We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Emerald Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Emerald Hotel to your Saves list
The Emerald Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99/1 Rachadapisek Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Din)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #402 of 823 Hotels in Bangkok
Jakarta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Huge room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for vacation with tour and travel... I got deluxe room, so it was huge so was the bathroom.. There were shower and bath tub also..
Wooden floor, nice lobby. But sadly, the staff were not so friendly.

Opposite the hotel there were reflexiology place.
The hotel has 2 different restaurant. Western and international (japanesse). I was having breakfast in japanesse hotel. It was not too special there..

Menu was not so many.

Swimming pool: it's huge but windy..
I tried their massage service in my room. The therapist was so professional but sadly there's no special massage oil. They only used baby oil.

Overall it's nice hotel..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    157
    91
    17
    10
See reviews for
32
21
42
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel was clean and easily accessible via MRT Huay Khwang
food the spread was good and delicious
too bad no free wi-fi :(
for budget travelers this will do . but not on peak periods i.e school holidays as the hotel will be full of local and non local tourist and will be crowded and noisy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aiza79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My daughter and i travelled to Bangkok to get some dental work done at Bangkok International Dental Centre. After some research i booked us into the Cha-Da Hotel. We spent 3 very noisy night's in a very creepy hotel. Then we found the Emerald! Wow! It was fantastic! We got a great deal through Agoda. The Emerald is beautiful. The room we stayed in was a little dated but very elegant and comfortable. Great gym and pool facilities. But it's the staff that really made our stay great. A big thank you especially to Chief Concierge Aswan Mendez. He went above and beyond the call of duty to help us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantbenowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

For last 12 years The Emerald didn't change the style and quality. The value for money: price location and service - I would strongly suggest this place whoever has to stay at Ratchadapisek. In details: the pool is fine, the staff is professional, unfortunately they shut down disco (which was really great 10years ago) but there few things I still like about the Emerald: breakfast and Japanese restaurant on the second floor. If you're for business or just passing through the Bangkok to the South - I think the Emerald is right place.
Btw, we had great friendly parties at that Japanese place for last 10 years, and I would say: Yes, the Emerald is very reliable for that. Anytime you'll feel nice and comfortable there. And, common, the price is good too. I wont go into details about the area, that's another subject.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed from Sun to Thur (08 to 12 Sep). The staff is SUPERB.They are extremely friendly and ready to help. No eye contact avoidance hence all staff display eagerness to assist. The rooms are excellent and breakfast (good selection). Location is unique at Huay Khwang MRT. NO JAMS compared to other areas. Nearby, there is a Night Market and good local delights await you. My 8th visit to BKK and shall make Emerald my official stay. Loving Emerald for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 350raymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayan Lepas, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good breakfast n food.Good location for nightlife and entertainment joints.Popular seafood restorant at the end of the road- Somboon.(5 mins walk) and massage parloor along the way-Subway.Tight security which is good to prevent unknown visitor enter lift after midnight.Stayed at least 6 times for the passed 5 years but only once did encountered water leak at bathtub ,

Room Tip: if you are not satisfy with your room,ask for a change immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samtantc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pros
->>Good Breakfast & food. Period

Cons
>> (Terrible & Very Rude service of "Baggage-person" (about 10:00 AM, 24-August-20) (In gray suit)
>>Poor hand-over of information between staff change
>>Giving service to customers is regarded by some of them as interruptions in their "duties"
>>Broken safe / still broken in another way after "fixing"
>>No toothbrush & tooth paste!

My ratings
Food -->> good
rooms --->> Slightly below average with some broken devices
Staff -->> Terrible to Average


Comprehensive review will come later if I've time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller996699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Swissotel Le Concorde
#154 of 823 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Din
The Palazzo Bangkok
The Palazzo Bangkok
#526 of 823 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
The Park Residence @ Bangkok
#475 of 823 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hip Bangkok
#588 of 823 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Bangkok Cha-Da Hotel
#763 of 823 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Praso@Ratchada 12
#466 of 823 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Hotel

Property: The Emerald Hotel
Address: 99/1 Rachadapisek Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Din
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#212 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Emerald Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 625
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated in new development district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing