We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but a long walk from trains”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Davis Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Davis Bangkok
Ranked #219 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
169 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but a long walk from trains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is actually a reasonably decent hotel though the location lets it down somewhat. Being a good 10 minute walk from the sky train Phnom Prong or 10-15 minutes from the MRT Queen Siskrit, you mostly need to get taxis to get around, especially during the heat of the day. Taxis are generally plentiful and cheap - make sure they are willing to use the meter!

The lobby is large and welcoming. My room was in the main building and was a good size though I had requested a double bed and got two singles pushed together with a sizeable gap in between. The room and the bed were comfortable with a large bathroom.

I was surprised to find there was a charge for wifi and internet usage. This is the first hotel I have ever stayed in in Thailand which charges for internet. The cost isn’t that high, (if I remember around 200 Baht per day), but still unnecessary.

I had friends staying the villas which we very nice and If I were to stay at the hotel again would stay there. There was a nice pool upon the roof with a small gym area on the top floor.

The breakfast buffet was fairly bland with a made to order egg station. The rest of it was average quality.

I probably wouldn’t stay here again unless at a villa as I think there are better value and located hotels in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Get a villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    501
    184
    60
    49
See reviews for
164
355
141
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Davis never fails to impress us, since we first stayed there almost ten years ago. Located conveniently to restaurants, shopping, and the sky train in up-market Sukhumvit, it offers amenities that far more expensive hotels fail to provide.

It is quiet. Very quiet. Even though it is in a busy part of town.

Service is astounding. Call the desk for something, towels, ice, and the knock comes at your door sometimes in less than sixty seconds.

You get a cable to plug your iPod into the sound system. Sure you could walk away with it, but there it is, in a convenient little bag, next to the desk.

The hotel has a very pleasant atmosphere, with teak and stone and warm colors and furnishings.

It's a very nice place to stay at a very reasonable cost in one of the most attractive districts of Bangkok.

Check it out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onowhereman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

After two fantastic hotels in Koh Samui and Koh Phangan, we were unbelievably disappointed with the Davis. It was sold to us as a boutique hotel, however the Studio room in the Corner Wing in which we stayed, could only be described as akin to that of a Holiday Inn. The room was extremely average, the bed was hard, the pillows were hard and the water in the shower had zero temperature control.

In addition, the breakfast was poor with little choice, the levels of customer service were poor and there was no active bar or restaurant. We also had to pay for WIFI access and bottled water and the shift manager was extremely blunt and unhelpful when I voiced my concerns to him. He also mentioned that he did not know it was our honeymoon, which we later found out from our holiday company was incorrect.

The staff did nothing to make us feel welcome or to make our stay during our honeymoon anything other than businesslike. We have reported back to our holiday company and strongly suggested that they do not use this hotel again.

If we ever go back to Bangkok we will definitely stay on the river. There is much more ambience and activity by the river. We found where the Davis was situated to be rather dead and out of the way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskarshamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I must say that this is an oasis in the middle of Bangkok! Great location, good value for money and friendly and helpful staff.

During our stay we took advantage of all facilities and the room service was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in BKK and especially the pool villas which is a tiny bit of the icing of the cake! Great experience

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leif-Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Such a nice building! The room was immaculate! We were well taken care of, and the staff were amazing. I'm still shocked at the price, it was that cheap! and yet the quality was 5 stars! plus we were walking distance from most things!

Room Tip: we stayed in a bangin room, with a sauna, massive spa room, amazing bathroom, was hardly looking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlish91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

In a good, central location on Sukhumvit, near the Skytrain, the Davis Bangkok is in an ideal location for exploring the city. We had a Superior room and it was large, lovely, with lots of mod cons, bathrobes and slippers and a lovely view across the city. Although we didn't use it, the swimming pool looked great and there is also a fitness centre and spa. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection and eggs cooked to order - the poached eggs were very good! The staff were friendly, the only quibble is that the hotel policy is to charge half a days' payment for checking in early, which we had not experienced elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Recarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I am on the same line as Hobnob72. We reserved a villa (no. 10). Very pleasant. We did not have the noise problems that Hobnob experienced. A small aside. The hotel is very well located not far from two major shopping malls and the Funarium a great place to take a child 2 - 12 to do things. It is a 8 minute walk from the hotel.
I agree that the wifi charge is steep particularly when you consider the cost of the accomodation. Other complaints: lot of mosquitoes, in fact we had to ask for a can of mosquito spray and sprayed a lot.. lots of dead mosquitoes on the bed. Not to do when children are around. Other complaint: the A/C unit blows air into your face all night. Not a pleasant experience. Not much the hotel can do about it but nevertheless....
Finally, on the small peeve department, we asked for a cutting knife to cut vegetables. We were told at the reception that that was not permitted for safety reasons (even a small one). Call the kitchen, they come to get your vegetables, cut them and return them. What is the use of having a kitchen?
Staff very friendly both at the front desk and housekeeping as well as the nice pool upstairs. Overall a very nice experience with some small issues to address.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
President Park
President Park
#341 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
#153 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
BelAire Bangkok
BelAire Bangkok
#156 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Sukhumvit
Modena by Fraser Bangkok
Modena by Fraser Bangkok
#137 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Sukhumvit
Galleria 10 Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davis Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davis Bangkok

Property: Davis Bangkok
Address: 88 Sukhumvit 24 | Klongteoy, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#88 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#160 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Davis Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Davis Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davis Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Davis Hotel
Davis Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing