We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for Bangkok service standards...”
Review of Davis Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Davis Bangkok
Ranked #243 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
laguna, philippines
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Disappointing for Bangkok service standards...”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Upon check in, we requested for a big bed. We were flatly refused. No bell hop offerred to carry my bag for me from main building to other building; and we had to find our own room. Room is very clean and in great working condition. As for shopping, it is 2long blocks away from BigC and Tesco; and a long block away (15mins walk) from the train station and Emporium. Free shuttle unfortunately no tuktuk driver available. Breakfast was good but it didnt have much Thai food to try, and only one waitress to man the entire dining area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    509
    190
    62
    51
See reviews for
170
357
144
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Davis Hotel is not qualified for business neither pleasure stay!!!
Although the hotel facilities are ok, Please take extra precaution when booking.
If you are running into a problem with the reservation or need to apply some changes, the hotel does not use the common practice and will not apply any flexibility nor help!
Having stay in this hotel for a month , upon check in I notified the reception check in officer that some extra days may be required for me to complete my business and I was assured that “there is no problem”. Few days before the scheduled check out I had to add 3 more day (on top of the already month stay) and I was refused. The hotel director of rooms will overbook and will turn down any common practice. I HAD TO CHECKOUT HEAVY LOADED WITH MATERIAL THAT HAD TO BE Shipped etc. etc.
I strongly recommend not to use this hotel . The management is not responsive to your complain/requirements, some of the stuff are rude and impolite (some are wonderful, however the “bad service” is part of the hotel although complains have been raised in the past).
Even in Thai practice, this hotel is hungry for business and would not hesitate to turn down any common sense if there is a problem.
DO NOT USE THIS HOPTEL SERVICES!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay out of this hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank primg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

While the hotel has a large front, it is practically on the road. So practically from the roadside ones opens the hotel door and walks right into the hotel lobby. Which reminds me of 3/4 star European hotels. The front desk was very helpful. The size of the room was fine and had all that one requires while traveling. Bathroom was of good size as well and had a tub and separate shaver area. Room has a LCD, CD player, mini-bar and some Crockery. The hotel has a nice pool on the roof,spa and massage.
The breakfast was nice however I have better choice in comparable hotels.
The location of the hotel is very good with 10 min walk to skytrain. On a sunny day 10 min could be a loot. Overall the stay was nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Jawad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

stayed here a few years ago and if i was to return to Thailand i would be booking in here again, loved the pool on the roof, got a cracking massage in the hotel too and the location is not too bad, Top food too!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salzyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Yes the hotel is getting a bit frayed but the rooms are still very good and especially spacious. i checked in at 3am and was in my room within a couple of minutes.

Tuk tuk service to the station worked well though it has to be booked in advance and on one occassion I had to prompt them to say I had a booking after the booked time had passed. after a few minutes the driver finally appeared and we left. problem is getthing back to the hotel - its a not unpleasent ten to fifteen minutes walk. No free wifi is a drawback and just plain irritating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A lovely boutique hotel that combined the charm of classic architecture and modern business amenities. Check in was a bit slow as they had no record of the reservation and the breakfast was not up to par with other area hotels but the service was exceptional and the price quite reasonable. A word of wisdom, they advertise a free tuktuk to local destinations but that only operates on a limited schedule during limited hours and does not operate in inclement weather.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InsoucianceAbroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family and I spent a couple of days in this hotel - in a 3 bedroom Baan Davis villa, no less - and left feeling we could've done better.

The villa is decorated with wonderful Thai traditional elements and overall very spacious. But boy was the hotel sooooo stingy in so many aspects that could've provided a much overall more enticing experience to guests.

When we made our reservations months back, we were asked to provide details of our arrival, which we did. And a few days prior, I had personally emailed the hotel to confirm again our arrival time and to please ensure the villa was ready for us when we check in that night. There was no reply. Instead, when we checked in, we walked right into a pitch black village house! Not very welcoming to say the least.

Upon entry, we then spent another fraught hour or so in the villa trying to cool it down... it was hot and stuffy from the afternoon sun. Again would it really have wasted so much electricity had the villa's air conditioning been switched on say half an hour before our arrival, which would've cooled down the rooms and set a more welcoming atmosphere?

The aircons in the villa are also very noisy and erratic... not very good when attempting to control the temperature... varying between not cold enough and debilitatingly cold!

There were a lot of mosquitoes in the villa's ground floor, particularly the living room. While we would expect some mosquitoes since the villas are surrounded by lotus ponds and other vegetation, it was yet another fraught experience trying to call reception several times to get some electronic mosquito repellents. The hotel is definitely aware of the presence of mosquitoes - there are signs advising guests to not leave the ground floor doors and windows ajar - hence could've readied the rooms by plugging in the electronic mosquito repellents into their sockets about half hour before we arrived to ensure the rooms were mosquito free upon check in. A startling lack of foresight and hospitality!

Don't be deceived by all the wifi signs throughout the hotel... yes, wifi is available, but chargeable at THB 200 PER DAY - yes, even when you've splurged and booked the most expensive property in the hotel. Incredulous.

There's a kitchenette in the villa, but don't bother with attempting to cook. There was only one small pot (for, presumably, making instant noodles) and a tiny frying pan (for the occasional egg).

One would expect branded toiletries for the most expensive villa properties in the hotel but no, toiletries were of the poorest quality and dry the skin considerably.

Staff were surly at breakfast. Waiters that don't smile or acknowledge a request. A grumpy middle aged chef at the egg station who obviously knows nothing about hospitality that every journey there in the morning felt like a punishment that you'd inflict on a disobedient child.

For me, the final straw to the hotel's stinginess was when I was working out in the gym and desperately needed some water... and no water cooler was provided! Which decent hotel gym would not provide water as the most basic amenity? Instead, the reply by the gym attendant upon hearing my request was, "water is chargeable". Actually he repeated that a few times. Only after I insisted to be connected on the phone with the hotel manager was I ultimately 'granted' a glass of plain water from the tap!

Overall, not too pleasant a stay, particularly if you are used to exquisite hospitality. Pity, because the villas themselves are well designed and their surrounding gardens provide a secluded sanctuary amidst the bustle of Sukhumvit and Bangkok - the hotel's management truly has let it down considerably.

My family and I most likely won't return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carr0tjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
President Park Bangkok
President Park Bangkok
#352 of 867 in Bangkok
735 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Icon Bangkok
Hotel Icon Bangkok
#111 of 867 in Bangkok
802 reviews
Sukhumvit
Modena by Fraser Bangkok
Modena by Fraser Bangkok
#164 of 867 in Bangkok
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Galleria 10 Sukhumvit
Galleria 10 Sukhumvit
#281 of 867 in Bangkok
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davis Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davis Bangkok

Property: Davis Bangkok
Address: 88 Sukhumvit 24 | Klongteoy, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#94 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#172 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Davis Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Davis Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davis Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Davis Hotel
Davis Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing