We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place to stay in BKK” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HI Mid Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HI Mid Bangkok
Ranked #199 of 1,135 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Poipet, Cambodia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Favorite place to stay in BKK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I travel to BKK about twice a month and HI Mid BKK is my favorite place to stay. The staff are very helpful and speak great English. They have a luggage storage room, a comfortable lounge with TV, free Wi-fi, free light breakfast, and comfortable dorms. I've stayed in both the female and the mixed dorm. It is so CLEAN! The bathrooms are spotless, and the showers even have soap and shampoo dispensers. The location is perfect for me because I arrive and leave BKK from the Victory Monument vans, and it's about 5-10 minute walk from BTS. Lots of street vendors for food , shopping, etc. Overall great value for your money. There is some street noise that you can hear in the dorm rooms, but I always sleep with ear plugs so it doesn't bother me. The dorm beds have individual lights and sockets, as well as storage cabinet and a curtain for privacy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingwife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
10
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lonsdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hostel was great! The staff was friendly and helpful and more importantly the rooms, bathrooms and facilities were new, clean and great! I stayed in a 4 bedroom dorm room, had aircon, extremely clean room and bathroom. It was an extremely nice place to stay if looking for a comfortable hostel. Ko San Road is not very close, but it is right next to the Metro line, so if you need to go to the airport, train or anywhere you can get there quickly. A little more of a challenge if you're planning on staying up all night on Ko San. The Hostel was new and very comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I highly recommend this place. It is brand new and the rooms are spotless with excellent bathrooms. They also have dorms (also one women only) and those look also very nice. There is a pleasant common area where you can watch tv, read a book and do some games. You can wash own clothes (50 bath per wash) and there is wifi al around the place.
Furthermore, the lovely host is very sweet and exceptionally helpful.
Yes, the place is a little bit out of the tourist guesthouse area. But we looked to stay in a normal Thai neighbourhood which ostensibly not surrounded by yelling tuk tuk drivers and the sky train is just around the corner!
We will stay there again next and then i'll post some pictures!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lot1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a pretty standard HI hostel offering. Basic facilities at a decent price.
The rooms are basic and clean. I was in a 4-bed dorm. There is AC and a fan. Each bed has a small lockable compartment. The bathroom was well equipped and clean.
Wifi available. Breakfast buffet was tea, coffee, juice, cereals and toast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Wonderful hostel! Very very new and thus everything in great condition. Stayed in the female dorm which has nice curtains around each of the bunks so very private. Also the bathroom is a seperate room to the actual dorm so that is quite private too. Also a very good location for the skytrain and also the minibus to the floating market- just ask the staff and they will help you! Everyone was very friendly, so we really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

HI Mid Bangkok was great. Perfect location (10 minutes walk from Victory Monument BTS station) as it is very close to BTS and major hub for all buses and vans going to adjoining provinces. One thing we realized after talking to the staff is that this particular hostel was just opened in mid 2012, therefore all the facilities are brand new and very nice. Staff was also very helpful to give us advice on activities to do/see while in Bangkok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Nicest accommodations I've ever seen for a shared dorm (I stayed in the 10-bed female dorm) - privacy curtains, storage locker, private outlet and light, and immaculate bathrooms. Free breakfast, hot water for tea all day, hot waters, and helpful staff. The use of the computer is 100 baht/hour, but the wifi connection is free and is incredibly fast throughout the building (fast enough for non-frustrating skype conversations!). My only suggestions are: 1) Better directions to find the place. Once you get off the BTS Skytrain at Victory Monument, instead of exiting down to street level right away, find the elevated walkway that heads towards the monument and wraps around it to the right-hand side. Follow the walk way until you get to the Fashion Mall Corner, and at this corner take the stairs down to street level. Continue along the main road away from the monument (you should see Fashion Mall to your left, and to your right across the street the McDonald's and the Corner One Mall). Walk for a few blocks, past the 7-11, and then you'll see a sign for Hi Mid Bangkok on a small lane that goes to the left, and it's right there. 2) Air conditioning (or at least more fans) in more areas of the building. The rooms themselves are air-conditioned (sometimes a little too air-conditioned), but everywhere else in the building (hallway, bathroom, lounge, loft) is not, and I wish I had been able to spend more time in the common areas but sometimes it was just way way way too hot.

Room Tip: The dorm rooms are a good value - 390 baht/night as of June 2012 - whereas the private rooms are act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
507 Residence Bangkok
#725 of 1,135 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Ferngully Hostel
#3 of 27 in Phetchaburi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Ari
VM1 Hostel
VM1 Hostel
#71 of 1,135 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
S3 Residence Park
#106 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
The Motley House
#227 of 1,135 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Fyn Hotel
#75 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Mid Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Mid Bangkok

Property: HI Mid Bangkok
Address: 481/3 Victory Monument, Ratchawithi Road, Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 1,135 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Mid Bangkok 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your HI Mid Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing