We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a sight seeing in Bangkok”
Review of Davis Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Davis Bangkok
Ranked #273 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This small hotel is in the perfect situation for getting round the city. They offer a free shuttle to the sky train which links with the mrt and boats so that travel is easy without the need of using taxis in traffic jams.
Accommodation is good and very clean.
Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the corner wing of the hotel but the atmosphere in the dining and reception lacked atm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizkellytonykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Davis in Bangkok and were impressed with the architecture and the excellent quality of the room for a supposedly 4 star hotel. Having said that, the service at this hotel was distinctly absent or at best, the bare minimum. The staff were certainly not rude or unhelpful, there just wasn't many of them around. Location wise, the hotel was well placed with many conveniences and restaurants reasonably close by. The swimming pool is a rooftop type with marvellous views and the restaurants are quite good. Overall, you would not be disappointed with this reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I booked the hotel through Agoda so I received a reasonable deal for the hotel. But I didn't realise that we would be booked in another building. It didn't quite give me the option to choose which building we'd be able to stay in. We were in the corner wing building which has the Starbucks cafe inside the building beside the dining area. It was decent with a nice size washroom, which had a separate bath tub. The room as actually roomy with a king size bed. The location of the place on 24 Sukhumvit is safe and convenient, as it's nearby a BTS for commute, close to other cafes and restaurants and a safer place to walk around in the evening. I did use the swimming pool in the main Davis hotel, it's on the top 9th floor so it's a rooftop swimming pool, which has a nice view. The gym is small but was able to go for some exercise. They also have breakfast there which we opted for, it's typically a better breakfast for westerners with assortments of sausages, bacon, fruits, yoghurt, cereals, juices, tea, coffee, breads, thai dishes, broth soup and they have an omellette station. All in all I would stay here again because of the price, convenience and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Perhaps find out which building you'll be in, e.g. the main building or the corner wing building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

A pleasant hotel with helpful, friendly staff. The hotel itself has two sites on the same street one block apart. The building in between houses a complex of restaurants, mostly European cuisine at higher prices than you would pay elsewhere but handy if you just need convenience. The main hotel block houses the swimming pool which we didn't have time to visit. Our room was a standard room in the smaller block which was clean and comfortable and came with air conditioning, ensuite bathroom, fridge, TV, mini bar and complimentary water. The bathroom had a cubicle shower and a seperate shower over a deep bath. The bed was quite hard but this appears to be quite common in Thailand. The only negative was a funny smell in reception but overall we had a pleasant stay. The location is a little out the way but this has its benefits. Most attractions are a short taxi ride away and shouldn't cost more than 180 baht in a metered taxi.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JMC4RMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great hotel. Very nice and hospitable. Good premium room in main wing. Very warm and polite staff. They look after you. Really enjoyed my stay. Will surely recommend . Recommend main wing over corner wing.

Room Tip: Choose to stay in main wing. Not corner wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puns1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in July after staying here on previous trips. The hotel itself is nice and is good value for money in the area. Unfortunately their customer care is not up to scratch. I arranged an airport pick up and they let me know that the driver will have a board with my name on. I searched and searched and found no one. I waited at the precise gate where they said they will be. This went on for more then an hour. Eventually I found the driver who just had a small piece of paper with the hotel name on, no board nothing! I thought no problem because mistakes happen until I arrived at the hotel. The manager insisted that I pay three times the amount for the transfer because it "was my fault" that I didn't find the driver. After complaining that in no way could I be responsible for this they threatened that I will not be allowed to stay there if I didn't pay the amount. I will avoid this hotel in the future!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank Albie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

*Hotel Review - The Davis Bangkok - by Top Contributor AngryAngMo*
It's been my 3rd stay at the Davis Bangkok, and I would come back again and again, when travelling to / through Bangkok. Note, I always stayed in their Villas (not rooms), they call them "Bans" and are an official part of the hotel, but most people don't know and book the normal rooms. The villas are superb and directly connected with the hotel, much bigger than the rooms and absolutely best value for money you will get.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Stay: 2 Nights / 2 Nights / 3 Nights
When: June 2012 / October 2012 / September 2013
Room: 3 Bedroom Villa
Price: 395 SGD + Hotel Taxes
Breakfast included - YES (for 6 people)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Location:
The Davis has a great location, in the heart of Bangkok, you can walk 10 minutes to the next subway station or grab a taxi (more easy and cheap). You have many great restaurants in direct walking distance, and Starbucks etc right next to the hotel. There's a super market and even McDonalds around the corner, however, go for the local food, you wont regret it. From the airport its approx 30-40mins drive. The neighbour hood is Japanese (all the Japanese expats live here), means you have a lot of Japanese eateries around the corner. It's very safe, and we had never any issues.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hotel / Rooms:
The Davis Bans (villas) are located right next to the hotel (behind) and are a bit hidden, which is why most visitors don't know about them. Also, if you book via any of the travel pages (agoda etc) they wont offer these to you. Book directly via the official Hotel webpage, then you will see them. They have 2 and 3 bedroom villas, but I highly recommend the 3 bedroom villas because they are better located and have the pool directly in front of them. Also guests from the normal hotel are not allowed at the villa pool, so you usually have it for yourself. The villas are massive, have private rooftop patio, 3 huge bedrooms with walk-in closet and separate bathrooms, a huge living room with a dinner tabel for 10 people, and a sofa area, a very well equipped kitchen and 2 more bathrooms. It's absolutely perfect for group travellers or families.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
EXTRA GOOD:
+ Nice hotel, luxurious
+ Villas are best value for money in Bangkok
+ Good safe location
+ Very nice "private" villa pool

BAD:
- The breakfast isn't really good

Room Tip: Book the 2 or 3 bedroom Villas, not the rooms, it's totally worth it, however you must book via...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngryAngMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
President Park Bangkok
President Park Bangkok
#318 of 887 in Bangkok
765 reviews
Sukhumvit
Galleria 10 Sukhumvit
Galleria 10 Sukhumvit
#269 of 887 in Bangkok
1,578 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
BelAire Bangkok
BelAire Bangkok
#157 of 887 in Bangkok
1,735 reviews
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#97 of 887 in Bangkok
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davis Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davis Bangkok

Address: 88 Sukhumvit 24 | Klongteoy, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#100 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#194 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $60 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Davis Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Splitty, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Davis Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davis Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Davis Hotel
Davis Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing