable prices. And the owner opened a whole bottle just to give me a glass of something extra from his part of Italy. Not easy to find but remember to bring the telephon number to the place so driver can call. Well worth the trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stisse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
224 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Also we have know many good italian in Bangkok we decided to try the top italian according to trip advisor.
The food was not even close to average, the pizza had a funny taste, the rocket had no taste, the pasta either too heavy or too dry. The tiramisu was ok but the panacota very chemical.
We were not welcome when we entered the restaurant. There was either an italian chef or manager who was coming talking to the table but he never stop to say hi. Beside him the waiter was professional.
The limoncello with the bill was a nice gesture though.
The atmosphere is typical of an italian

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank marcnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stein am Rhein, Switzerland
Level Contributor
263 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Really excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

All the traveller giving this restaurant an excellent review are with no doubt really right. Most probably the best italian (the owner is a real italian from Torino) in Bangkok. Absolutely delicious pasta, I guess that they are really homemade. For Bangkok, the prices are not really on the cheap side, nevertheless, every Bath spent is well spent.

For the smokers: You can dine outside and even smoke there, which is in the meanwile quite difficult to find in krung thep.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swissgolftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sole Mio also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Sole Mio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing