We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel with nice rooms”
Review of HI Mid Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HI Mid Bangkok
Ranked #208 of 1,213 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean hotel with nice rooms”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel with big room and good facilities. Not located in city centre but very close to sky train (ideal when you only have a couple of days and want to get to the airport easily as well).
Staff was average, breakfast very sober.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_rene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    32
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
10
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had stayed at the HI sukhumvit several times so thought I would try the HI Mid Bangkok for a change. Hostel is very nice and clean. Rooms are quite small for the price I would say but bed is comfy with very nice duvet which makes for a good nights sleep. Light breakfast is available, tea coffee, toast, fruit etc.
Location is great just by victory monument. Loads of great thai food available locally and convenient for skytrain and both airports.
Being right by victory monument it's quite a noisy area traffic wise. Across the road though I found a nice little park, good for relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at HI Mid Bangkok based on other reviews and the fact that it is conveniently located for getting to and from the airport. And I was not disappointed by my choice.

The hostel has hotel quality rooms (which justifies the price) and the location allows you to get to the airport in about 30min for only 60 baht - much cheaper and stress free compared to a taxi.

As an extra benefit, the local area around Victory Monument is very interesting to explore. It gives you an opportunity to see Bangkok away from the overblown tourist industry that dominates so much of the city. Great street food, great street shopping, great street entertainment and no other tourists in sight!

The staff are helpful and provided a very useful hand drawn local map to help you wander around the nearby streets.

I actually ended up staying here twice, on either side of a diving trip in Kho Tao, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hostel is a mixed bag. Most importantly, it's CLEAN. It's lobby, loft and hallways are nicely decorated, warm and comfortable, but the room is 'nekkid'! Bare bones! Bed, stool, two tiny stools serving as night stands with two very dim lamps and a long shelf is built into the wall. The nightly rate is too much for too little. The bathroom is very nice, however. The noise from the street is very loud. The alley it's in is very dirty. Breakfast is included, but it's pretty paltry. Stores and stalls shut down between 9 and 10. Fortunately, t's close to the subway and two 7-11s. There's a lot of street food sold nearby. It looked and smelled good, but there was no vegetarian fare. Staff runs the gamut from rude to friendly. The two guys on the evening shift were friendly and helpful. My bed wasn't made the first day and I told this to the front desk clerk when I returned in the evening and showed him a picture. The information was passed on to the day staff. The woman at the front desk who had been so friendly and helpful previously went out of her way to ignore me after that - for two days. I wouldn't use them again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0vejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Clean and crisp modern room, which was small but nicely designed with a comfy bed. Nice atmosphere outside the room, with a rooftop terrace sitting area, nothing to write home about, but a nice place to sit and have a beer or chat.

Free breakfast was basic, with instant coffee and not enough fruit to go around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for three nights in what felt like luxury! We really loved it, gorgeous double room with big window, lush furnishings. Nice staff and a friendly open leisure area.
Towels, bin and bath mats plus bottles of fresh water replenished daily.
Free albeit skanty breakfast of fruit, cereal and toast till 10am plus 24hr free tea.
The wifi was absolutely excellent, I even had a Skype interview, crystal clear.
Great cheap eateries near by and lots of street food stalls. (plus billions of stalls selling girly stuff)
Very well located by sky train at victory monument station, very well connected.
We'd be back in a flash!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

For those who wants to avoid the touristy areas this place would be ideal for you. It's close to the skytrain and the bus stations. We enjoyed exploring the area around the victory monument. Rooms and showers were clean. The man behind the desk was helpful ( the lady not so much). Breakfast was simple and it's free. Though I didn't enjoy getting bit like crazy by mosquitoes by internet room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loraborax3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
507 Residence Bangkok
#726 of 1,213 in Bangkok
15 reviews
The Motley House
#224 of 1,213 in Bangkok
30 reviews
S3 Residence Park
#122 of 652 in Bangkok
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fyn Hotel
#69 of 652 in Bangkok
54 reviews
Ari
VM1 Hostel
VM1 Hostel
#34 of 1,213 in Bangkok
92 reviews
Phayathai
Bangkok Living
Bangkok Living
#671 of 1,213 in Bangkok
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Mid Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Mid Bangkok

Property: HI Mid Bangkok
Address: 481/3 Victory Monument, Ratchawithi Road, Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 1,213 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Mid Bangkok 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HI Mid Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing