We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly located”

Royal Barges National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.13*
and up
Half-Day Thonburi Canals Tour in Bangkok
More Info
$27.63*
and up
Bangkok Rice Barge Canal Tour
More Info
$66.40*
and up
Private Half-Day Visit to Thonburi Canals and Old City by Long Tail Boat
Ranked #83 of 558 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum is home to the ornately decorated boats used in State ceremonies.
kansas city
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Poorly located”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is on the river obviously but you almost can't get there unless you are on a tour boat. The ferry boats do not stop there. I guess you could hire a private boat but make sure he waits for you. But that wouldn't be long there isn't that much to see. If you don't take "a boat tour" then your best bet if to take a tuk tuk but then that presents problems. The last 100 yards is though a slum on foot with twisting alleys. Besides the museum isn't really all that great. There are 4 or 5 and they all look about alike. The odds are you have seen one on TV. So, my advice is, skip it unless it is on your water tour boat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank genemean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    110
    42
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“funny place”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Can get a bit hard to get to, if you don't like to walk in poor neigborhoods, you may prefer to come by boat. You have to pay a generous amount, entry and photography! but if you are passionnate about boat or history, it's very interesting. A bit hot, too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank s e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Take a peek back in history - visit this place”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This Museum houses many restored & sea worthy ancient barges.. Some are still being used for Royal Ceremony's. The art work & craftsmanship are superb. I prefer having on of the many water taxis that ply the Chao Para river take me to visit there. A great thing to do on a hot day.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LoongTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“a little difficult to get to and from”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A taxi driver dropped us of at the beginning of an alley-way and said "Walk 5 minutes." We walked 5 minutes through some slum housing area and ended up at the Barge Museum. There are about 8 barges that are beautiful and worth seeing. The problem was getting back to our hotel at the Shangri-la. A man approached us at the dock and said he had a boat that would take us to the Temple of Dawn for $600 baht (about $20). For a 4 to 5 minute trip, that seemed too high. We waited to see is some other boat would come up. This man intervened and got us on another boat for $400 baht (around $14) which was still too high, but since my husband was not feeling well we took it.

The moral of the story, is that at every turn, as tourists, we are constantly subject to being over charged. We had got to the Royal Barges for $6 baht (3 each on the Orange flag ferry) and were asked to Pay $600 baht to get just half way back!!! So beware.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lindaruthe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning museum!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband loves boats, so we decided to check out the royal barges and were not disappointed. Several of the barges used by the royal family in processions on the water are housed in a large warehouse. Some of the barges require 60 oarsmen and would be amazing to see on the water. There is an odd walkway through a small neighbourhood, but keep following the signs and you'll be fine. It was well worth spending an hour in the museum which is just across the river from the Grand Palace and several temples.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kinleytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Barges National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Royal Barges National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing