We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Near equal

Near equal
Ranked #1,549 of 13,388 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Thong Lo
Reviewed October 31, 2017 via mobile

What a surprise in this quiet soi to discover this restaurant. The ground floor is a decoration boutique, very nice items. We went for lunch and the set lunch was great. Less than 200 baht for a dish with rice, veggies, soup and dessert. Great atmosphere as it looks you are in a peivate garden. Will come back

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Aurore1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 50 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2016

Near Equal is above a little craft boutique which has a variety of Thai crafts from traditional celadon ware to jewellery and linens. The restaurant is relaxed and affordable and serves absolutely delicious Thai food. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank WildOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016

Me and my friend was wandering around and bumped into this wonderful shop by accident but it was worth the journey. The little shop downstairs look like a mini bazaar with every little things in it. I thought it was only interesting to a girl like me but even my male friend liked it too, it with the second visit.

The food was 8/10 and the restaurant itself was very beautiful, cozy and they have private rooms for small groups. The overall architect looked like a private living place of a good witch :D

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chilnguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016

Near Equal is located on Sukhumvit soi 47, the street is approximately half way between Phrom Phong and Thong Lo, about 10 minutes walk from either one of the stations. This is a nice and quiet neighborhood, away from the crazy traffic of Sukhumvit. The restaurant is also a shop selling mostly decorative stuff. I have eaten there twice and both times were on weekdays and not busy at all.

Food wise, the plating presentation is very attractive but the taste is too mild for my taste and almost bland, perhaps they adjust the heat level for non-Thai's.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank clemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016 via mobile

A nice house located at 22/2 Sukhumvit soi 37. A nice old Thai house with a shop at the ground floor and a restaurant on the first floor. We have eaten Issan Saussages, Seabass, Banana flower salad, Duck all along with Sticky rice and steamed rice.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Frederic_Borgotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Near equal also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Near equal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing