We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice artwork!”
Review of Silom Art Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silom Art Hostel
Ranked #214 of 1,213 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Milpitas, California
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nice artwork!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had one night to stay at Silom Art Hostel, and had a great time! We had a room with a double bed and a private bath for $39 USD/night. Room also came with two complimentary bottles of water. If you like art, then this is the place to stay at. Each room was so unique with the chairs, wall art, and even the faucets. The art in the lobby and communal areas were pretty neat. The hostel is down an alley, but restaurants and a morning market is within a 5 minute walk. Amazing food if you stop by in the morning. The hostel is nearby the metro station, but it's about a 15 minute walk. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeroppiQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
22
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is the best hostel I've been staying at ever. Great atmosphere, very comfy beds, friendly staff, clean, air cond, amazing roof top terrace....perfect place to stay in Bangkok. I would come back anytime.
It's quite new so spread the word...or keep the secret;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

actually had hard time finding the place. and plus, i hate and really really hate dogs. so being inside an alley like that really freaks me.

but inside, the place was amazing. i love the design. not sure what everybody else say, but the staff that was there was really helpful.

i love the TV area! thinking of copying the style to my room! haha. but although there are hundreds of channels, almost impossible to find an english movie!

but its too far from the train and eating places, so i just stayed there for nights days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Interesting building and reasonably comfortable rooms, though I kept hitting my head on a section of the ceiling that was too low. My main problem was the poor service and the detached and unhelpful staff. Not even a tourist map available. Luckily for me, the Lub D Silom hostel was nearby and the friendly, helpful Lub D staff gave me all the information and maps I needed. Lub D even helped me arrange day trips around Bangkok. Silom Art Hostel staff seemed completely uninterested in their guests. It was the worst accommodation experience during my Asia trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerM141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washi
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here nearly twelve nights on and off as we are traveling through Asia and using Bangkok as our hub. We originally picked it due to proximity to where friends were staying and we have stayed elsewhere in the city but always keep coming back when we need 2 or 3 nights of easy familiarity at the right price. The place is super clean, incredibly comfortable and the boys at the front desk are so sweet. Awesome roof deck and only 10 mins walk to Chong Nansi BTS. Better street food options on weekdays since so many offices are around. Sukhumvit is a better location but for the price 1,200 baht for 1 night for twin or king room it can't be beat. Great showers, fast wifi, comfy beds, and funky vibe.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dckatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Clean and spacious rooms. tastefully done rooms and hostels. Helpful staff. We would highly recommend. its equivalent to a 3 star hotel. Good value for money. They have a good sit out on the top floor. Chong Nansi station is close, its about 7- 8 min walk. Its close to Siam (50-55 THB by taxi). There is free bus service (77,15) to siam, central world area.

Room Tip: Double bed and Twin bedrooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smriti82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed in Silom Art Hostel for a couple of nights during my stay in Bangkok. The hotel itself is very, very cool. It is extremely well layed out and decorated. There is so much detail in every item and wall in the entire hostel. Even the chairs in the lobby had cowboy boots!

Apart from how awesome the place looked (I could go on for hours), Yoshi at the front desk was nothing short of perfect. He was super helpful with even the smallest of questions and was a joy to chat to. I cannot talk him up enough!

The location of the hostel did seem to be a decent distance from any tourist sights we wanted to see, such as the main temples, Khao San road and most of the "red light" streets. Bangkok is massive and sprawled out though, so it is hard to be close to everything.Luckily there is ample transport to make it pretty easy to get anywhere for quite cheap, so it didn't bother us too much.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hostel. Make sure you check out the awesome rooftop as well, and pay attention to all the little details all over the place. It truely is a work of art. Say hi to Yoshi for me!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Lullaby Inn
Lullaby Inn
#255 of 863 in Bangkok
234 reviews
Silom
I Sleep Silom Hostel
I Sleep Silom Hostel
#133 of 1,213 in Bangkok
100 reviews
Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
#17 of 1,213 in Bangkok
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Amber Boutique Silom
Amber Boutique Silom
#31 of 651 in Bangkok
216 reviews
Silom
Mile Map Hostel
Mile Map Hostel
#89 of 1,213 in Bangkok
191 reviews
Silom
Cooper
Cooper
#77 of 1,213 in Bangkok
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silom Art Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silom Art Hostel

Property: Silom Art Hostel
Address: 198/19-22 Soi Silom 14, Silom Road | Suriyawonge Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 1,213 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silom Art Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silom Art Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing