We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, location not so good.”
Review of Grand Howard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Howard Hotel
Ranked #461 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Saltnes, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Good hotel, location not so good.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed 10 nights in business in December 2012. Hotel is clean and good. The location a bit from shopping, restaurants etc. Even if only 5 minutes and about 50 to 70 baht in cost to move to "Skytrain" and Silom Road, it is a bit off. There is nothing in walkable distance from hotel.
The hotel are quite clear ment for Asian traveleres (food and tv selections). A lot of tour grops coming in evening and leaving next day. Apart from that the hotel was "empty". No other travelers to mingle with.
Plus side - only 30 minutes from airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjeldvang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    37
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
29
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed in best western plus for one night. Overall experience was not good. The moment I entered whole lobby was smelling very odd not pleasant at all. No balcony in room. I looked for bottle opener in room but couldn't find it in room. I called room service that i need bottle opener and it took me 5 minutes to explain what is bottle opener. Then they finally sent someone with bottle opener with after 20 minutes. In the morning and i was sleeping someone from house keeping entered my room without even bother to knock or call. In breakfast they were serving main course dishes. I did not find this place comfortable at all. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinaySharma79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sivakasi, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Firstly we checked in as a group of 70 people and the concierge refused to help us with our luggage. he said and i quote "YOU TAKE YOUR OWN LUGGAGE". Inspite of that incredibly rude welcome i was optimistic but once we made it upstairs i saw the weirdest arrangement i will ever see.
The bathroom mirror opens into the bedroom as a sliding mechanism. we were on a business visit and hence staying in twin bedded rooms with a collegue. I dont understand the logic behind this setup unless being romantic meant watching somebody poop or whether they needed an emergency exit from the loo.
Overall the service was bad but the interiors were decent enough thus the two stars and btw the location is a big minus as its very far away from the city

Room Tip: Stay away unless u dont have any choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giridharan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Re: Phone system out of order - need to fix right away!

My relatives stayed at this hotel on December 6, 2012. At 9:45pm, I called them from an outside line and asked to be transferred to their room.

After calling 6 times, I still got transferred to the wrong room (room 1612 instead of room 1615). This was frustrating and a waste of time. Transferring calls to the proper room is the most basic requirement at an international hotel chain. I told the operator that I tried calling 6 times but was transferred to the wrong room every time.

In the end, my relatives had to call me from a mobile phone at extra cost.

Please fix your faulty telephone system immediately!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYtoSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent one night here midweek. It was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast good and room service efficient. Room was spacious and clean with a modern decor. The location was excellent, just a few minute to BTS sky train. I will come back again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is well located in CBD area. It is modernly furnished within a refined relaxing and comfortable atmosphere. Their professionally trained staffs provide us excellent service and quality support.

An International fine dining at Howard Lane restaurant satifies the need of all guest that love western food. We would recommend you to try homemade pan pizza with fresh dough. All ingredients are carefully selected and throughly sourced from verified and quality suppliers.

The hotel also features extentive meeting and business facilites. It has an abundance of conference halls and rooms to host meetings of all different capacities and purposes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanapan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The service is very very good with friendly and politely staff.
I am so impressed and happy for this very much.

It's a new hotel. Rooms and public areas are clean. Can see the nice view from room.... very great.
Rooms look new and fresh with essential furniture.
The restaurant have many kind of food, all are delicious.
Location is not far from main business and shopping area...so convenient .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s9821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Pantip Suites Sathorn
Pantip Suites Sathorn
#274 of 867 in Bangkok
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Modena by Fraser Bangkok
Modena by Fraser Bangkok
#164 of 867 in Bangkok
158 reviews
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#193 of 867 in Bangkok
882 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Windsor Suites and Convention
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Howard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Howard Hotel

Property: Grand Howard Hotel
Address: 50 Charoenraj Road | Bangkhlo, Bangkolaem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Grand Howard)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #461 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Howard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Howard Hotel, located in Sathorn, Bangkok, is a popular choice for travelers. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With the city's main attractions such as Wat Worachanyawas Pier, Wat Suthiwararam, Asiatique - The Riverfront within close reach, visitors to the hotel will just love its location. The facilities and services provided by Grand Howard Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour security, convenience store, fax machine, gift/souvenir shop. Guests can choose from 256 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as water park, yoga room, fitness center, outdoor pool, massage to make your stay truly unforgettable. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Grand Howard Hotel the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Howard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing