We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Emerald Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Emerald Hotel
Ranked #403 of 839 Hotels in Bangkok
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel by chance as I hadn't pre booked. Walk in price was expensive for superior room. 4.520 baht. Thank goodness for smartphones with internet as we got a room for just under$71.00 AUD. Large light filled room, no noise and spacious. Nice bathroom but tap fittings badly need changing especially shower head! As it was an overnight stay we ate out with family who live close by(hence the reason for staying in the area). Close to many shops and nightlife also Chatuchak weekend market. Well appointed hotel and location, staff have limited English and could do with a bit more friendliness otherwise couldn't fault.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justthe2ofusAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    163
    93
    18
    10
See reviews for
34
22
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for vacation with tour and travel... I got deluxe room, so it was huge so was the bathroom.. There were shower and bath tub also..
Wooden floor, nice lobby. But sadly, the staff were not so friendly.

Opposite the hotel there were reflexiology place.
The hotel has 2 different restaurant. Western and international (japanesse). I was having breakfast in japanesse hotel. It was not too special there..

Menu was not so many.

Swimming pool: it's huge but windy..
I tried their massage service in my room. The therapist was so professional but sadly there's no special massage oil. They only used baby oil.

Overall it's nice hotel..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel was clean and easily accessible via MRT Huay Khwang
food the spread was good and delicious
too bad no free wi-fi :(
for budget travelers this will do . but not on peak periods i.e school holidays as the hotel will be full of local and non local tourist and will be crowded and noisy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aiza79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My daughter and i travelled to Bangkok to get some dental work done at Bangkok International Dental Centre. After some research i booked us into the Cha-Da Hotel. We spent 3 very noisy night's in a very creepy hotel. Then we found the Emerald! Wow! It was fantastic! We got a great deal through Agoda. The Emerald is beautiful. The room we stayed in was a little dated but very elegant and comfortable. Great gym and pool facilities. But it's the staff that really made our stay great. A big thank you especially to Chief Concierge Aswan Mendez. He went above and beyond the call of duty to help us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantbenowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

For last 12 years The Emerald didn't change the style and quality. The value for money: price location and service - I would strongly suggest this place whoever has to stay at Ratchadapisek. In details: the pool is fine, the staff is professional, unfortunately they shut down disco (which was really great 10years ago) but there few things I still like about the Emerald: breakfast and Japanese restaurant on the second floor. If you're for business or just passing through the Bangkok to the South - I think the Emerald is right place.
Btw, we had great friendly parties at that Japanese place for last 10 years, and I would say: Yes, the Emerald is very reliable for that. Anytime you'll feel nice and comfortable there. And, common, the price is good too. I wont go into details about the area, that's another subject.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed from Sun to Thur (08 to 12 Sep). The staff is SUPERB.They are extremely friendly and ready to help. No eye contact avoidance hence all staff display eagerness to assist. The rooms are excellent and breakfast (good selection). Location is unique at Huay Khwang MRT. NO JAMS compared to other areas. Nearby, there is a Night Market and good local delights await you. My 8th visit to BKK and shall make Emerald my official stay. Loving Emerald for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 350raymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayan Lepas, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good breakfast n food.Good location for nightlife and entertainment joints.Popular seafood restorant at the end of the road- Somboon.(5 mins walk) and massage parloor along the way-Subway.Tight security which is good to prevent unknown visitor enter lift after midnight.Stayed at least 6 times for the passed 5 years but only once did encountered water leak at bathtub ,

Room Tip: if you are not satisfy with your room,ask for a change immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samtantc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Park Residence @ Bangkok
#481 of 839 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Din
The Palazzo Bangkok
The Palazzo Bangkok
#616 of 839 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praso@Ratchada 12
#411 of 839 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Amaranta Hotel
#146 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Din
Chaophya Park Hotel
Chaophya Park Hotel
#350 of 839 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Hotel

Property: The Emerald Hotel
Address: 99/1 Rachadapisek Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Din
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#223 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Emerald Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 625
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated in new development district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing