We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel at home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of M.R. Kukrit's Heritage Home

M.R. Kukrit's Heritage Home
Ranked #163 of 524 things to do in Bangkok
Attraction details
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Feel at home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is a little hard to find. You need to watch out as you're going down Soi 3 from Sathorn Road for the single brown heritage sign clinging by a thread to the post on the left hand side. The tiny Soi you need to go down is on the right. Or, from Chong Nonsi station, continue down the skywalk to the buses (BRT) and then take Soi 9 on that road.

The house is small and can easily be seen within a hour. It hasn't been changed much since its owner lived there. There's a "been there since the 60's smell" hanging in several of the rooms. If you're interested in Khon theatre or how the 13th President of Thailand and founder of the Thai Rath newspaper spent the last 20-30 years of his life, or want to see the bed of Rama V this is the place to come. It's really more of an afterthought or something to do if you're in the area than a "must see." I'd been in Thailand a year before I ticked this place off my list of places to go at the weekend. It's worth a look but if you have limited time in Bangkok, don't go out of your way unless you have a specific interest in Mr Kukrit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank BibianaBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    15
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning and historical home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The gardens were spectacular. It was so quiet, calming an peaceful with the birds chirping and the flowers blowing in the wind...which is hard to find in the middle of Bangkok. It was a nice history lesson as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katybell31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Was going to say better than J.T's house, but notice someone already said it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

But it is! And so much more interesting and meaningful. Quiet calm and peaceful and no shop attached! We came here as part of the Follow Me Bike Tour, so I'm not sure how to get there. Our ride leader was able to tell us all about the history, and it was so interesting, and we were lucky enough to say Hello to his Grandson. M.R. Kukrit Pramoj loved dogs and it is very evuident! It's a cool, calm and interesting place to visit. http://www.kukritshousefund.com

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Kiz105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Level Contributor
650 reviews
324 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 712 helpful votes
“Better than Jim Thompson's House.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

If you visited Jim Thompson's House and liked it, you'll probably also like this place very much.

If you like seeing (and imagining) how interesting people live(d), this is an excellent place to visit. If you are curious about how an extremely important player on Thailand's 20th century stage lived, this is the place.

Almost an alter-ego to Jim Thompson's house, this has a main house and a number of out-buildings (including a separate one for holding audiences), distributed around extensive landscaped gardens on about a hectare of land "hidden away" between the concrete jungle of the Sathorn Road area.

M.R. (this is an indication of aristocratic status) Kukrit Pramoj (b.1911-d.1995) was a scholar, prolific author, founder of the influential newspaper Thai Rath, actor (in "The Ugly American") and (in the mid 1970s) Prime Minister of Thailand.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kukrit_Pramoj

You can take a tour, or get a brochure which facilitates a self-guided tour. I did the latter - which gave me the opportunity to wander the grounds at my own pace - with plenty of opportunities to stop and reflect on life (M.R. Kukrit Pramoj's own life, life in Thailand, and life in general).

Personally, no matter how much I like Jim Thompson's house (which is a cornerstone of our tour of Bangkok when we host visitors) - now that I have found Kukrit Pramoj's home I like it much more. It's not just a place - but a refuge for reflection in the midst of Bangkok's concrete jungle.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
15 Thank EarthlingOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M.R. Kukrit's Heritage Home also viewed

 

Been to M.R. Kukrit's Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing