We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy eating in Bangkok!”

Rasayana Retreat - Raw Food Cafe
Ranked #532 of 10,792 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Healthy eating in Bangkok!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

An oasis of peace and tranquility in a noisy, busy city. Delicious, healthy food in a small cafe with friendly staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank the_wibblywobblies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    23
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Touring The World
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If you've never tried raw food, now's the time to open your mind and expand your horizons”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This lovely little spa and cafe is tucked away in a small Soi off Sukhumvit (Take Sukhumvit Soi 39 and turn right at Romana Italian Restaurant. It's 200m of the right). If you have never tried raw food before, give it a try. Everything is raw and vegan (I know, sounds terrible already right?) but it is not what you would expect. The food is cleverly made and utterly delicious. From lovely fresh juices, to super salads and the most fabulous desserts, the food should be considered on it's own merits not as a subsitute for the "normal" version... Try the lemon tart or carrot cake, keep an open mind and let your tastebuds decide. Not only do they have their lovely cafe, but they also deliver so if you're on a strict diet, want to do one of their special detox/cleanse programmes or just need a few days off from all that rich food, drop them a line, place your order and they'll deliver your entire daily requirement anywhere in downtown Bangkok. Brilliant, personal service by a team that are passionate about the raw food lifestyle.
Do bear in mind this is a retreat with a raw food cafe NOT a fancy restaurant. It's about the flavours, freshness and texture not about fancy presentation or service. PS. their treatments are lovely too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Internationalgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Location with Great Healthy Food”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

It’s outside, which sounds like it might be miserable, but it’s actually quite pleasant because there are lots of trees for shade and breeze, and the waitress will point a fan (or three) at you if you feel you need the extra air flow! Mosquito repellant is also provided, when needed; I’ve never been bitten there! The food is simply amazing — it’s raw; it’s vegan; it’s the most healthy thing you can imagine. AND, it’s cheap! A raw, vegan joint in California is likely to charge you $15.95 for a salad (seriously), but my boyfriend and I can eat our fill and pay just a bit more than that for both of us combined. We can afford a fresh juice (coconut and celery is actually not that weird of a combo), an appetizer (spring rolls or “tacos”, an entree (we both like the lasagna and enchiladas), and a dessert (the banana toffee pie and chocolate coconut pie are to die for!). I know raw food isn’t up everyone’s alley, but at least at Rasayana you can try it without breaking the bank!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank krtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food was great but service was terrible and the garbage truck parked just outside the restaurant ruiened the meal”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I will agree with some other reviews it was a little hard to find but it is a cute little raw cafe in a garden setting (no aircon which wasn't an issue at night). After reading reviews I left myself open to disappointment.

The service was almost non existent but we were given menus quickly and ordered drinks/food together. After that no staff spoke to us until we went to the counter to pay.

It was expensive compared to other restaurants in Bangkok but for raw food that is ok as it wasn't ridiculously overpriced.

The Hawaiian pizza was lovely and the cabbage rolls were great but the eggplant lasagna was pretty bland. I wanted dessert but the absence of staff and the presence of a wafting garbage truck (which put me off my dinner and sat right next to where we were eating for 30 mins) put me off.

Worth a visit for a raw food experience but set expectations low.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danbi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hard to find, great little snacks and cakes”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Rasayana is neatly tucked away in Sukhumvit 39. I've only had their little vegan doughnuts made from seeds, cacao etc, and their energy bars and cakes. Even though I'm not vegan or veggie I love them, and the setting is great. Will try the restaurant soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackybristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasayana Retreat - Raw Food Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rasayana Retreat - Raw Food Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing