We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Concept, Food and Setting...”
Review of Above Eleven

Above Eleven
Ranked #55 of 10,782 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $54
Cuisines: Japanese, Peruvian, Bar, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: Above Eleven is a rooftop restaurant & bar on the 33rd floor of the Fraser Suites Sukhumvit in Sukhumvit’s pulsating Soi 11 offering magnificent views of Bangkok's skyline. Above Eleven is the first restaurant in Bangkok serving Japanese Peruvian cuisine. Peruvian food has been generating enormous publicity over the past few years and is currently regarded as one of the top food trends in the culinary circuit. The venue has received raving review since its opening in April 2012. Diana Hubbell of Masala magazine referred to Above Eleven as "Bangkok's next big thing." Debbie Yong's review of Above Eleven in the Singapore Business Times hoped Above Eleven "Sets its eyes on Singapore next." Advanced reservations recommended. Reservation Hotline is available daily from 10am onwards.
HongKong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic Concept, Food and Setting...”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Bangkok has really grown up these last couple of years. There have always been bars and restaurants but they used to be either top end and pretentious or low end and full of hookers. Now you have places in between. Leading the new era is Soi 11. Thank heaven I don't live there any more as it has gone from elegant to trashy thanks to the police allowing (taking bribes to allow) the many street vendors and drink wagons.

But it makes it the street for entertainment and amidst the really bad places like Zaks, Ambassador Hotel, Zanzibar, Aloft Hotel, Mulligans etc, there are some great new venues and this is the best of the lot.

I have nothing but praise for the whole place. Well done, guys. Let's hope the rest of the street upgrades over time too.... Meantime, head to Above Eleven.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesTheVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Y, Manager at Above Eleven, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear CharlesTheVoyager,

We are really pleased that you've enjoyed your visit and time spent Above Eleven, and I would like to thank you for your feedback. I hope that we'll keep maintaining those standards to meet and exceed all Above Eleven guests' expectations.
With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,233
    627
    133
    39
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view reasonably priced”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

After coming to Above 11 over and over again, this comment has been overdue for a long time. Above 11 offers stunning views on the Bangkok skyline and a very relaxed atmosphere. In contrast to other comparable rooftop bars, at Above 11 you really can enjoy your drinks and you can afford to order a second or a third round (or even a bottles..). When it comes to value for money, no other rooftop bar in Bangkok beats Above 11. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattlsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Y, Manager at Above Eleven, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Mattlsan,

Thank you very much for your appreciation and feedback, as you noticed, Above Eleven still offers the cheapest prices in town compared to the other rooftops. You mentioned about beverages but Food prices are also way below generally applied. Plus the originality of the cuisine makes it a definitely "must" try. Look forward to welcoming you back soonest. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everyone raves about the view, but its the food which rules here”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Although i've searched high and low for Peruvian food in south east Asia, this was a friends' suggestion. I finally made it to BKK and after suffering one of its maddening post-rain traffic jams, I can say the place delivered. Decor is nice and the view is good (stick to the front view balcony if you are not comfortable with heights, the sides of the place can be a challenge) but the food takes all honors. First all the ceviches passed the test (not sashimi dumped on lemon juice and served) they actually let the citrics do their job and cook the seafood halfway through. This was a very encouraging sign. The mussels and the causa are also enjoyeable. The tappioca (yuca) balls are great and be sure to try the grilled anticuchos. Half my table had them without knowing what they are made of, yet they went for seconds. That good. Octopus. Be sure to try it with black olive sauce. You will not be dissapointed. Tuna. We had i think 2 different types of tuna dishes and they also were a hit, including the tuna tartare and sliced like sashimi with white sauce. I think the only under performer of the night were the spring rolls, and they were nice, its just that they really didnt have a chance against the rest of the meal. On the dessert camp, i found it strange the place didnt have suspiro limeño, but in the end, the flan makes up for it. Be sure to try it. Firm, moist and tender all at the same time. The bubbles inside it just prove it was properly double steamed with quite some love. Through the night we sampled some cocktails, sparkling wine as well as your standard drinks and they have a good selection. I personally missed having some more spanish wines, but whats there stands up. Service was good and the sheer fact that they held our table after an hour + long delay thanks to traffic, was appreciated. Band was good setting the mood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FeelingCaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Y, Manager at Above Eleven, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear FeelingCaribe,

I would like to express my sincere thanks for taking time to write such a precise and detailed review.
Above Eleven's dishes vary from mild and gently spiced to spicier ends, still remaining in acceptable flavours range, nothing is too hot and over-spiced: they are all in balance to guide our guest through a tantalizing "Nikkei" journey, whilst watching Bangkok's skyscrapers.
This might be the reason why our Vegetarian Spring Rolls didn't appeal to you, as they actually are very mild, and tasting them after some more intense dishes may leave a dull impression.
I am very happy you got your table as you came an hour late, generally it is very difficult for us to keep tables over 30 minutes as other waiting guests request them.
Thank you very much, see you soon Above Eleven!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My favorite place in Bangkok: Best sushi I have ever had, an amazing view and great staff who always arrange my fav table for me.

Try to go there around 9 on wednesday night to enjoy the Salsa music while having dinner!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyne223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Y, Manager at Above Eleven, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Evelyne223,

Thank you for your comment and food appreciation, our Sushi Chefs spent sometime in Japan to learn and develop their skills with some of the most famous "Itamae".
As usual, Wednesdays Above Eleven are dedicated to Ladies with Mojitos and Margaritas priced at 150 Bahts only for ladies, then Salsa from 21h30' until late at night.
Hope to welcome you back very soon.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krasnodar, Russia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The greatest sushi and rolls!!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

It's a great place with great views with very nice staff!!! I love this place! We were here twice and had the best wine, cocktails and rolls in Bangkok!))) Thank you ABOVE ELEVEN!!!)))

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Y, Manager at Above Eleven, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Olga G,

Thank you very much indeed for your very nice comment and appreciation!
Look forward to welcoming you Above Eleven very soon!
большое спасибо
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Above Eleven also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Above Eleven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing