We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded and a bit pricey”
Review of The Grand Palace

The Grand Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.70*
and up
Half Day City and Temples Tour including Grand Palace in Bangkok
More Info
$41.50*
and up
Grand Palace Bangkok
More Info
$42.47*
and up
Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour
Ranked #9 of 558 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Bangkok's famous palace complex was built in 1782 and features several magnificent buildings including Wat Phra Kaeo (Temple of the Emerald Buddha), which contains a beautiful Emerald Buddha that dates back to the 14th century.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crowded and a bit pricey”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The place itself is nice and elegant, but the price of 500 THB per person, in my opinion, is too high in Thailand. Dress code is very strict and the place gets really crowded. Anyway, this is one of the must see places visiting Bangkok. You can catch a free guide tour when you're inside Grand Palace, but it's really tiring and hot, especially if the day is sunny.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ginttet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26,816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,021
    8,147
    3,383
    830
    435
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Buck palace of the east”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Yes it's a must..like the changing of the guard in London or a gondola ride in Venice...immaculate and totally awe inspiring the heat is almost overpowering but it is a totally unmissable

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geordie2666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Palace in the Flood”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Every entrance had sandbags, but WOW!!! The palace was wonderful! Take shoes that are easy to take off and you MUST wear long trousers (not leggings) and have shoulders covered. There are people outside who (for only a few Bhat) have wraps to put around you if needed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MelRusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for the first half an hour”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

You can't come to Bangkok and not goto the Grand Palace, but won't be going again, we enjoyed looking at the photos more when we got back to the air conditioned room.

It was really busy, I had to hire some dodgy looking trousers off a bloke outside (even though I had 3/4 lengths on!) and it was scorching hot!

The place itself is really nice and impressive, but it was a bit too manic. We were hungry and there weren't any stalls inside the grounds, my partner had two scoops of ice cream from the snack restaurant and it cost £6!!

When leaving the palace it is a nightmare trying to get a tuk tuk or taxi, all wanting to charge about £5 to go anywhere via a tailors! We walked about 10 -15 minutes away from the temple and managed to get a cheaper one with no stops. £5 isn't alot of money, but seeing as though we got there for a £1 your money goes alot further in Thailand.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WilkoNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gold everywhere you look!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We did not do research on the Grand Palace before we came to Thailand and let our guide surprise us. When we finally got out of the long queue to enter (they have a queue for Thai people and one for foreigners) you are greeted with sparkling golden rooftops and massive statues.

You can lose hours studying the mural paintings alone, they are just that detailed and beautiful. Everywhere you look there is gold or ornately carved figurines. The grounds are immaculately kept and when we left it felt we could easily come back the next day and discover new things we missed before.

TIP: Cover your shoulders and knees if you would like to enter the palace and if you would like to visit the Jade Buddha the women need to wear a long skirt - long trousers are not allowed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Talleke81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing