We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel near Victory Monument!”
Review of HI Mid Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HI Mid Bangkok
Ranked #208 of 1,192 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hostel near Victory Monument!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

HI Mid Bangkok is a little gem near the victory monument. Transportation using the airport line or BTS line is very convenient. The service and staff are professional, friendly, and helpful. When checking in, you get your sheets and blanket so you know that you are getting fresh and clean sheets. The dorms are small but have build in safes and curtains to give the feel of having your own space. The bathrooms were very clean and the convenient washers/dryers made doing laundry very easy. I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_C100889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
10
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3D/2N in a double room. It was clean & tidy. I had a queen-size bed all to myself. Air conditioning was great & refreshing from the hot weather. The drawbacks were (1) ants seem to turn up from nowhere, (2) you could hear just a bit of the traffic outside from time to time, (3) my bathroom had a partially clogged drain. Water would pool when one would use the shower but not to the point of overflowing, (4) they change sheets & towels ONLY if you request them to (Reason: Save water, energy, etc) & (5) you feel the building shake especially when in bed (My guess is passing buses & trucks). Apart from all these, it was safe even for a solo travelling lady like me. Staff was friendly & accommodating. Free breakfast in the morning (Your basic toast, jam, butter, coffee & chocolate). Location was also excellent since it's just a 5 minutes walk to the mrt/bts. The malls are just next door & opposite. The best part is, at night, the whole stretch of the street turns into a night market selling really cheap clothes, bags, shoes, etc. No need to tread off to Pratunam Market or DMK. There are also food stalls on a certain stretch nearby selling authentic yet cheap Thai food. No food poisoning nor upset stomach on my part. Wifi is available too in all areas of the hostel. Fast enough but can get disconnected when you become idle. They can also arrange for you a cab to take you to the airport. The staff can speak english just enough to communicate which is a relief. I'd definitely stay here again if I'd be out the whole time. Oh by the way, room I had did not have a tv nor small fridge. I didn't mind since I was out most of the time. Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BebotXII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

HI Mid is a great hostel.... The only difficulty with this accommodation is finding it... Located in victory monument in Bangkok the easiest way to get there is to locate Victory Mall from the skywalk... It will be on your right.... The hostel is on the opposite street.. Walk down the street with victory monument behind you and you will find the big sign for it...

I'm giving the directions now because one woman got lost trying to find the hostel when I was there and gave the staff at the front desk a very hard time about it...

Why is this hostel great???
It's clean
It's comfortable
It's spacious
It's in a great location

The entire hostel is very clean. The rooms are great with options of private room, mixed dorms and same sex dorms. The beds are very comfortable and have a curtain which provides some privacy and allows for a better nights sleep. The air conditioning is perfect, not too cold like some hostels in Bangkok. The lounge area is great with some games like dominos and checkers. There is also a pretty good selection of DVD's. There is one PC which is free for guests and they having printing facilities.

The location is great. Victory Monument is a great area, the BTS is nearby and there are a lot of food vendors on the streets.

The hostel has some rules. For example sex tourists are not allowed. If you are been noisy and are stopping other guests from sleeping, and someone complains you may be asked to leave. The hostel pride themselves on providing guests with a good nights sleep.

A bed in a mixed dorm is 390 baht. Very reasonable...

I loved it here and I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgilheany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Staying here presently. Very nice place but not worth the B.S. you have to go through with their desk staff who act as though they are put out by everything you request including calling a cab for you. They even charge you by the minute for making the call. Not okay. Very disappointed with how we have been treated staying here and being spoken to. I had the short yappy front desk clerk tell me she hadnt had lunch yet as i was waiting for a cab to take me to the hospital for injuries. I inconvenienced her norm feeding time.
The other thing that is a total lie on their website is saying that the rooms are air conditioned. From 12pm to 6pm when it is the hottest outside....air con is shut off. Brutal. They should at least have a fan in bathroom. Hard to shower and dry off with the heat. And...impossible to get a cab around here and most wont take you to places like Koh San Rd. And the train doesnt go that far. Suppose to stay here for a week but there's no way. Checking out!!!

I will say that Pong has been awesome tho. She cleans here and is very kind with a good heart.

Room Tip: Female dorm was average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippingOut2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel with big room and good facilities. Not located in city centre but very close to sky train (ideal when you only have a couple of days and want to get to the airport easily as well).
Staff was average, breakfast very sober.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_rene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had stayed at the HI sukhumvit several times so thought I would try the HI Mid Bangkok for a change. Hostel is very nice and clean. Rooms are quite small for the price I would say but bed is comfy with very nice duvet which makes for a good nights sleep. Light breakfast is available, tea coffee, toast, fruit etc.
Location is great just by victory monument. Loads of great thai food available locally and convenient for skytrain and both airports.
Being right by victory monument it's quite a noisy area traffic wise. Across the road though I found a nice little park, good for relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at HI Mid Bangkok based on other reviews and the fact that it is conveniently located for getting to and from the airport. And I was not disappointed by my choice.

The hostel has hotel quality rooms (which justifies the price) and the location allows you to get to the airport in about 30min for only 60 baht - much cheaper and stress free compared to a taxi.

As an extra benefit, the local area around Victory Monument is very interesting to explore. It gives you an opportunity to see Bangkok away from the overblown tourist industry that dominates so much of the city. Great street food, great street shopping, great street entertainment and no other tourists in sight!

The staff are helpful and provided a very useful hand drawn local map to help you wander around the nearby streets.

I actually ended up staying here twice, on either side of a diving trip in Kho Tao, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
507 Residence Bangkok
#718 of 1,192 in Bangkok
15 reviews
The Motley House
#212 of 1,192 in Bangkok
30 reviews
At Victory Hostel
#284 of 1,192 in Bangkok
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ari
VM1 Hostel
VM1 Hostel
#53 of 1,192 in Bangkok
77 reviews
Fyn Hotel
#67 of 643 in Bangkok
52 reviews
Ferngully Hostel
#2 of 29 in Phetchaburi
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Mid Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Mid Bangkok

Property: HI Mid Bangkok
Address: 481/3 Victory Monument, Ratchawithi Road, Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 1,192 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Mid Bangkok 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your HI Mid Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing