We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Stay! Cosy room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Period Pratunam
Ranked #37 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Booked two rooms from this hotel for 5 days and I was on a trip with my sister and her two friends. One night for THB 1200. I booked directly from the hotel website. Email response from the hotel manager is very fast and friendly! The email response is usually within 12 hours.

I requested for two rooms to be side by side but however, on the day of arrival, we were not given two side-by-side rooms. The staff explained that this is due to the two pre-booked rooms having some problems. We were not fussy about it so we just took the two rooms that are on different levels. The rooms were small but super cosy! The toilet size is sufficient although I have some problems adjusting the temperature of the shower. We got room 31 and room 51. Room 51 toilet had a weird smell but room 31 toilet was alright and nice-smelling. This is not an issue if you got an air-freshener.

The panal of the toilet is glass. Although it is tinted, you can see the shadows of the person inside using the toilet. As I am staying with my sister, it was alright. However, if you are staying with a not-so-close friend, it will be an issue.

The staffs at the hotel has good English. And they are very friendly too. They also assist us to call a cab (we need a large cab for our departure to airport as we have a total of 6 luggage) and also bring all the luggage up the cab.

The breakfast is average and is about the same everyday.

The hotel is also near to BTS Ratchathewi, about less than 10 mins walk away. If you take Tuk-tuk, it will be about THB 50 - 80.

The location of the hotel is also near to Platinum Fashion Mall (About less than 10 mins walk, Tuk Tuk will be THB 50-80) and MBK (About 15-20 mins walk, but you can also take BTS Siam).

There are also several massage shop along the road of the hotel. However, do not engage the service of the 1st massage shop (orange uniform) as they are really lousy! Try the one with pink uniforms instead! :)

Overall, the stay is excellent and I will definitely choose to stay again if I return to BKK in future due to the great staff, fast email response, cosy and clean rooms and proximity to various shopping malls and BTS!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JaniceSoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 132 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in the largest room for approx NZ$50 per night booked through Agoda and thought the hotel was excellent value. Being new the room was in good condition with large LCD TV on the wall with internet access and comfy bed. We enjoyed the breakfast. It is in an excellent location for shopping in Pratunam. We have stayed in this area 5 times previously and thought it was a great value stay.

Room Tip: The room is compact, and you will have to lie or sit on the bed as there are no chairs. The bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I didn't pre-book and just walked in and thankfully there's a room available. Stayed here for 1 night @THB1,200. The hotel is new and tastefully designed, it is more like a flat that is converted into a small hotel. They were able to squeeze in 3 rooms into each floor. Not a problem, since less neighbours = less noise for good quality sleep, which is sometimes a challenge when you opt for cheap accomodations. The hotel lobby double-up as a restaurant, which serves buffet breakfast (included in the hotel price) which is adequate for a day's shopping. Room is very small, hardly enough space for walking and luggage. The toilet is also very small and lacks hooks for hanging towels/clothes. The toilet smells damn, which can be unpleasant. I liked the free wifi, buffet breakfast, affordable price, good location. However they are very strict on check-out. No allowance for even 1-hour extension is permitted, & they will charge THB100 for extension. Otherwise it is a nice place to put up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

They do not take credit card for room payment and everything must be on cash basis; credit card was given as a guarantee when room booking was made through their hotel website. Hotel is small - lobby and breakfast is at the same area. We found our rooms to be dusty and a sewage smell in the bathroom. However, the breakfast and location wise was good. It takes only about 5-10mins walk to Platinum Fashion Mall or Pratunam Market. Great place to stay if you are in BKK for shopping. We took a tuk-tuk from the hotel to MBK mall and it cost THB100. If you take a tuk-tuk from Platinum Fashion Mall to MBK mall, it will cost you around THB100 while taxi will cost you around THB50-70.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Martinouxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marthalin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Camila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista Express
Hotel Vista Express
#310 of 887 in Bangkok
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 93 Hotel
The 93 Hotel
#509 of 887 in Bangkok
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gaam Hotel
Gaam Hotel
#81 of 1,337 in Bangkok
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NAP Hotel Bangkok
NAP Hotel Bangkok
#43 of 728 in Bangkok
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metz Pratunam
Metz Pratunam
#122 of 728 in Bangkok
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ideal Hotel Pratunam
Ideal Hotel Pratunam
#97 of 728 in Bangkok
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Period Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Period Pratunam

Address: 39/4 Soi Phetburi 15, Petchburi Road | Thanon Phayathai, Rajathevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $45 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Period Pratunam 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Period is a simply modern boutique hotel, located at Pratunam close to BTS Ratchathewi Station and Airport Rail link. The hotel is surrounded with all best shopping, dining and nightlife zones such as Platinum Fashion Mall, Central World, Siam Paragon, and MBK. We offer privacy and relaxing accommodation along with impeccable service and complete facilities to ensure an impressive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Period Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing